Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
VMware Workstation Pro 12 and corporate proxy - Proxy issue
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
crisdean
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jul 2009
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 10:58 am    Post subject: VMware Workstation Pro 12 and corporate proxy - Proxy issue Reply with quote

Hi all,

We use a proxy without username and pwd authentication. So whenever I try to install it in VMware workstation 12 Pro (no updateable because of company policy) I can't connect to Links. I entered the proxy info via export http_proxy and the links config but it doesn't seem to work.

So far I set up RHEL, CentOs, SLES etc. with thecompany proxcy and all worked. Can someone tell me why Gentoo is not taking my company proxy? It's all in a VM so any log output right now is uncopyable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 14301

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do you see that leads you to say it does not work? Which tools fail, and how?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crisdean
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jul 2009
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
What do you see that leads you to say it does not work? Which tools fail, and how?


Sorry I'm trying to install Gentoo x86_64 in VMware Workstation Pro 12 and in vCenter 6.7 with ESXi 6.7

I run export http_proxy="name of proxy with port / no password etc needed". I an't ping nor download the tarball with links. Require help/

A ping -c 3 www.bbc.co.uk resolved the name to IP but it can't get p[ast the proxy.

I managed to install CentOS, RHEL, Ubuntu and Debian with proxy configs but am stuck with Gentoo.

Hope that is clear enough.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guitou
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 414
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello.

Your issue is most probably on proxy side (smth like whitelist and or blacklist: did you ask your network admin(s) about it?

++
Gi)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crisdean
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jul 2009
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

guitou wrote:
Hello.

Your issue is most probably on proxy side (smth like whitelist and or blacklist: did you ask your network admin(s) about it?

++
Gi)


No not yet as all else works. I'll reach out and see if they can help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 14301

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You've told us that links doesn't work. I ask again, how does it fail? Does it ignore your setting and not try to use the proxy? Does it try to use the proxy, but get an error response from the proxy? What exactly did you tell links to retrieve?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crisdean
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jul 2009
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2019 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Hu,

Every URL says Error loading http://www.google.co.uk
Bad syntax

I went into the settings and entered the correct proxy address for http, https and ftp traffic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guitou
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 414
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Without any knowledge about your error, no one could help...
I would suggest you to install and run curl <some_offending_url> on both host and vm, with much verbosity (-v[v]+ option) and any required proxy options.
This may help (you/us) finding out the issue.

Otherwise, as a wild guess: supposed offending URLs are reachable from host, maybe it does simply acts as transparent proxy for the vm, then specific proxy settings should be avoided.

++
Gi)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum