Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Start gentoo is very slow
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wenzi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2019
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2019 3:42 pm    Post subject: Start gentoo is very slow Reply with quote

start the gentoo is too slow ,I use dmesg,and it spend 22s to load all drivers,and get the console,but it takes 35s to load the X-windows,zen2 3700x and 16G ram. how can I slove this problerm? sorry for my poor english
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1956
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2019 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A wild guess: it could be related to the initialization of the random number generator (rng). Due to changes in filesystem drivers in recent kernels, the rng may need more time to collect enough entropy to generate random numbers.

We had a couple of threads about this. There's also an ongoing discussion on LKML.

Please run:
Code:
dmesg | grep "crng init done"

Is the timestamp of the "init done" message in agreement with the the boot delay you experience?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44896
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2019 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wenzi,

Please put dmesg and the content of /var/log/Xorg.0.log onto pastebins.

Getting to the console can be slow while ntp reaches time servers or times out.
Some drivers want firmware and have timeouts waiting for it to be found.

Xorg likes to talk to itself over the network. Its desgined that way.
If it can't resolve the host name to IP address, the Xorg startup time is extended.

The pastebins will show the cause(s), then we can suggest fixes.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wenzi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2019
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 2:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

:D

Last edited by wenzi on Fri Oct 11, 2019 7:30 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wenzi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2019
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 2:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

:)

Last edited by wenzi on Fri Oct 11, 2019 10:34 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wenzi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2019
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 2:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

8)

Last edited by wenzi on Fri Oct 11, 2019 10:35 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 362
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

A bit off-topic, but you can consider using wgetpaste to share the files:

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Wgetpaste
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44896
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wenzi,

Your files are too big for posts, thats why I asked for pastebins.

wgetpaste is your friend.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wenzi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2019
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
wenzi,

Your files are too big for posts, thats why I asked for pastebins.

wgetpaste is your friend.

http://dpaste.com/2ATVWN8
http://dpaste.com/3NYX7BN
THANKS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44896
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wenzi,

The nvidia binary blob seems to be doing something for 20 seconds when Xorg starts up.
Code:
[    27.374] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0):
[    47.602] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): CRT-0: disconnected


The log also says
Code:
[    20.062] (==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
please post the content of that file.

Looking in dmesg your 3 HDD are discovered by

Code:
[    2.679400] sd 3:0:0:0: [sdc] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA
[    2.680986]  sdc: sdc1 sdc2
[    2.681361] sd 3:0:0:0: [sdc] Attached SCSI disk
[    2.741545]  sdb: sdb1 sdb2 sdb3 sdb4 sdb5
[    2.741990] sd 1:0:0:0: [sdb] Attached SCSI disk
[    2.752262]  sda: sda1 sda2 sda3 < sda5 sda6 sda7 sda8 sda9 >

Then there are lots of hardware raid drivers loading, which appear to be unused.

Code:
[    2.924343] Fusion MPT base driver 3.04.20
[    2.924344] Copyright (c) 1999-2008 LSI Corporation
[    2.928028] Fusion MPT SPI Host driver 3.04.20
[    2.930628] Fusion MPT FC Host driver 3.04.20
[    2.933420] Fusion MPT SAS Host driver 3.04.20
[    2.935117] LSI 3ware SAS/SATA-RAID Controller device driver for Linux v3.26.02.000.
[    2.936754] 3ware Storage Controller device driver for Linux v1.26.02.003.
[    2.938607] 3ware 9000 Storage Controller device driver for Linux v2.26.02.014.
[    2.954454] Adaptec aacraid driver 1.2.1[50877]-custom
[    2.959592] megaraid cmm: 2.20.2.7 (Release Date: Sun Jul 16 00:01:03 EST 2006)
[    2.960259] megaraid: 2.20.5.1 (Release Date: Thu Nov 16 15:32:35 EST 2006)
[    2.963755] megasas: 07.707.51.00-rc1
[    2.971029] qla2xxx [0000:00:00.0]-0005: : QLogic Fibre Channel HBA Driver: 10.01.00.16-k.
[    2.979225] Emulex LightPulse Fibre Channel SCSI driver 12.2.0.2
[    2.979226] Copyright (C) 2017-2019 Broadcom. All Rights Reserved. The term "Broadcom" refers to Broadcom Inc. and/or its subsidiaries.
[    2.983540] aic94xx: Adaptec aic94xx SAS/SATA driver version 1.0.3 loaded
[    2.990528] mpt3sas version 28.100.00.00 loaded


There is a 3 second gap at
Code:
[    5.819096] systemd[1]: Set hostname to <localhost>.
[    8.112247] systemd[1]: system-getty.slice: unit configures an IP firewall, but the local system does not support BPF/cgroup firewalling.

I don't use systemd, so I'm no help here.

The raft of
Code:
[   11.169830] EDAC amd64: Node 0: DRAM ECC disabled.
[   11.169831] EDAC amd64: ECC disabled in the BIOS or no ECC capability, module will not load.
                Either enable ECC checking or force module loading by setting 'ecc_enable_override'.
                (Note that use of the override may cause unknown side effects.)
messages say that you have EDAC on in the kernel but either you don't have ECC RAM or ECC is off in the BIOS.
ECC is a good thing but it requires hardware support.

More questions than answers just now.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1956
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

  1. Code:
    [    5.819096] systemd[1]: Set hostname to <localhost>.

    Use 'hostnamectl' to set a hostname. See: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Systemd. You may want to re-read that document and make sure that your machine is configured correctly.

  2. Code:
    [    8.112247] systemd[1]: system-getty.slice: unit configures an IP firewall, but the local system does not support BPF/cgroup firewalling.

    You may want to enable kernel option 'CONFIG_CGROUP_BPF=y'

  3. Please post your kernel config using wgetpaste (or whatever pastebin service you like).

  4. Thanks for posting the output of dmesg and Xorg.log using wgetpaste. Please edit posts 4, 5 and 6 of this thread (yes, you can do that) where you posted the ouput of dmesg and Xorg.log in plain text, and remove that text. Right now, I have to scroll down for minutes just to reach the last post. That's exhausting :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wenzi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2019
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2019 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry!
I reinstall the system and there is the new message
dmesg:
http://dpaste.com/2QMEAM7
Xorg.0.log:
http://dpaste.com/34VDBT4
xorg.conf:
http://dpaste.com/3HKXY33
and the kernel I use the genkernel all ,I don't know how to config the kernel , so I use the genkernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7363

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2019 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wenzi wrote:
sorry!
I reinstall the system and there is the new message

And people are suppose to lost time again for nothing?
What will prevent you from doing it again while people are working on your issue, and create again another issue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44896
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2019 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wenzi,

You never need to reinsall Gentoo. It only gives you the opportunity to make the same mistake over again or possibly new ones.
Gentoo is not like a binary operating system. It does not respond to a reinstall, as you have discovered.

Your pastebins are unchanged, so that illustrates my point.

Your xorg.conf is mostly obsolete and will hopefully be ignored.

First, rename it, so its not used.. Xorg may not auto load the nVidia driver. If that is the case. make a new xorg.conf that contains only
Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection
Then try again.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wenzi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2019
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2019 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn wrote:
wenzi wrote:
sorry!
I reinstall the system and there is the new message

And people are suppose to lost time again for nothing?
What will prevent you from doing it again while people are working on your issue, and create again another issue?

I'm sorry ,the system allways install the same icon package when I install other package, and install the firefox for very very very long time, it still compiling(make -j17). this is not normal ,I install the firefox in my old computer,maybe one hour,it's finish.I do'nt know why ,there is no error give me. so I reinstall the system. I'm very sorry ,Thank you for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wenzi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2019
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2019 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
wenzi,

You never need to reinsall Gentoo. It only gives you the opportunity to make the same mistake over again or possibly new ones.
Gentoo is not like a binary operating system. It does not respond to a reinstall, as you have discovered.

Your pastebins are unchanged, so that illustrates my point.

Your xorg.conf is mostly obsolete and will hopefully be ignored.

First, rename it, so its not used.. Xorg may not auto load the nVidia driver. If that is the case. make a new xorg.conf that contains only
Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection
Then try again.

I rename xorg.conf it not works ,and I creat a new file as you paste,it still not work too .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1956
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2019 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
make -j17

How much RAM do you have?

If you emerge Firefox, you'll need approx. 2-3 GB of RAM per job. That would be 34 GB RAM at least. If you don't have that much RAM, lower the number of jobs. Otherwise your machine will start swapping, which will slow down emerge considerably. Use 'top' to monitor what is going on on your machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wenzi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2019
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2019 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mike155 wrote:
Code:
make -j17

How much RAM do you have?

If you emerge Firefox, you'll need approx. 2-3 GB of RAM per job. That would be 34 GB RAM at least. If you don't have that much RAM, lower the number of jobs. Otherwise your machine will start swapping, which will slow down emerge considerably. Use 'top' to monitor what is going on on your machine.

16Gb, and i don't think the reason is RAM ,only 60% RAM used when I compiping,and if the memory all used , the sytem became very slow, and the message of the compiling in the terminal stop,but it's not.At first I still think is the RAM ,but when I stop emerge firefox ,intall the mpv,it still cost me much time. use "top" all core used 90%
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1956
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2019 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree that your machine is too slow. Something is wrong on your machine.

Your output of dmesg shows that everything is too slow. It's not a single problem like a wrong setting or a missing driver. Something is completety wrong. It could be a hardware problem.

It doesn't make sense to install programs until you have solved the problem. Please try to boot from SystemRescueCD or any other Linux distribution. Maybe even Windows. Are these systems also slow? If that's the case, it probably is a hardware problem. If those systems run fast, then it's probably a problem with your kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1956
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2019 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

  1. Please check that your mainboard officially supports your CPU. Did you upgrade to the latest BIOS revision?

  2. Please check that your CPU cooler is mounted correctly and that the CPU fan works. When you installed the CPU cooler: did you remove the protective foil and did you use the recommended thermal grease? Which CPU temperatures does lm_sensors show?

  3. What about BIOS settings? Are any caches or important CPU features disabled?

These questions may sound uncalled-for -- but I'm pretty sure that it is something really stupid that causes the massive slow-down of your machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wenzi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2019
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2019 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mike155 wrote:
I agree that your machine is too slow. Something is wrong on your machine.

Your output of dmesg shows that everything is too slow. It's not a single problem like a wrong setting or a missing driver. Something is completety wrong. It could be a hardware problem.

It doesn't make sense to install programs until you have solved the problem. Please try to boot from SystemRescueCD or any other Linux distribution. Maybe even Windows. Are these systems also slow? If that's the case, it probably is a hardware problem. If those systems run fast, then it's probably a problem with your kernel.

I install elementaryOS, start the system used 35s,gentoo used 55s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wenzi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2019
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2019 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mike155 wrote:
  1. Please check that your mainboard officially supports your CPU. Did you upgrade to the latest BIOS revision?

  2. Please check that your CPU cooler is mounted correctly and that the CPU fan works. When you installed the CPU cooler: did you remove the protective foil and did you use the recommended thermal grease? Which CPU temperatures does lm_sensors show?

  3. What about BIOS settings? Are any caches or important CPU features disabled?

These questions may sound uncalled-for -- but I'm pretty sure that it is something really stupid that causes the massive slow-down of your machine.

After I reinstall the system , the problem of install software sovled,but start system still slow
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 14921

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2019 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the advertised top speed of your CPU? What speed is it actually running at? If your CPU is throttled down to a much lower clockspeed, everything will suffer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44896
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wenzi,

Please pastebin your kernel .config file.

If you are using the Powersave CPU frequency governor, your CPU runs at the lowest possible frequency all the time.
You can choose a default CPU frequency governor at kernel build time and switch between any governors you have compiled at any time.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wenzi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2019
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2019 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
What is the advertised top speed of your CPU? What speed is it actually running at? If your CPU is throttled down to a much lower clockspeed, everything will suffer.

3.6G -4.3G ,I don't set anything by used genkernel to compiling the kernel. after install the system I only do one thing ,delete the /var/cache. now system reinstall so I can not give the .config file,because the problem of install software diappear .but now the starting problem still alive. there is one thing ,I stop gdm use starx or X,I can't get the X-windows
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum