Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
pptp client installation, no ppp0 device
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mounty1
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 797
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2019 9:34 pm    Post subject: pptp client installation, no ppp0 device Reply with quote

My config is here. Module pppoe is modprobed, but there's no ppp0 device; i.e., it does not appear in the output of ifconfig -a.

I am trying to establish a pptp link over the internet to my place of work. I have a remote hostname, a user name and password. I tried:
Code:
pptpsetup --create NGV --server remote.ngv.com.au --domain workplace --username michael --password mypassword --encrypt --start
but:
pon NGV debug dump logfd 2 nodetach:
pppd options in effect:
debug           # (from command line)
nodetach                # (from command line)
logfd 2         # (from command line)
dump            # (from command line)
noauth          # (from /etc/ppp/peers/NGV)
name ngv\\michael               # (from /etc/ppp/peers/NGV)
remotename NGV          # (from /etc/ppp/peers/NGV)
                # (from /etc/ppp/peers/NGV)
pty /usr/sbin/pptp remote.ngv.com.au --nolaunchpppd             # (from /etc/ppp/peers/NGV)
ipparam NGV             # (from /etc/ppp/peers/NGV)
+ipv6           # (from /etc/ppp/options)
nobsdcomp               # (from /etc/ppp/peers/NGV)
nodeflate               # (from /etc/ppp/peers/NGV)
require-mppe-128                # (from /etc/ppp/peers/NGV)
Couldn't set tty to PPP discipline: Invalid argument
Waiting for 1 child processes...
  script /usr/sbin/pptp remote.ngv.com.au --nolaunchpppd, pid 4125402
sending SIGTERM to process 4125402
what's wrong?
_________________
Michael Mounteney
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4397
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2019 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1078268-start-0.html
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mounty1
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 797
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2019 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Already seen that. Nothing relevant.

BTW, /dev/ppp does exist.

Now I'm thinking ... I want to tunnel over ethernet so should there actually be a separate device for that? Maybe ppp0 is for serial lines only, which I absolutely don't want.
_________________
Michael Mounteney
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44900
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2019 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mounty1,

pppX is a dynamically created interface, so it only appears in ifconfig once its up.
If you expect to see ppp0, you need a way to authenticate with the remote end before ppp is started to create ppp0.

Many VPNs, there are several sorts, do not generate extra interfaces in Linux.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4397
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2019 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mounty1 wrote:
Already seen that. Nothing relevant.


*hmm*

They had CONFIG_PPP_ASYNC set
and you have
# CONFIG_PPP_ASYNC is not set

Did you even try with it set?
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mounty1
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 797
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2019 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="Anon-E-moose"]
mounty1 wrote:
They had CONFIG_PPP_ASYNC set
and you have
# CONFIG_PPP_ASYNC is not set

Did you even try with it set?
No, because I don't want to run pptp over a serial port. I don't even have a serial port on this PC.
_________________
Michael Mounteney
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mounty1
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 797
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2019 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
pppX is a dynamically created interface, so it only appears in ifconfig once its up.
If you expect to see ppp0, you need a way to authenticate with the remote end before ppp is started to create ppp0.
So you reckon the problem is that I am not authenticating?
_________________
Michael Mounteney
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4397
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2019 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="mounty1"]
Anon-E-moose wrote:
mounty1 wrote:
They had CONFIG_PPP_ASYNC set
and you have
# CONFIG_PPP_ASYNC is not set

Did you even try with it set?
No, because I don't want to run pptp over a serial port. I don't even have a serial port on this PC.


Suit yourself

Code:
(although pptp does not use a serial port, the ppp_async module is required for data transfer with the psuedo-tty device).

_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon


Last edited by Anon-E-moose on Sat Oct 05, 2019 12:14 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44900
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2019 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mounty1,

It would help if we knew the name of the package on the remote end that you are trying to connect to.

VPNs don't normally let you connect with just a username an password as that does not provide any encryption.
There is normally a shared secret (there are other ways of passing an encryption key) used to encrypt the traffic in the tunnel.
Whatever, its the encryption in the tunnel that provides security, not the tunnel itself.

The tunnel is just IP traffic wrapped in another IP traffic layer.
The outer layer uses the public IPs of both end points the inner layer is whatever you want.

How do you generate encrypted traffic for the tunnel?
Different systems do different things.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mounty1
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 797
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2019 11:47 pm    Post subject: Picking this up again Reply with quote

Thanks for the help so far and sorry for the delay in replying; I was diverted to other matters.

To answer Neddy's question: I'm connecting to a Windows server.
_________________
Michael Mounteney
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum