Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Wifi can only connect through kde's wifi widget
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mbouchard
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2019
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2019 8:18 pm    Post subject: Wifi can only connect through kde's wifi widget Reply with quote

hopefully this has a simple fix; im pretty new to gentoo. Longtime Xubuntu user.
So:
When I installed gentoo some months ago, i used one local wifi provider; this week i switched to a new one. New modem, new router.
The first time around, I got the wifi working. Eventually. Kind of a pain in the ass, but hey, got it working.
I changed the information in wpa_supplicant.conf to reflect the new ssid and password. I changed the resolv.conf to contain the routers ip address. It's not connecting.
My Android phone and Xubuntu laptop are not having any problems connecting. The Xubuntu laptop is identical to the Gentoo laptop.
Booting into the liveUSB i can get wifi working with KDE's wifi widget
But it apprarently does not produce config files that i can just copy onto the laptops harddrive; the liveusb doesn't even seem to HAVE a wpa_supplicant.conf.

So my specific question (keep in mind, i am apparently a brainlet newb at all this) is: Which config files on the hard-drive's existing install can I edit from the LiveUSB so that i can reboot my computer into the nice new wifi? I must have something wrong.

Bonus questions: Why is KDE's wifi widget the only point-and-click method for connecting to wifi on the liveUSB and where does it store it's information? Also, what's the best point-and-click wifi utility for Xfce?

Thank you for reading all this. thanks even more for helping me out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44900
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2019 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mbouchard,

Boot normally. Attempt to start your wifi. A few times if you like.
Run
Code:
dmesg > ~/dmesg.txt


That will create a file in /root/ or /home/<user_name> called dmesg.txt.
Once you have the network going with some onther system/boot method, put dmesg.txt onto a pastebin site.
Its a text file, so read it first.

It will likely tell us why your wifi isn't working.
That will avoid helpers guessing.

You should only need to edit /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf to add/change wifi access points.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mbouchard
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2019
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2019 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here:
https://pastebin.com/raw/YWiD2FEq
i ran
Code:
su
wifi-radar

and tried to hook it up through the gui, it gets hung up so i close the window and the su terminal
then i run
Code:
su
wpa_gui

and the network is on the menu (because i have it listed in wpa_supplicant.conf) but it just gets stuck on 'scanning'
wpa_cli also gets stuck on scanning.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stahlsau
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Jan 2004
Posts: 582
Location: WildWestwoods

PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2019 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using a similar setup, that's what i have in /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf:
Code:
network={
   ssid="yournetworkname"
        scan_ssid=1
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        psk="yourpassphrase"
}


and i start wifi as root with:
Code:

wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlo1 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf 2>&1 >/dev/null &


The "wext" is a fallback driver for wlan, should work for you
The "wlo1" is my device name, yours is probably "wlp2s0"

Maybe you can try this and post the output of dmesg (the last lines containing wifi messages), if it's still not working. Ah, and dhcpcd should be running (at least, in my case). I'm mostly a noob, too, hope it will help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44900
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2019 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mbouchard,

Your wifi looks good but there is no attempt to start it in your kernel log.

In your Gentoo, what mechanism do you use to control your network interfaces?
You must choose at most, one.
None is OK but then you need to start your interfaces manually.

Code:
[   13.429865] iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0 wlp2s0: renamed from wlan0


As stahlsau said, your wifi is named wlp2s0.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum