Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Plasma Wayland session fails (SOLVED)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dasPaul
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 217
Location: Dresden

PostPosted: Mon Aug 05, 2019 12:49 pm    Post subject: Plasma Wayland session fails (SOLVED) Reply with quote

Hi

Problem:
Starting a pure Plasma Wayland Session fails.


System:
Code:
kde-plasma/plasma-meta-5.15.5
dev-qt/qtwayland-5.12.3
media-libs/mesa-19.0.8


GPU:
Code:
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation HD Graphics 530 (rev 06) (Skylake)


20-modesetting.conf:
Code:

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Intel Graphics"
    Driver      "modesetting"
        Driver      "intel"
    Option      "AccelMethod"    "glamor"
    Option      "DRI"            "3"
EndSection


I executet on tty1:
Code:
# XDG_SESSION_TYPE=wayland
# export $(dbus-launch)
# startplasmacompositor


then:
Code:
startplasmacompositor: Starting up...
No backend specified through command line argument, trying auto resolution
...ETERNAL HANG


then CTRL-C:
Code:
startplasmacompositor: Shutting down...
startplasmacompositor: Done.


then a minute later:
Code:
qt.qpa.xcb: could not connect to display :0
qt.qpa.plugin: Could not load the Qt platform plugin "xcb" in "" even though it was found.
This application failed to start because no Qt platform plugin could be initialized. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.
Available platform plugins are: wayland-org.kde.kwin.qpa, eglfs, minimal, minimalegl, offscreen, wayland-egl, wayland, xcb.


A nested session from an X session works:

Code:
kwin_wayland --xwayland
kwrite --platform wayland



emerge --info:
Code:
Portage 2.3.69 (python 2.7.15-final-0, default/linux/amd64/17.0, gcc-8.3.0, glibc-2.29-r2, 4.19.52-gentoo x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-4.19.52-gentoo-x86_64-Intel-R-_Core-TM-_i7-6700K_CPU_@_4.00GHz-with-gentoo-2.6
KiB Mem:    16398336 total,  13237536 free
KiB Swap:    4095996 total,   4095996 free
Timestamp of repository gentoo: Sun, 04 Aug 2019 06:30:01 +0000
Head commit of repository gentoo: c02d2a6502231fb1a1d56ed8808e8a9622bd1113
Head commit of repository brother-overlay: 16f77e7b48b00d3474a25df1a04b91830ac188ba

sh bash 4.4_p23-r1
ld GNU ld (Gentoo 2.32 p2) 2.32.0
app-shells/bash:          4.4_p23-r1::gentoo
dev-java/java-config:     2.2.0-r4::gentoo
dev-lang/perl:            5.28.2-r1::gentoo
dev-lang/python:          2.7.15::gentoo, 3.6.5::gentoo
dev-util/cmake:           3.14.6::gentoo
dev-util/pkgconfig:       0.29.2::gentoo
sys-apps/baselayout:      2.6-r1::gentoo
sys-apps/openrc:          0.41.2::gentoo
sys-apps/sandbox:         2.13::gentoo
sys-devel/autoconf:       2.13-r1::gentoo, 2.69-r4::gentoo
sys-devel/automake:       1.11.6-r3::gentoo, 1.16.1-r1::gentoo
sys-devel/binutils:       2.32-r1::gentoo
sys-devel/gcc:            7.3.0-r3::gentoo, 8.3.0-r1::gentoo
sys-devel/gcc-config:     2.0::gentoo
sys-devel/libtool:        2.4.6-r3::gentoo
sys-devel/make:           4.2.1-r4::gentoo
sys-kernel/linux-headers: 4.19::gentoo (virtual/os-headers)
sys-libs/glibc:           2.29-r2::gentoo
Repositories:

gentoo
    location: /usr/portage
    sync-type: rsync
    sync-uri: rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage
    priority: -1000
    sync-rsync-verify-jobs: 1
    sync-rsync-verify-metamanifest: no
    sync-rsync-extra-opts:
    sync-rsync-verify-max-age: 24

crossdev
    location: /usr/local/portage-crossdev
    masters: gentoo
    priority: 10

bright
    location: /var/lib/layman/bright
    masters: gentoo
    priority: 50

cg
    location: /var/lib/layman/cg
    masters: gentoo
    priority: 50

brother-overlay
    location: /usr/local/portage/brother-overlay
    sync-type: git
    sync-uri: https://github.com/stefan-langenmaier/brother-overlay.git
    masters: gentoo
    priority: 9999

ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="@FREE"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=skylake -O2 -pipe"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/share/config /usr/share/gnupg/qualified.txt /usr/share/maven-bin-3.6/conf"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/dconf /etc/env.d /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/gentoo-release /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/sandbox.d /etc/terminfo /etc/texmf/language.dat.d /etc/texmf/language.def.d /etc/texmf/updmap.d /etc/texmf/web2c"
CXXFLAGS="-march=skylake -O2 -pipe"
DISTDIR="/mnt/store/system/distfiles"
ENV_UNSET="DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS DISPLAY GOBIN PERL5LIB PERL5OPT PERLPREFIX PERL_CORE PERL_MB_OPT PERL_MM_OPT XAUTHORITY XDG_CACHE_HOME XDG_CONFIG_HOME XDG_DATA_HOME XDG_RUNTIME_DIR"
FCFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
FEATURES="assume-digests binpkg-docompress binpkg-dostrip binpkg-logs config-protect-if-modified distlocks ebuild-locks fixlafiles ipc-sandbox merge-sync multilib-strict network-sandbox news parallel-fetch pid-sandbox preserve-libs protect-owned sandbox sfperms strict unknown-features-warn unmerge-logs unmerge-orphans userfetch userpriv usersandbox usersync xattr"
FFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="rsync://ftp-stud.hs-esslingen.de/gentoo/"
LANG="de_DE.utf8"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed"
LINGUAS="de en"
MAKEOPTS="-j9"
PKGDIR="/mnt/store/system/packages"
PORTAGE_CONFIGROOT="/"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --omit-dir-times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --human-readable --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages --exclude=/.git"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
USE="X acl alsa amd64 berkdb bzip2 cli consolekit crypt cuda cups cxx dbus dri dvb ffmpeg fontconfig fortran gdbm gif glamor gpm hackrf iconv ipv6 jpeg jpeg2k libtirpc mp3 multilib ncurses nls nptl opengl openmp pam pcre png policykit pulseaudio raw readline rtlsdr seccomp split-usr ssl tcpd tiff truetype udev udisks unicode vdpau wayland x264 xattr zlib" ABI_X86="64" ALSA_CARDS="ali5451 als4000 atiixp atiixp-modem bt87x ca0106 cmipci emu10k1x ens1370 ens1371 es1938 es1968 fm801 hda-intel intel8x0 intel8x0m maestro3 trident usb-audio via82xx via82xx-modem ymfpci" APACHE2_MODULES="authn_core authz_core socache_shmcb unixd actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache cgi cgid dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" CALLIGRA_FEATURES="karbon sheets words" COLLECTD_PLUGINS="df interface irq load memory rrdtool swap syslog" CPU_FLAGS_X86="aes avx avx2 f16c fma3 mmx mmxext pclmul popcnt sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3" ELIBC="glibc" GPSD_PROTOCOLS="ashtech aivdm earthmate evermore fv18 garmin garmintxt gpsclock isync itrax mtk3301 nmea ntrip navcom oceanserver oldstyle oncore rtcm104v2 rtcm104v3 sirf skytraq superstar2 timing tsip tripmate tnt ublox ubx" INPUT_DEVICES="libinput keyboard mouse" KERNEL="linux" L10N="de en en-GB" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" LIBREOFFICE_EXTENSIONS="presenter-console presenter-minimizer" NETBEANS_MODULES="apisupport cnd groovy gsf harness ide identity j2ee java mobility nb php profiler soa visualweb webcommon websvccommon xml" OFFICE_IMPLEMENTATION="libreoffice" PHP_TARGETS="php7-2" POSTGRES_TARGETS="postgres10 postgres11" PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python3_6" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7 python3_6" RUBY_TARGETS="ruby24" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="intel i965 nvidia" XTABLES_ADDONS="quota2 psd pknock lscan length2 ipv4options ipset ipp2p iface geoip fuzzy condition tee tarpit sysrq steal rawnat logmark ipmark dhcpmac delude chaos account"
Unset:  CC, CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, CXX, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, INSTALL_MASK, LC_ALL, PORTAGE_BINHOST, PORTAGE_BUNZIP2_COMMAND, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS

_________________
-=human without Windows®=-
sorry for my bad english!


Last edited by dasPaul on Thu Aug 08, 2019 8:01 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1994
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 05, 2019 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most probably, some USE flags are missing.
  1. You may want to select a different profile:
    Code:
    eselect profile list
    eselect profile set <N>    # select a 17.0 'desktop/plasma' profile

  2. After that, run
    Code:
    emerge --info

    If 'emerge --info' does NOT show USE flags 'egl' or 'libinput', add them to the USE flags in /etc/portage/make.conf. You may also want to add USE flag 'vaapi'.

  3. After that, run:
    Code:
    emerge --update --deep --newuse -av @world

  4. You may want to switch to profile 17.1. Unfortunately, that's challenging. Simply choosing a 17.1 profile using 'eselect profile' won't work. Look at the news item 'amd64 17.1 profiles are now stable'.

  5. Why is there an 'nvidia' entry in VIDEO_CARDS? You wrote you have an Intel graphics controller?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dasPaul
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 217
Location: Dresden

PostPosted: Mon Aug 05, 2019 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I will try that.
I have an NVIDIA card as secondary GPU for opencl and cuda usage, but this card is excluded
from the system as soon as vfio gets started. Also no nvidia modules get loaded. I just ocassionally activate that card if needed.
_________________
-=human without Windows®=-
sorry for my bad english!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dasPaul
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 217
Location: Dresden

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2019 8:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I

  • changed to 17.0 'desktop/plasma'
  • emerge --info works
  • egl use flag was still missing, added it to my make.conf
  • did a emerge -avuNDt --with-bdeps=y @world

Wayland plasma still refuses to start, same symptoms as above...
then I switched to profile 17.1, system runs fine so far but still
as before, plasma wayland refuses to start.
_________________
-=human without Windows®=-
sorry for my bad english!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dasPaul
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 217
Location: Dresden

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2019 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just for completeness, here is the output if I start a nested session:

Code:
# kwin_wayland --xwayland
No backend specified through command line argument, trying auto resolution
OpenGL vendor string:                   Intel Open Source Technology Center
OpenGL renderer string:                 Mesa DRI Intel(R) HD Graphics 530 (Skylake GT2)
OpenGL version string:                  3.0 Mesa 19.0.8
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.30
Driver:                                 Intel
GPU class:                              Unknown
OpenGL version:                         3.0
GLSL version:                           1.30
Mesa version:                           19.0.8
Linux kernel version:                   4.19.52
Requires strict binding:                no
GLSL shaders:                           yes
Texture NPOT support:                   yes
Virtual Machine:                        no
_XSERVTransSocketUNIXCreateListener: ...SocketCreateListener() failed
_XSERVTransMakeAllCOTSServerListeners: server already running
The XKEYBOARD keymap compiler (xkbcomp) reports:
> Warning:          Unsupported high keycode 372 for name <I372> ignored
>                   X11 cannot support keycodes above 255.
>                   This warning only shows for the first high keycode.
Errors from xkbcomp are not fatal to the X server
X-Server started on display :1
Configuring Lock Action
org.kde.knotifications: env says KDE is running but SNI unavailable -- check KDE_FULL_SESSION and XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP
The session is not registered:  "PID 22443 does not belong to any known session"
The XKEYBOARD keymap compiler (xkbcomp) reports:
> Warning:          Unsupported maximum keycode 569, clipping.
>                   X11 cannot support keycodes above 255.
> Warning:          Unsupported high keycode 372 for name <I372> ignored
>                   X11 cannot support keycodes above 255.
>                   This warning only shows for the first high keycode.
Errors from xkbcomp are not fatal to the X server

_________________
-=human without Windows®=-
sorry for my bad english!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1994
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2019 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dasPaul wrote:
So I
- changed to 17.0 'desktop/plasma'
- emerge --info works
- egl use flag was still missing, added it to my make.conf
- did a emerge -avuNDt --with-bdeps=y @world

Wayland plasma still refuses to start, same symptoms as above...
then I switched to profile 17.1, system runs fine so far but still
as before, plasma wayland refuses to start.

Thanks! Your system is in better shape now. :-)
  1. First of all, please use 'export XDG_SESSION_TYPE=wayland' instead of 'XDG_SESSION_TYPE=wayland'. (That's probably not the reason for the problem, but still..)

  2. Please run the statements below from a TTY console:
    Code:
    export XDG_SESSION_TYPE=wayland
    export $(dbus-launch) && startplasmacompositor
    bash -v /usr/bin/startplasmacompositor 2>&1 | while IFS= read -r line; do printf '%s %s\n' "$(date)" "$line"; done >/tmp/start.log

    You said, that startplasmacompositor will get stuck? Wait approx. 10 seconds and then press Ctrl-C. After that, please post '/tmp/start.log' using wgetpaste.

    Please note: the delay of approx. 10 seconds is important. The timestamps in the log file will tell us what happened before, during and after the delay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dasPaul
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 217
Location: Dresden

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2019 5:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I executed your lines, after 2nd line I waited a "while" nothing happens, and did a CTRL+C
Then I run 3rd line waited at least 12 seconds and then again CTRL+C because nothing happens.
The start.log looks like it contains only the content of the startplasmacompositor script...

http://dpaste.com/20Z7E8M
_________________
-=human without Windows®=-
sorry for my bad english!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1994
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the log file.
  1. Your machine seems to hang during this statement:
    Code:
    /usr/bin/kwin_wayland --xwayland --libinput --exit-with-session=/usr/lib64/libexec/startplasma

    That's what I expected, but I wanted to be sure.

  2. I'm surprised that your log file ends with the line 'No backend specified through command line argument, trying auto resolution'. Because on my machine, kwin_wayland writes a lot of info and warning messages. I would really like to see those.

    Maybe that's because of Ctrl-C. Please repeat the test. But instead of pressing Ctrl-C, switch to another TTY console or log in via ssh, run 'ps -fe' to get the PID of the kwin_wayland process and kill that process with SIGKILL ('kill -9 <PID>'). Please post the lines in the log file after the start of kwin_wayland.

  3. Just for comparison: below is what I get in my log file after the start of kwin_wayland /timestamps removed):
    Code:
    /usr/bin/kwin_wayland --xwayland --libinput --exit-with-session=/usr/lib64/libexec/startplasma
    No backend specified through command line argument, trying auto resolution
    OpenGL vendor string:                   Intel Open Source Technology Center
    OpenGL renderer string:                 Mesa DRI Intel(R) Ivybridge Desktop
    OpenGL version string:                  4.2 (Core Profile) Mesa 19.0.8
    OpenGL shading language version string: 4.20
    Driver:                                 Intel
    GPU class:                              IvyBridge
    OpenGL version:                         4.2
    GLSL version:                           4.20
    Mesa version:                           19.0.8
    Linux kernel version:                   4.19.64
    Requires strict binding:                no
    GLSL shaders:                           yes
    Texture NPOT support:                   yes
    Virtual Machine:                        no
    The XKEYBOARD keymap compiler (xkbcomp) reports:
    > Warning:          Unsupported high keycode 372 for name <I372> ignored
    >                   X11 cannot support keycodes above 255.
    >                   This warning only shows for the first high keycode.
    Errors from xkbcomp are not fatal to the X server
    X-Server started on display :0
    Configuring Lock Action
    org.kde.knotifications: env says KDE is running but SNI unavailable -- check KDE_FULL_SESSION and XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP
    org.kde.knotifications: env says KDE is running but SNI unavailable -- check KDE_FULL_SESSION and XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP
    Session path: "/org/freedesktop/login1/session/c1"
    The XKEYBOARD keymap compiler (xkbcomp) reports:
    > Warning:          Unsupported maximum keycode 569, clipping.
    >                   X11 cannot support keycodes above 255.
    > Warning:          Unsupported high keycode 372 for name <I372> ignored
    >                   X11 cannot support keycodes above 255.
    >                   This warning only shows for the first high keycode.
    Errors from xkbcomp are not fatal to the X server
    Using Wayland-EGL
    Using the 'xdg-shell' shell integration
    startplasma: Starting up...


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dasPaul
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 217
Location: Dresden

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2019 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thats the new log file:
http://dpaste.com/2DW13NZ

What I tried else is to create a new user and tried to start a session there but it fails the same way
as before...

Maybe I should physically remove my NVIDIA GPU? Could it interfere with that intel igpu?
I cant imagine...
_________________
-=human without Windows®=-
sorry for my bad english!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1994
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2019 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the log file. /usr/bin/kwin_wayland hangs before or during detection of the backends and doesn't print any messages. Strange...

Quote:
What I tried else is to create a new user and tried to start a session there but it fails the same way as before...

Great! Now we know it's not a faulty configuration file...

Quote:
Maybe I should physically remove my NVIDIA GPU? Could it interfere with that intel igpu? I cant imagine...

Very good idea. Please remove it and please DON'T put it back in until we have solved this mystery.

If that doesn't help: please post your kernel config using wgetpaste.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dasPaul
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 217
Location: Dresden

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2019 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some things I tried too:
removed all "wayland" use flag containing dependencies and reinstalled them
... no success
removed the GTX1070 card from its slot and removed nvidia from make.conf
... no success, instead I cant use my usb mouse or keyboard anymore if it tries
to start startplasmacompositor, I used "... timeout -s 9 1m startplasmacompositor"
and peripherals came back after killed

Kernel config:
http://dpaste.com/1VMVNJW

:evil:
_________________
-=human without Windows®=-
sorry for my bad english!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1994
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2019 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I looked at your kernel config and I don't see anything terribly wrong. There are a few options that should be enabled, but I doubt that they are responsible for the malfunction of kwin_wayland.
  • # CONFIG_MTRR_SANITIZER is not set
  • # CONFIG_PACKET_DIAG is not set
  • # CONFIG_UNIX_DIAG is not set
  • # CONFIG_INET_DIAG is not set
  • # CONFIG_NETLINK_DIAG is not set
  • # CONFIG_DRM_VGEM is not set
You enabled firewall modules in your kernel? Are there any rules or settings that could prevent communication with the Wayland compositor?


Last edited by mike155 on Wed Aug 07, 2019 7:34 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dasPaul
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 217
Location: Dresden

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2019 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No firewall, iptables is empty...

Two questions:
Can I run my normal X-Server started via "startkde" on tty1 and then try the wayland stuff on tty2 or do I have to stop
my X-Server on tty1? I always stopped it on tty1 but that's annoying by the time :D

How do you select a Display resolution if wayland-plasma is working properly? Can you
set it in system settings window?

I set the kernel stuff tomorrow...

One last option still exists.. to wipe my complete gentoo system and do it new... but
I don't know if it is worth all the work just for wayland...
_________________
-=human without Windows®=-
sorry for my bad english!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1994
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2019 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dasPaul wrote:
Can I run my normal X-Server started via "startkde" on tty1 and then try the wayland stuff on tty2 or do I have to stop my X-Server on tty1? I always stopped it on tty1 but that's annoying by the time :D

As far as I know, you cannot start an X11 server and a Wayland compositor in parallel.

I hope it's not the X11 server that you start on tty1 that disturbs the Wayland compositor. Maybe you should try to start Wayland directly after you booted your machine.

dasPaul wrote:
How do you select a Display resolution if wayland-plasma is working properly? Can you
set it in system settings window?

My kernel switches to graphics mode when it boots (kernel modesetting). There's no need to select a display resolution in X or Wayland, because the display stays in graphics mod all the time and the screen resolution never changes.

dasPaul wrote:
One last option still exists.. to wipe my complete gentoo system and do it new... but
I don't know if it is worth all the work just for wayland...

No, don't do that! It's Gentoo Linux, not Windows. There's no need to reinstall your OS. :-)


Last edited by mike155 on Wed Aug 07, 2019 8:49 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1994
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2019 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good news! I think I can reproduce the problem on my machine.
  1. I created a new user 't'.

  2. Plasma / Wayland starts as expected if I log in as user 't' and run
    Code:
    # export XDG_SESSION_TYPE=wayland
    # export $(dbus-launch)
    # startplasmacompositor

  3. But if I log in as user 'root' and switch to user 't' using 'su - t' and run the statements above, I get exactly the behavior the TO described. kwin_wayland hangs and I have to stop it with Ctrl-C or kill.


Last edited by mike155 on Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:54 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1994
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE wrote:
For Wayland support, a logind implementation is required. Gentoo provides elogind as an alternative to systemd.

In case elogind is not installed and running on your machine, please install it.

Follow the guide at https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Elogind.

Please don't forget to:
  1. add USE flag 'elogind' in /etc/portage/make.conf
  2. remove USE flag 'consolekit' in /etc/portage/make.conf (add '-consolekit' with a leading hyphen/minus)
  3. run 'emerge --update --deep --newuse -av @world'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dasPaul
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 217
Location: Dresden

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2019 5:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mike155 wrote:

In case elogind is not installed and running on your machine, please install it.


That did the trick! :P Wayland starts now in all it's beauty.
I had elogind installed but I did not globally enable it so a lot
of packages missed the flag. I then of cause also removed
consolekit from boot runlevel.
_________________
-=human without Windows®=-
sorry for my bad english!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dasPaul
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 217
Location: Dresden

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2019 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mike155 wrote:

My kernel switches to ... There's no need to select a display resolution in X or Wayland, because the display stays in graphics mod all the time and the screen resolution never changes.


That is quite a downer. My main screen is an 4k TV. At full native resolution my skylake IGPU is only capable of delivering
30Hz@4k.. that is a no go! I NEED to get 1080p@100Hz. I guess I have to fiddle around with edid files... :?

But thats another topic :wink:

mike155, thanks for you outstanding will in problem solving :D
_________________
-=human without Windows®=-
sorry for my bad english!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7480
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2019 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dasPaul wrote:
my skylake IGPU is only capable of delivering 30Hz@4k.. that is a no go! I NEED to get 1080p@100Hz.

Are you sure about that? My older Haswell HD 4600 iGPU is able to deliver 60Hz@4K, maybe you just need to get a better DP cable?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dasPaul
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 217
Location: Dresden

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2019 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

looks like my GA-Z170N Mainboard is the bottleneck
I have only HDMI Ports, no DP.
It is rated for 4k@24Hz and only HDMI1.4...
https://p-bg.de/pics/z170n.png

Nevertheless, 1080p is my goal, in 4k everything is way to tiny. I know I can upscale everything but.. no.
_________________
-=human without Windows®=-
sorry for my bad english!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dasPaul
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 217
Location: Dresden

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2019 7:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just for completeness sake, how I changed my screen resolution and refresh rate for wayland (Intel IGPU):

get edid-generator:
https://github.com/akatrevorjay/edid-generator.git

get your desired modeline from xrandr while in an ordinary X-Session:
Code:
xrandr --verbose
...
1920x1080 (0x18a) 297.000MHz +HSync +VSync
        h: width  1920 start 2448 end 2492 total 2640 skew    0 clock 112.50KHz
        v: height 1080 start 1084 end 1089 total 1125           clock 100.00Hz
...

use modeline2edid to create an *.S file and assemble the modeline from above to:

Code:
./modeline2edid - <<< 'Modeline "1920x1080_100.00"  297.00  1920 2448 2492 2640  1080 1084 1089 1125 -hsync +vsync'


now type "make" and it should build a *.bin file corresponding to your Modeline resolution, "1920x1080_100.00.bin" in my case.

Copy "1920x1080_100.00.bin" to /lib/firmware/edid and/or(*) into your initramfs /lib/firmware/edid... create the edid dir if non existing.

Append this to your kernel command line (**):
Code:
video=HDMI-A-1:1920x1080@100 drm.edid_firmware=HDMI-A-1:edid/1920x1080_100.00.bin


And reboot. You should now boot into your desired graphics mode. All without warranty :lol:

(*not sure about this whether both locations needed or one of them, I used both)
(** look into /sys/class/drm/card0-* what is your active port, mine was card0-HDMI-A-1)

MARKED AS SOLVED
_________________
-=human without Windows®=-
sorry for my bad english!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum