Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
openbox -- how save application window size?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jagdpanther
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 553

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 3:16 am    Post subject: openbox -- how save application window size? Reply with quote

I'm using the OpenBox windows manager. For a given application, say Firefox, how do I get OpenBox to remember the application's window size? This way the next time I launch the application it has the same window size. Note: I almost always launch applications from a terminal window. (ex: $ firefox & )

(On some other windows managers I have seen the option when you right-click on the application's window title bar, to save the geometry.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4396
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For me, when I restart it it's the size it was when I last closed it, at least firefox is that way, I think FF saves it's own geometry.
Other apps, some start with the size preset, nothing can be done about that.

For terminals, I set it to col/row size either in menu settings, or keyboard shortcut.

Edit to add: I don't think there's a way to save it from openbox itself, most apps will let you set geometry size when it gets started though, but that means editing either menu.xml or rc.xml. (Yeah, I know not the best)
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jagdpanther
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 553

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. The interesting item is that for many months, firefox always opened in OpenBox as the same size, that I set. (probably just by dragging a resize corner of the Firefox window.) Now firefox always opens smaller than I ever use it and I always resize the window. I also tried to set the original size on the command line like this:

Code:
firefox --window-size 1100,1060


Which according to "firefox --help" should work, but it doesn't. This isn't that big a deal, I'll try to track down the issue one of these days.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4396
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might look at the commands (menu.xml, rc.xml) to see if they've somehow got a size attached to them.

Or if this is a newer firefox they may have changed something, I run a very old version as I haven't kept up with anything past 5.2 :lol:
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum