Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Cannot see drives in gui file managers
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lofidelity
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2019
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 5:33 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Cannot see drives in gui file managers Reply with quote

Hi,

I've tried thunar and pcmanfm. I have things like gvfs,udisks,dbus etc related stuff in place.
The issue is that in the sidebar I cannot see any of my drives (mounted or otherwise).

I found a similar issue here
https://forum.manjaro.org/t/problems-with-mounting-disks-in-xfce-thunar-gtk-d-bus-gvfs-issues/89848/4

And tried as per the suggestion to use
Code:
dbus-launch pcmanfm
and this does fix the issue, however there still is something wrong and it is inconvenient to run the command with dbus-launch everytime.

I am running bspwm and have no display managers in place currently.
I do not know how to approach this as im still new to gentoo. Please ask if you need any more info.


Thanks.


Last edited by lofidelity on Wed Jul 17, 2019 4:44 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7527
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did this ever work on this install? If it never worked, are you using elogind? systemd? consolekit? And is this working?

If it worked before... this will be harder to debug.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lofidelity
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2019
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
Did this ever work on this install? If it never worked, are you using elogind? systemd? consolekit? And is this working?

If it worked before... this will be harder to debug.


No. This never worked on this install. I used console kit. I've erased the disk and will attempt to install everything over again. Will report if this happens again.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3849
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lofidelity wrote:
I've erased the disk and will attempt to install everything over again.

In general that just means you will make a mistake somewhere else that you'll have to debug. I love Gentoo, but installs are not user friendly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7847
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tony0945 wrote:
I love Gentoo, but installs are no solution.

ftfy
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7527
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have to agree that reinstalling isn't always the best solution. Part of the learning process is fixing the problem, though debugging it is the tough part.

Now that we know you're using consolekit, it's important we know that consolekit is working first. The first things is making sure you have your USE flags set properly, and most of that is if your make.profile is set. What profile are you using?

If that is set up properly, then after logging in, you should be able to get something from running

$ ck-list-sessions

If this is not reporting anything or an error, you won't be able to access your drives as a normal user.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skellr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Posts: 901
Location: The Village, Portmeirion

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use dbus-launch in your .xinitrc to start your WM with.
dbus-launch bspwm
Or
exec dbus-launch bspwm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lofidelity
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2019
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
Have to agree that reinstalling isn't always the best solution. Part of the learning process is fixing the problem, though debugging it is the tough part.

Now that we know you're using consolekit, it's important we know that consolekit is working first. The first things is making sure you have your USE flags set properly, and most of that is if your make.profile is set. What profile are you using?

If that is set up properly, then after logging in, you should be able to get something from running

$ ck-list-sessions

If this is not reporting anything or an error, you won't be able to access your drives as a normal user.


$ ck-list-sessions output:

Code:
Session1:
        unix-user = '1000'
        realname = '(null)'
        seat = 'Seat1'
        session-type = 'unspecified'
        session-class = 'user'
        session-state = 'online'
        active = FALSE
        x11-display = ''
        x11-display-device = ''
        display-device = '/dev/tty1'
        remote-host-name = ''
        is-local = TRUE
        on-since = '2019-07-16T06:18:56.443337Z'
        login-session-id = '1'
        XDG_RUNTIME_DIR = '/var/run/user/1000'
        VTNr = '1'


Im using the default amd64 profile 17.0 stable or the very first one on the list.

These are my use flags in make.conf,
USE="dbus consolekit policykit udisks networkmanager X"


Quote:

Use dbus-launch in your .xinitrc to start your WM with.
dbus-launch bspwm
Or
exec dbus-launch bspwm


This did not change anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7527
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should be using one of the "desktop" profiles. This will set all the USE flags needed to get desktop GUI working, though I can't think of the one you need at the moment. Unfortunately I don't know much about pcmanfm, though you should have the consolekit session related to your topmost environment, which would be bspwm even if it doesn't use it directly.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lofidelity
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2019
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
You should be using one of the "desktop" profiles.


Thing is I've used the same profile before in a prior install with i3wm and faced no issues. I think I'm missing something else here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4704
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does emerge -pv libfm pcmanfm return?
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, RX 550 & 560 - 5.8 zen kernel
Acer E5-575 (laptop), i3-7100u - i965 - 5.5 zen kernel
---both---
gcc 9.3.0, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lofidelity
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2019
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
What does emerge -pv libfm pcmanfm return?


Code:
Password:

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] x11-libs/libfm-1.2.5:0/4.5.0::gentoo  USE="automount gtk udisks -debug -doc -examples -exif -vala" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] x11-misc/pcmanfm-1.2.5::gentoo  USE="-debug" 0 KiB

Total: 2 packages (2 reinstalls), Size of downloads: 0 KiB

 * IMPORTANT: 10 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news read to view new items.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4704
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

when you launch pcmanfm are there any messages in .xsession-errors or whatever your X-session log file is?
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, RX 550 & 560 - 5.8 zen kernel
Acer E5-575 (laptop), i3-7100u - i965 - 5.5 zen kernel
---both---
gcc 9.3.0, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lofidelity
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2019
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
when you launch pcmanfm are there any messages in .xsession-errors or whatever your X-session log file is?


I do not have that file in my home folder. Is there a way to create it or is it supposed to be somewhere else?

edit: started with startx 2>.xsession-errors

output is

Code:
** (pcmanfm:5880): WARNING **: 14:04:06.778: The directory '~/Templates' doesn't exist, ignoring it

(pcmanfm:5880): Gdk-WARNING **: 14:04:06.807: gdk_window_set_icon_list: icons too large


it also appears in the termianl when using dbus-launch pcmanfm and the drives show up so its probably not related
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4704
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Those warning are fine, well at least they're not the problem with drives not showing

In pcmanfm edit->preferences->layout what's checked in the places area.

Edit to add: If you do dbus-launch pcmanfm they show up? but not otherwise?
How does it get started when you don't see the drives?
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, RX 550 & 560 - 5.8 zen kernel
Acer E5-575 (laptop), i3-7100u - i965 - 5.5 zen kernel
---both---
gcc 9.3.0, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lofidelity
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2019
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
Those warning are fine, well at least they're not the problem with drives not showing

In pcmanfm edit->preferences->layout what's checked in the places area.

Edit to add: If you do dbus-launch pcmanfm they show up? but not otherwise?
How does it get started when you don't see the drives?


Home folder, desktop trash can applications are checked. I only see home folder and applications when launching pcmanfm.

When I launch with dbus-launch pcmanfm it shows all the drives as well.

Also, I have the exact same problem with thunar as well.

I just noticed it also shows the home and desktop folders with dbus-launch pcmanfm in addition to the drives.

[url] https://ibb.co/V2spnNb
https://ibb.co/3R2NGQr [/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4704
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sounds like it's some type of permission problem.

are you in the storage group? and are you running polkit/consolekit

Also is gvfsd (I think that's what it's called) running when you don't get volumes showing?

Note: I don't run dbus and it's been years since I've run gvfs, this is just stuff from memory.
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, RX 550 & 560 - 5.8 zen kernel
Acer E5-575 (laptop), i3-7100u - i965 - 5.5 zen kernel
---both---
gcc 9.3.0, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lofidelity
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2019
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
sounds like it's some type of permission problem.

are you in the storage group? and are you running polkit/consolekit

Also is gvfsd (I think that's what it's called) running when you don't get volumes showing?

Note: I don't run dbus and it's been years since I've run gvfs, this is just stuff from memory.


consolekit is running and pkexec works.

at startup, gvfsd does not run, starting pcmanfm and running ps -xj gives
Code:
 
5729  5732  5726  5726 ?           -1 Sl    1000   0:00 pcmanfm


starting pcmanfm with dbus-launch pcmanfm runs gvfsd and a few more processes,

Code:

    1  5745  5745  5745 ?           -1 Ss    1000   0:00 st
 5745  5746  5746  5746 pts/1     5749 Ss    1000   0:00 /bin/bash
 5746  5749  5749  5746 pts/1     5749 Sl+   1000   0:00 pcmanfm
    1  5753  5753  5753 ?           -1 Ss    1000   0:00 /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --syslog --fork --print-pid 5 --print-address 7 --session
    1  5757  5753  5753 ?           -1 Sl    1000   0:00 /usr/libexec/gvfsd
    1  5762  5753  5753 ?           -1 Sl    1000   0:00 /usr/libexec/gvfs-udisks2-volume-monitor
 5757  5781  5753  5753 ?           -1 Sl    1000   0:00 /usr/libexec/gvfsd-trash --spawner :1.1 /org/gtk/gvfs/exec_spaw/0



starting pcmanfm without dbus-launch after gvfsd is already running still does not show any drives.

Code:

    1  5753  5753  5753 ?           -1 Ss    1000   0:00 /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --syslog --fork --print-pid 5 --print-address 7 --session
    1  5757  5753  5753 ?           -1 Sl    1000   0:00 /usr/libexec/gvfsd
    1  5762  5753  5753 ?           -1 Sl    1000   0:00 /usr/libexec/gvfs-udisks2-volume-monitor
 5757  5781  5753  5753 ?           -1 Sl    1000   0:00 /usr/libexec/gvfsd-trash --spawner :1.1 /org/gtk/gvfs/exec_spaw/0
 5251  5840  5245  5245 ?           -1 Sl    1000   0:00 /opt/firefox/firefox-bin -contentproc -childID 9 -isForBrowser -prefsLen 6750 -pr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7847
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is elogind installed for some reason?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lofidelity
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2019
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
Is elogind installed for some reason?


No, it's not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4704
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, from reading the 1st link (manjaro one) it looks like there's some weirdness with udisks/gvfs/god knows what, causing the problem.

If you're using a desktop file to start pcmanfm, just add dbus-launch in front of pcmanfm command.
If using a keystroke change it and as for using in a terminal I'd create an alias

alias pcman="dbus-launch pcmanfm"

Edit to add: I know it's not optimal, and doesn't really fix the problem, but as I don't do dbus, systemd, or any of the other things involved, it's out of my league.
Good luck.
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, RX 550 & 560 - 5.8 zen kernel
Acer E5-575 (laptop), i3-7100u - i965 - 5.5 zen kernel
---both---
gcc 9.3.0, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lofidelity
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2019
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
Well, from reading the 1st link (manjaro one) it looks like there's some weirdness with udisks/gvfs/god knows what, causing the problem.

If you're using a desktop file to start pcmanfm, just add dbus-launch in front of pcmanfm command.
If using a keystroke change it and as for using in a terminal I'd create an alias

alias pcman="dbus-launch pcmanfm"

Edit to add: I know it's not optimal, and doesn't really fix the problem, but as I don't do dbus, systemd, or any of the other things involved, it's out of my league.
Good luck.


Thanks. I guess I'll just do this and forget about it.

Would you mind sharing how you accomplish this without dbus? I wouldn't mind getting rid of it and learning something like a cli file manager if that rids me of gvfs and dbus.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lofidelity
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2019
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

update,

the issue is fixed now on its own. built slim dm with the flag consolekit and now all the drives and stuff are visible. Was definitely consolekit not being started properly or something.

Thanks everyone for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum