Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Multi-head KDE?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cz0
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 252
Location: /earth/russia/moscow

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2019 3:10 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Multi-head KDE? Reply with quote

Hi, folks!
I'm running KDE and currently trying to use it in multi-head configuration on my laptop with Intel integrated video card.
But I'm entirely missing any screen configuration options related to multi-head thing in System Settings.
Since I don't need all that stuff. that comes with KDE, I've installed only kde-plasma/plasma-desktop package.
Any useflag or packed I need to enable/install to get second screen configuration available in KDE?


Last edited by cz0 on Fri Jun 07, 2019 4:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
etnull
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Mar 2019
Posts: 285

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2019 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE
Quote:
Warning
Please note that only installing kde-plasma/plasma-desktop will be missing important packages such as kde-plasma/powerdevil (power management, suspend and hibernate options), kde-plasma/systemsettings and many more, do not expect support in this case.

You need kde-plasma/plasma-meta instead, or you have to find what exactly is missing on your own, maybe try kde-plasma/systemsettings and x11-apps/xrandr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theluckyone17
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2005
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2019 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What etnull said. I can confirm multi-head support after installing plasma-meta. My daily laptop is running triple heads reliably (Acer R7-572: HDMI, VGA via dongle, and the integrated display). Plasma's handling the recognition of the monitors nicely as well, restoring window locations and what not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7428
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2019 7:13 pm    Post subject: Re: Multi-head KDE? Reply with quote

cz0 wrote:
Since I don't need all that stuff. that comes with KDE

Apparently you do need that stuff.

Hint: plasma-meta installs stuff that comes with KDE Plasma, not all software that is produced by KDE.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cz0
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 252
Location: /earth/russia/moscow

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2019 4:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Multi-head KDE? Reply with quote

asturm wrote:

Apparently you do need that stuff.

Not really. After pulling in plasma-meta with pretend option and brief analyses, I tried out "kde-plasma/kscreen" and it does the business just fine.
Now I have corresponding option in System Setting along with kscreen application itself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum