Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
xwayland questions
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
imesg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2002
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2019 5:15 pm    Post subject: xwayland questions Reply with quote

I followed Sakaki's 'Setting_up_the_GNOME_3_Desktop' to install wayland on an existing gnome3 install. I think that I was partially successful:

Code:

gene@go:~# echo "${XDG_SESSION_TYPE}"
wayland


However:

Code:

gene@go:~# ps aux|grep wayland
gene      6910  0.0  0.0 169548  5344 tty2     Ssl+ 10:35   0:00 /usr/libexec/gdm-wayland-session /usr/bin/gnome-session
gene      6983  0.4  0.3 475252 50588 tty2     Sl+  10:35   0:21 /usr/bin/Xwayland :0 -rootless -terminate -accessx -core -listen 4 -listen 5 -displayfd 6


Code:

gene@go:~# ps aux | grep X11
gene      7029  0.0  0.1 300068 27920 tty2     Sl   10:35   0:00 /usr/libexec/ibus-x11 --kill-daemon


So there is Xwayland and no X11.

I think there should be wayland and not Xwayland.

Second question: is it possible to start wayland from the command line and not gdm?

Thanks for help and suggestions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7967
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2019 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need XWayland for applications that still require X libraries of some sorts.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 2434
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2019 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Second question: is it possible to start wayland from the command line and not gdm?

Please note that Wayland is a protocol. It doesn't make sense to start a protocol.

What you probably have in mind is a Wayland compositor. If you use Gnome, the Wayland compositor will be provided by Mutter.

See: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wayland_%28display_server_protocol%29
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
imesg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2002
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2019 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mike155 wrote:
Quote:
Second question: is it possible to start wayland from the command line and not gdm?

Please note that Wayland is a protocol. It doesn't make sense to start a protocol.

What you probably have in mind is a Wayland compositor. If you use Gnome, the Wayland compositor will be provided by Mutter.

See: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wayland_%28display_server_protocol%29


Well I guess my question what is providing the wayland protocol? The only indication which I can see is Xwayland. There is no Mutter running. If I start Mutter all I get is a blue screen with a trackpad cursor.

Edit: I read after this that starting Mutter is for debugging.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum