No! More forums!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Zucca

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MarkDown/AsciiDoc/whatelsethereare would be nice, I'll admit.

Dr.Willy wrote:
I have no experience using SE, is that like StackOverflow?
Stack Exchange is StackOverflow and many others like it. ;)
Quote:
I am NaN! I am a man!
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dr.Willy wrote:
Or look at the Syncthing Forums for inspiration. I don't know what kind of software they are using, but there are some nice things there.
The overview helps in bringing up topics in otherwise low-traffic subforums, thread-outlines with post-dates for longer/older discussions

I believe it's using Discourse (software).

Personally not a fan, but for inspiration... maybe. :]
pjp
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dr.Willy wrote:
BBCode is fucking stone age, straight out of '00 when XML was all the rage in the java universe. How about an inline-CODE? You know like the thing the cool kids writing markdown can just do with `codehere`? Thinking about it, the Github issue-tracker has some nice features for a discussion forum as a whole.
XML aside, "cool kids" often do really dumb things for reallly dumb reasons. I'm not sure what inline-CODE achieves, but I really hope it doesn't involve any of the cool kids' ScrollyMcScroll stuff. And if github does anything well, UI is not on the list.

Dr.Willy wrote:
Or look at the Syncthing Forums for inspiration.
Kill it with fire. To be fair, I only clicked that link and one subsequent "forum" link. But then I view the modern web era for what it is.

$.02.
1clue
Advocate
Advocate