Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
SOLVED: Intel NIC i219-v
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
weiypan_us
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Feb 2017
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 2:11 am    Post subject: SOLVED: Intel NIC i219-v Reply with quote

My mother board is a i219-v NIC. I can't see it in /usr/src/linux/.config by launch make menuconfig

It is appreciate very much if can advise me which drive to use!


Last edited by weiypan_us on Mon Apr 22, 2019 6:21 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
weiypan_us
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Feb 2017
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I google around for NIC I219-v, it is said e1000e driver module can with with it. But I also can't identify e1000e by launch make menuconfig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3535
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 2:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CONFIG_E1000E
It will appear when you enable "Intel devices"
You can see the full path when you type a forward slash in menuconfig, then type E1000E.
I only know because I had an Intel card.

Happy Easter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
weiypan_us
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Feb 2017
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tony0945 wrote:
CONFIG_E1000E
It will appear when you enable "Intel devices"
You can see the full path when you type a forward slash in menuconfig, then type E1000E.
I only know because I had an Intel card.

Happy Easter.


Hi Tony, Thank you for the info.

I found CONFIG_E1000E and set CONFIG_E1000E=y. Checked its dependent are good.
However after compile and install and reboot, it still can't detect my I219-v NIC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44900
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

weiypan_us,

Two things

Run
Code:
uname -a
the date and time shown is the build date/time of the running kernel.
If that time is too old, you probably forgot to mount /boot, so the old kernel is still in use.

Some network cards require
Code:
CONFIG_PHYLIB=y
and an entry from the
Code:
# MII PHY device drivers
menu to be set too.
I don't know if this applies to your I219-v NIC or not.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
weiypan_us
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Feb 2017
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
weiypan_us,

Two things

Run
Code:
uname -a
the date and time shown is the build date/time of the running kernel.
If that time is too old, you probably forgot to mount /boot, so the old kernel is still in use.

Some network cards require
Code:
CONFIG_PHYLIB=y
and an entry from the
Code:
# MII PHY device drivers
menu to be set too.
I don't know if this applies to your I219-v NIC or not.

Hi NeddySeagoon,

/boot was mounted when I built kernel and CONFIG_PHYLIB=y has been here in .config

but I am not very understand "an entry from the MII PHY device drivers"

my current MII PHY devices looks like, I don't know which one is should be set.
# MII PHY device drivers
#
# CONFIG_AMD_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_AQUANTIA_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_AT803X_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_BCM7XXX_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_BCM87XX_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_BROADCOM_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_CICADA_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_DAVICOM_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_DP83848_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_DP83867_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_FIXED_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_ICPLUS_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_INTEL_XWAY_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_LSI_ET1011C_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_LXT_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_MARVELL_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_MICREL_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_MICROCHIP_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_MICROSEMI_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_NATIONAL_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_QSEMI_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_REALTEK_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_SMSC_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_STE10XP is not set
# CONFIG_TERANETICS_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_VITESSE_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_XILINX_GMII2RGMII is not set
# CONFIG_PPP is not set
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3535
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
MSI tony # zgrep PHY /proc/config
CONFIG_ARCH_PHYS_ADDR_T_64BIT=y
CONFIG_PHYS_ADDR_T_64BIT=y
CONFIG_PHYSICAL_START=0x200000
CONFIG_PHYSICAL_ALIGN=0x1000000
# CONFIG_NETWORK_PHY_TIMESTAMPING is not set
# CONFIG_PHYLIB is not set
# Enable PHYLIB and NETWORK_PHY_TIMESTAMPING to see the additional clocks.
# CONFIG_USB_PHY is not set
# PHY Subsystem
# CONFIG_GENERIC_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_BCM_KONA_USB2_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_PHY_PXA_28NM_HSIC is not set
# CONFIG_PHY_PXA_28NM_USB2 is not set
As you can see, not all devices need one.
Can you see anything in dmesg regarding the NIC? Try "dmesg | grep e1000e"
Example (my NIC is r8169)
Code:
SI tony # dmesg|grep r8169
[    5.711145] r8169 Gigabit Ethernet driver 2.3LK-NAPI loaded
[    5.751268] r8169 0000:19:00.0 eth0: RTL8168h/8111h at 0xffffc90000051000, 30:9c:23:1b:42:51, XID 14100800 IRQ 45
[    5.751270] r8169 0000:19:00.0 eth0: jumbo features [frames: 9200 bytes, tx checksumming: ko]
[   11.242684] r8169 0000:19:00.0 eth0: link down
[   11.242688] r8169 0000:19:00.0 eth0: link down
[   14.313344] r8169 0000:19:00.0 eth0: link up
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
weiypan_us
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Feb 2017
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2019 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tony0945 wrote:
Code:
MSI tony # zgrep PHY /proc/config
CONFIG_ARCH_PHYS_ADDR_T_64BIT=y
CONFIG_PHYS_ADDR_T_64BIT=y
CONFIG_PHYSICAL_START=0x200000
CONFIG_PHYSICAL_ALIGN=0x1000000
# CONFIG_NETWORK_PHY_TIMESTAMPING is not set
# CONFIG_PHYLIB is not set
# Enable PHYLIB and NETWORK_PHY_TIMESTAMPING to see the additional clocks.
# CONFIG_USB_PHY is not set
# PHY Subsystem
# CONFIG_GENERIC_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_BCM_KONA_USB2_PHY is not set
# CONFIG_PHY_PXA_28NM_HSIC is not set
# CONFIG_PHY_PXA_28NM_USB2 is not set
As you can see, not all devices need one.
Can you see anything in dmesg regarding the NIC? Try "dmesg | grep e1000e"
Example (my NIC is r8169)
Code:
SI tony # dmesg|grep r8169
[    5.711145] r8169 Gigabit Ethernet driver 2.3LK-NAPI loaded
[    5.751268] r8169 0000:19:00.0 eth0: RTL8168h/8111h at 0xffffc90000051000, 30:9c:23:1b:42:51, XID 14100800 IRQ 45
[    5.751270] r8169 0000:19:00.0 eth0: jumbo features [frames: 9200 bytes, tx checksumming: ko]
[   11.242684] r8169 0000:19:00.0 eth0: link down
[   11.242688] r8169 0000:19:00.0 eth0: link down
[   14.313344] r8169 0000:19:00.0 eth0: link up


Hi Tony, not really. I can't see e1000e from dmesgs not ip link
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
weiypan_us
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Feb 2017
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2019 5:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Solved after change CONFIG_E1000E=m from CONFIG_E1000E=y

looks e1000e need to be a loadable module.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 14922

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2019 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The correctness of a kernel driver should not depend on whether it is a module. I suspect that you needed firmware to load, and switching it to be a module forced the kernel to wait until later to load it, and that the firmware happens to be available by the time modules are loaded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3535
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2019 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu, that explains my oft times noted behavior that video cards and NIC's need to be modules although people I respect assure me that that is not true.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum