Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Soundcard not detected
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Lil Nux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 10:44 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Soundcard not detected Reply with quote

Hi, i recently installed gentoo for the first time (i'm new) with kde and i've got some troubles with my soundcard because it's not detected.

Some informations :

Code:

aplay -l
aplay: device_list:272: aucune carte son n'a été trouvée... (No soundcard detected)


Code:

lspci | grep -i audio
00:03.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor HD Audio Controller (rev 06)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset High Definition Audio Controller (rev 05)


Code:

cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep CONFIG_SND_HDA
CONFIG_SND_HDA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP_MODE=1
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132_DSP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_DSP_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_COMPONENT=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=64


Code:

cat /proc/asound/cards
--- no soundcards ---

No soundcard with alsamixer

i'm in the audio group

I tried several times to built-in / modules differents SND_HDA parameters but it doesn't change anything


Last edited by Lil Nux on Sat Mar 09, 2019 9:53 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6308
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In alsamixer, does hitting F6 bring up other sound cards?
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lil Nux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, only "pulseaudio" card
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42565
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lil Nux,

Welcome to Gentoo.

Sound cards are in two parts. The PIC interface part, which is snd_hda_intel for both your sound cards and the CODEC part which does the analogue and digital sound IO. That varies.
You need the drivers for both parts.
We can't tell yet, which codecs you hawe but you show them made as modules

look in lsmod. You should see snd_hda_intel there already. If the codecs are missing, modprobe them.
You will need commands like
Code:
modprobe snd_hda_codec_via
for the via codec for example.

-- edit --

Please post the content of /proc/asound/devices
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.


Last edited by NeddySeagoon on Fri Mar 08, 2019 7:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6308
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's the output of:
Code:

lsmod | grep snd

?
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lil Nux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

modprobe snd_hda_codec_via
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'snd_hda_codec_via': Exec format error


Code:

cat /proc/asound/devices
  1:        : sequencer
 33:        : timer


Code:

lsmod | grep snd

No output
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6957
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'snd_hda_codec_via': Exec format error


This means likely your module is not built for your running kernel.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42565
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lil Nux,

I suspect that you forgot to mount boot when you did your kernel install so you are
a) not runnnig the kernel you think you are
b) have built and installed the newer modules correctly
so that as Jaglover says, your kernel and modules no longer match.

What is the output of
Code:
uname -a

I get
Code:
$ uname -a
Linux NeddySeagoon_Static 4.20.0-gentoo #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Dec 28 18:49:44 GMT 2018 x86_64 AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

That tells my running kernel is build #1 built at Fri Dec 28 18:49:44 GMT
Check the build time on your kernel. Is it what you expect?

Compare the kernel build date with the timestamp on
Code:
ls -l /usr/src/linux/.config
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 117198 Dec 28 18:49 /usr/src/linux/.config


If the .config file is newer, it cannot have been used to make the running kernel.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6308
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah. If using genkernel, mount your boot partition and run genkernel all or genkernel --menuconfig all if you need to check config options first. If compiling manually, check the handbook. (It's been a while since I've done manual kernel/module compiles.)
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lil Nux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okey it's solved, i done a stupid error.
When i rebuild my custom kernel, i forgot to copy the new compiled kernel image to /boot

i just done this
Code:

make install


Thanks for your help :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum