Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Arranging shipping of big stuff from another country..
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Ashie
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2019 8:51 pm    Post subject: Arranging shipping of big stuff from another country.. Reply with quote

I am an electrical engineer, both as job and as hobby. But in different areas of electrical engineering. Well, my hobby invloves elecromechanics, and the more i grow up, comes the interest for big stuff..

And now came the first time, when i will be interested in actually purchasing a couple fairly big machines, second hand from a factory in a different country

Fairly big means that i will need a shipping container.

I am in Israel.

The machines are in Switzerland (Zurich).

Whenever i wanted to ship something locally, i would call a truck driver / crane operator (of the crane that's on the truck) i know from town, and he would come and move stuff as needed, for reasonable prices, doing excellent job. Bonus, i would take the ride with him to supervise myself the loading and unloading, and help as necessary

This time, i will have to order actions to be done "remotely", before the stuff arrives to my country...

I imagine it will be :

Buy a shipping container

Arrange to get it to the factory from which i buy the equipment

Arrange for people to load the machines into the container (the factory does not have the needed people)

Arrange for it to be delivered to a sea port (possibly through more than one country in the EU), loaded on a ship and sent towards here

So, i am looking for - How do i get started ? How to find people/company for doing each task ? What are the costs ? Can containers be leased form some container company (that will take the empty container back so i won't have to pay the cost of the container / have to sell it off myself ?)