View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
kane82 n00b

Joined: 04 Mar 2019 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 7:35 am Post subject: eselect failed to get a list of valid profiles |
|
|
ive seen some other posts about thsi but none coudl help me
when i do eselect profile show
output is
current /etc/portage/make.profile symlink
but if i nano /etc/portage/make.profile
i get a blank file
can someone please help im in chroot
kane |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
krinn Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003 Posts: 7472
|
Posted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
make.profile should be a symbolic link, if it points to nothing or a dead entry it should be what disturb eselect output
working or not, a symbolic link is an empty file in nano
you can use ls, readlink or file to see its target
Code: | >file /etc/portage/make.profile
/etc/portage/make.profile: symbolic link to ../../usr/portage/profiles/default/linux/amd64/17.0
>eselect profile show
Current /etc/portage/make.profile symlink:
default/linux/amd64/17.0
|
I think you can just fix that using eselect profile list then eselect profile set # or eselect profile set # --force |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kane82 n00b

Joined: 04 Mar 2019 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
using eselect profile list and the other two options retuns the result failed to get a lpist of valid profiles
what do i put as eselect profile set # --force exactly?
kane |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
krinn Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003 Posts: 7472
|
Posted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
kane82 wrote: | using eselect profile list and the other two options retuns the result failed to get a lpist of valid profiles
what do i put as eselect profile set # --force exactly?
kane |
Code: | eselect profile
Usage: eselect profile <action> <options>
Standard actions:
help Display help text
usage Display usage information
version Display version information
Extra actions:
list List available profile symlink targets
set <target> Set a new profile symlink target
target Target name or number (from 'list' action)
--force Forcibly set the symlink
show Show the current make.profile symlink
|
I'm not quiet sure, i assume the --force may be use to set the profile by forcing the file to be a symlink (for case when the file exist already but is not a symlink)
If profile list return nothing, then you have issue with the portage tree, either it is empty or portage cannot find it ; profiles are download with the tree and belong in /usr/portage/profiles
if portage is not set to look in /usr/portage or that directory is empty (on new install if you forget to emerge --sync before using eselect, /usr/portage will hold no profiles), no profiles could be use |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kane82 n00b

Joined: 04 Mar 2019 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 9:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
ive done emerge -sync and then eselect with thwe same result |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeddySeagoon Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 55289 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 9:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
kane82,
Your profile are stored in the portage tree at /usr/portage/profiles/...
What do you have in /usr/portage/profiles/default/linux/amd64/ or whatever your arch is?
In days of old, this symlink was set by hand. That still works _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bambogambo n00b


Joined: 04 Mar 2019 Posts: 2 Location: Bielsko-Biala, Poland
|
Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi, I don't want to interrupt since other people are trying to solve it, but aren't you looking for what the command below does?
Code: | eselect profile list |
The topic seems like you want to list all targets. _________________ This is my Gentoo. There are many like it, but this one is mine. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeddySeagoon Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 55289 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 5:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
kane82,
bambogambo got it right, the rest of us are not reading what you wrote.
Code: | nano /etc/portage/make.profile | should return an empty file as yo say with
[ "/etc/portage/make.profile" is a directory ] at the bottom.
As /etc/portage/make.profile is a directory, nano is not the right tool to use on it. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joaopaulo1511 n00b

Joined: 05 Apr 2020 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2020 6:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry to ressurrect such an old post, but I did Google Fu to search for the same problem as OP had and I couldn`t find an answer.
For my stage3 download I chose stage3-i686-uclibc-hardened-20200327.tar.bz2. I am trying to do a 32 bits install instead of a 64 bits one as my old machine is 2GB RAM only and I don`t see any real benefits going to 64 bits.
I did everything from the handbook just as it was written, almost a copy-paste install type, only things changed is two settings on /mnt/gentoo/etc/portage/make.conf:
Code: | # modified from default COMMON_FLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -pipe" so to use all the native ISA and no debugging to make code smaller
COMMON_FLAGS="-O2 -march=native -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
# added MAKEOPTS which didn`t exist so to use all cores
MAKEOPTS="-j2" |
My native architecture is, according to "cat /proc/cpuinfo":
Code: | vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 15
model name : Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2330 @ 1.60GHz
stepping : 13
microcode : 0xa3
cache size : 1024 KB
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm lahf_lm dtherm
bugs :
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
|
But when I get to the "eselect profile list" I still get the error message "Failed to get a list of valid profiles".
I don`t know what to do. I`m from Windows world, but I could install Linux Mint, Haiku, NetBSD (compiled X, but could not make X run on real machine), FreeBSD (compiled X, Lumina Desktop, Firefox and LibreOffice, all worked correctly), so even if I don`t fully understand the commands needed to do so, I can do the basics of black console magic arcane commands. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeddySeagoon Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 55289 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2020 7:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
joaopaulo1511,
Welcome to Gentoo
Have you unpacked a snapshot yet. If not, you don't have any profiles either.
Its this area of the handbook. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jrbackon n00b

Joined: 05 Jan 2023 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2023 2:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What worked for me after getting the "eselect failed to get a list of valid profiles" message was running the command. The handbook is a little confusing on this point as it seems to indicate that this should only be done if you have bandwidth restrictions.
"The use of emerge-webrsync is recommended for those who are behind restrictive firewalls (it uses HTTP/FTP protocols for downloading the snapshot) and saves network bandwidth. Readers who have no network or bandwidth restrictions can happily skip down to the next section."
I originally skipped this running by itself and then received the "failed to get a list of valid profiles" error.
I hope this helps. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Codito ergo sum n00b

Joined: 19 Aug 2019 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Sat Feb 25, 2023 2:16 pm Post subject: Re: eselect failed to get a list of valid profiles |
|
|
kane82 wrote: | ive seen some other posts about thsi but none coudl help me
when i do eselect profile show
output is
current /etc/portage/make.profile symlink
but if i nano /etc/portage/make.profile
i get a blank file
can someone please help im in chroot
kane |
-------------------------------------
This is a late answer, but it might help someone. I've just had this problem and solved it: in fact my eselect couldn't find profiles. I remounted the root directory on
and decompressed my stage3 tarball again and countinued all steps after decompressing again and chrooted again. It saved me, because I wanted to install it from the beginning. _________________ Gentoophilus Persicus |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeddySeagoon Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 55289 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Feb 25, 2023 2:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Codito ergo sum,
That's a wipe your install and start over solution. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Codito ergo sum n00b

Joined: 19 Aug 2019 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Sat Feb 25, 2023 2:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | Codito ergo sum,
That's a wipe your install and start over solution. |
____________________
Yes but:
- there wasn't a better solution in this thread,
- Gentoo installation is a wipe the install and start over solutions' process.
Regards. _________________ Gentoophilus Persicus |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
preeder n00b

Joined: 07 Mar 2023 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2023 8:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
I executed
a second time and the problem went away. _________________ --
Paul |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dpaddy Apprentice

Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 176
|
Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2025 2:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apropos to the webrsync comment of jrbackon, Code: | emerge --ask --verbose --oneshot app-portage/mirrorselect | fails (for me) and will only succeed after . It seems (to me) that webrsync is not optional if one hopes to follow the handbook without problems. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|