Issues after updating @world set on PPC install
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Irontooth
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 1:33 am    Post subject: Issues after updating @world set on PPC install Reply with quote

I am installing Gentoo on a G3 PowerBook (Firewire) - aka Pismo - just looking to extend the life of this beloved bit of hardware.

I am a Gentoo newbie, and am working my way through the installation with various minor questions that I have resolved so far with the Handbook and some trial and error. However, I ran into some issues that have me stumped after updating the @world set. Unfortunately, I don’t see a way to display the information on my screen other than a photo of the screen, and I don’t see a way to attach an image to a post, so here goes with hand-typing what I see:

1) Immediately after the list of packages and Total: statement, there is the following:

Code:
The following USE changes are necessary to proceed:
 (See “package.use” in the portage(5) man page for more details)
# required by dev-lang/spidermonkey-52.9.1_pre1::gentoo
# required by sys-auth/polkit-0.115-r2::gentoo
# required by gnome-extra/polkit-gnome-0.105-r1::gentoo
>=dev-lang/python-2.7.15:2.7 sqlite

Would you like to add these changes to your config files? [Yes/No]

I responded with ‘y’ with the following result:

Code:
Autounmask changes successfully written.

I thought this meant that the issue was resolved, but after the text for Problem 2 (below), there appears the following:

Code:
* In order to avoid wasting time, backtracking has terminated early
* due to the above autounmask change(s). The —autounmask-backtracking=y
* option can be used to force further backtracking, but there is no
* guarantee it that it will produce a solution.

My questions are:

A) Did the immediate problem get resolved automatically, as it would appear from the text?