Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] NetworkManager, DHCP and NTP
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sveyret
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2016
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 1:40 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] NetworkManager, DHCP and NTP Reply with quote

Hello,

I've got a laptop which I can connect to many wired and wi-fi networks. For that reason, I chose to install NetworkManager, which make setting new network rather easy. As suggested by the Wiki, I made NetworkManager run with dhclient (keeping default use flags +dhclient -dhcpcd). All this works well for quite a long time.
Unfortunately, I recently discovered that, even if my networks provide a ntp-servers option with the dhcp, these servers are absolutely not used by my ntp daemon. I saw somewhere that dhclient does not manage ntp-servers. Is that still true? Is there a workaround I can use to update ntp servers? Should I replace NetworkManager with something else?

Thanks in advance for your help.

[Currently using up-to-date Gentoo with profile default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/plasma]
_________________
Stéphane
Gentoo in the Alps…


Last edited by sveyret on Fri Feb 01, 2019 4:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1769
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

At the moment I'm not on one of my laptops running Gentoo (both use NetworkManager, dhclient and NTP) so I can't check right now, but have a look in /etc/dhcp/dhclient.d/ and /etc/NetworkManager/dispatcher.d/ because you can specify/remove NTP servers in hook scripts in those directories. My guess is that it would not be a problem to stop dhclient from forcing an NTP server and to configure NetworkManager to use an NTP server of your choice.
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
OpenRC eudev elogind & KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6756
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 2:24 am    Post subject: Re: NetworkManager, DHCP and NTP Reply with quote

sveyret wrote:
I've got a laptop which I can connect to many wired and wi-fi networks. For that reason, I chose to install NetworkManager, which make setting new network rather easy.


Have you tried dhcpcd-{gtk,qt} alongside wpa_supplicant?
Same effect, a lot less disk space.
Why do you prefer NetworkManager?

And dhcpcd can configure your NTP if you un-comment the option for it in /etc/dhcpcd.conf.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sveyret
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2016
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your reply. I forgot to mention that I also need to connect to a VPN using a NetworkManager plugin (networkmanager-fortisslvpn).

@Fitzcarraldo

If you can give me more information on how to do what you suggest (or a link to a how-to), I'd appreciate.

@UberLord

I used to have wpa_supplicant a few years ago. If I remember well, it was not as easy as NetworkManager to use. I had never heard about dhcpcd-ui, thank you for suggesting. Does it integrate well with plasma? Does either wpa_supplicant or dhcpcd-ui manage VPN? Do you know an easy way to manage Fortinet VPN without using NetworkManager?
_________________
Stéphane
Gentoo in the Alps…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6756
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dhcpcd-qt runs in the system tray.
It does not have any vpn plugins.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1769
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sveyret,

Is this is the sort of thing you're trying to achieve?: https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=537358#37 ( See also https://serverfault.com/a/785797 ).
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
OpenRC eudev elogind & KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sveyret
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2016
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:

It does not have any vpn plugins.


Well, then, probably one day I'll have a deeper look at your solution, because I like when things are light. But for the moment, I will continue with NetworkManager.
Thank you anyway!

Fitzcarraldo wrote:

Is this is the sort of thing you're trying to achieve?


Yes, that's exactly what I needed! Thanks a lot, it's working now! :D
_________________
Stéphane
Gentoo in the Alps…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum