Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1: Illegal instruction : qvulkanfuntions.h
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cinzilla
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2018
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 5:10 pm    Post subject: dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1: Illegal instruction : qvulkanfuntions.h Reply with quote

[Moderator edit: Changed title to try to attract relevant answers. Original title was Problem to install qt4/5 application dev-qt/qtgui coredumped -Hu]

Hello guys

Since my last install of gentoo on my new laptop (see signature for info), I've a probleme when i want install qt4/5 application. When portage want to install dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1 i've got a core dumped error.

Code:
make: *** [Makefile:1551: vulkan/qvulkanfunctions.h] Illegal instruction (core dumped)
make: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
 * ERROR: dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1::gentoo failed (compile phase):
 *   emake failed
 *
 * If you need support, post the output of `emerge --info '=dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1::gentoo'`,
 * the complete build log and the output of `emerge -pqv '=dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1::gentoo'`.
 * The complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1/temp/environment'.
 * Working directory: '/var/tmp/portage/dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1/work/qtbase-everywhere-src-5.11.1/src/gui'
 * S: '/var/tmp/portage/dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1/work/qtbase-everywhere-src-5.11.1'

>>> Failed to emerge dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1, Log file:

>>>  '/var/tmp/portage/dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1/temp/build.log'

 * Messages for package dev-qt/qtcore-5.11.1-r1:

 * Generated gentoo-qconfig.h is empty

 * Messages for package dev-qt/qtxml-5.11.1:

 * Generated gentoo-qconfig.h is empty

 * Messages for package dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1:

 * ERROR: dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1::gentoo failed (compile phase):
 *   emake failed
 *
 * If you need support, post the output of `emerge --info '=dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1::gentoo'`,
 * the complete build log and the output of `emerge -pqv '=dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1::gentoo'`.
 * The complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1/temp/environment'.
 * Working directory: '/var/tmp/portage/dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1/work/qtbase-everywhere-src-5.11.1/src/gui'
 * S: '/var/tmp/portage/dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1/work/qtbase-everywhere-src-5.11.1'

 * GNU info directory index is up-to-date.



If someone could help me it is very embarassing for me thanks a lot
_________________
HP-pavillon i3 3110m + 8Go + ssd 240Go == gentoo profile desktop + systemd + I3wm
USE="lm_sensors dbus systemd dvd alsa cdr xinerama gtk networkmanager -ipv6 -openrc"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 14183

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 5:31 pm    Post subject: Re: Problem to install qt4/5 application dev-qt/qtgui coredu Reply with quote

That is an illegal instruction error. This is typically an indication that your program uses instructions that your CPU does not understand. Unfortunately, you did not post inline the information that we need to help you. Please follow the instructions Portage printed, which you posted.
cinzilla wrote:
Code:
 * If you need support, post the output of `emerge --info '=dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1::gentoo'`,
 * the complete build log and the output of `emerge -pqv '=dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1::gentoo'`.
The build log should probably go in a pastebin. It will likely be too large to post inline.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cinzilla
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2018
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So this my emerge --info

https://framabin.org/p/?b0c94f0799ebb401#DwdJkmX3ojvlYz8i+blX3HQm3468VBcmvAFZKNWHwNM=

and my emerge -pqv

Code:
emerge -pqv '=dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1::gentoo'
[ebuild  N    ] dev-qt/qtgui-5.11.1  USE="dbus egl gif jpeg libinput png udev xcb -accessibility -debug -eglfs -evdev (-gles2) -ibus -test -tslib -tuio -vnc"


I hope my cpu is "compatible" with this package... Sorry for my ugly English
_________________
HP-pavillon i3 3110m + 8Go + ssd 240Go == gentoo profile desktop + systemd + I3wm
USE="lm_sensors dbus systemd dvd alsa cdr xinerama gtk networkmanager -ipv6 -openrc"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22325
Location: here

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can post also full build.log?
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cinzilla
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2018
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The complete build log is here

https://framabin.org/p/?87b61ebe25dab7ae#G0fzJ7yzeeQCqtCejWL4EtAZSnh5AmE3DbMYd/hoxF0=
_________________
HP-pavillon i3 3110m + 8Go + ssd 240Go == gentoo profile desktop + systemd + I3wm
USE="lm_sensors dbus systemd dvd alsa cdr xinerama gtk networkmanager -ipv6 -openrc"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7265
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
CFLAGS="-march=ivybridge -O2 -pipe"

Methinks your CPU is haswell, better yet, use native.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!


Last edited by Jaglover on Sat Jan 19, 2019 7:37 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22325
Location: here

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Code:
CFLAGS="-march=ivybridge -O2 -pipe"

Methinks your CPU is haswell.

Seems correct ivybridge
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7265
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes you are right, my mistake. Anyhow, -march=native is recommended.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1567
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Anyhow, -march=native is recommended.

I agree.
emerge --info wrote:
CPU_FLAGS_X86="mmx mmxext sse sse2"

That's not incorrect, but probably incomplete for your CPU. Install app-portage/cpuid2cpuflags, run
Code:
cpuid2cpuflags

and update your CPU_FLAGS_X86. Either ( update CPU_FLAGS_X86 in /etc/portage/make.conf ) OR ( remove CPU_FLAGS_X86 in /etc/portage/make.conf and follow the guide at https://github.com/mgorny/cpuid2cpuflags ).


Last edited by mike155 on Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:07 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1567
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
Seems correct ivybridge

According to https://ark.intel.com/products/65700/Intel-Core-i3-3110M-Processor-3M-Cache-2-40-GHz, the Intel Core-i3-3110M is an Ivy Bridge CPU.

So why does cinzilla get an Illegal instruction error? If you scroll down the Intel Ark page, you will see:
Code:
Intel® AES New Instructions: No

But the GCC man page and also the output of
Code:
gcc -Q --help=target -march=ivybridge

show that GCC will generate the AES instruction if it is called with '-march=ivybridge'. It's probably not the AES instruction that causes the Illegal instruction error, but there might be more differences between the Intel Core i3 3110M and a 'default' Ivy Bridge processor.

@cinzilla: update your CFLAGS and CPU_FLAGS_X86. Rebuild the toolchain:
Code:
emerge --oneshot gcc binutils glibc

After that, try to emerge dev-qt/qtgui:
Code:
emerge --oneshot dev-qt/qtgui

If you still get the Illegal Instruction error, please tell us.

Otherwise go on and rebuild your world:
Code:
emerge -e @world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum