Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Need help with BCM4360 setup
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
viniciusbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 1:47 pm    Post subject: Need help with BCM4360 setup Reply with quote

Hello!

I'm trying to setup my new BCM4360 wireless PCI card but ifconfig doesn't show my wireless interface. I have emerged the broadcom-sta package.

dmesg: https://pastebin.com/P7g9SBMe
ifconfig: https://pastebin.com/WmZm7rWy
lspci: https://pastebin.com/WUfgEaXa
lsmod: https://pastebin.com/8YziYYrV
uname -a: Linux nolimits 4.12.12-gentoo #21 SMP Mon Jan 14 11:02:00 -02 2019 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-7600K CPU @ 3.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

It seems WL module is already in use. But still no wireless interface showing on ifconfig. I used to have a wlp7s0 interface using the old card.

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22326
Location: here

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In lsmod there is no wl module active
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viniciusbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
In lsmod there is no wl module active


When I try to modprobe wl I get an error: modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'wl': Required key not available

By "wl module is already in use" I meant lspci -k shows the device using the wl module, sorry if I was not clear.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43764
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

viniciusbo,

The kernel you used to generate lspci and the dmesg do not look like the same kernel.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viniciusbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
viniciusbo,

The kernel you used to generate lspci and the dmesg do not look like the same kernel.


That's weird. Could it be because I compiled the new kernel and emerged broadcom-sta before rebooting? I'm gonna reboot it anyway and post those files again. Thanks for noticing this!

Edit: just for curiosity's sake, how could you spot that difference?

Edit 2: I didn't compile a new kernel version, but the same version with the configs broadcom-sta needed.


Last edited by viniciusbo on Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:42 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viniciusbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Updated dmesg: https://pastebin.com/tZp8uHhx
Updated lspci -nnk: https://pastebin.com/bSjW2Zti
Edit: Kernel config: https://pastebin.com/spbdrAzq


Last edited by viniciusbo on Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:50 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viniciusbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tried to reemerge broadcom-sta but modprobe wl still fires the same error and no wireless interface on ifconfig.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viniciusbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm suspecting of CONFIG_MODULE_SIG=y even though CONFIG_MODULE_SIG_ALL=y. I will try disabling CONFIG_MODULE_SIG_FORCE first then the others to see if I can get my wireless working and post back the results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viniciusbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

viniciusbo wrote:
I'm suspecting of CONFIG_MODULE_SIG=y even though CONFIG_MODULE_SIG_ALL=y. I will try disabling CONFIG_MODULE_SIG_FORCE first then the others to see if I can get my wireless working and post back the results.


And that was it guys. Setting CONFIG_MODULE_SIG_FORCE=n did the trick. My wireless interface is back up. Thanks for your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viniciusbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

viniciusbo wrote:
viniciusbo wrote:
I'm suspecting of CONFIG_MODULE_SIG=y even though CONFIG_MODULE_SIG_ALL=y. I will try disabling CONFIG_MODULE_SIG_FORCE first then the others to see if I can get my wireless working and post back the results.


And that was it guys. Setting CONFIG_MODULE_SIG_FORCE=n did the trick. My wireless interface is back up. Thanks for your help!


It seems emerge @module-rebuild could also solve that problem. But that config is not required for me so I'll just leave it that way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum