Intel 8400/B360 Has many problems - same with H370 + QVL RAM
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
seansmr
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 2:06 pm    Post subject: Intel 8400/B360 Has many problems - same with H370 + QVL RAM Reply with quote

I am not really sure if I should have put this is kernel and hardware, since it is not a specific question. I am not even sure if anyone can help. However, short of switching to Windows or AMD I have no ideas.
My question is: Should I be able to solve these problems or should I buy AMD instead?

I have been using Gentoo since 2005 and I have had a system that worked perfectly for over a decade, until the latest hardware failed. This has had its CHOST changed twice. I also have a desktop, Core2 that is 9 years old, but failing, but Gentoo still works great on it. Gentoo on a Raspberry Pi, works better than Raspbian.

Now I have an Intel 8400 on an ASUS B360M motherboard and I have had no end to troubles with it. I have never been able to use it fully, I have to be careful with what I do, of stuff doesn't work and at worst I lose unsaved work and require a power off. I have never had a situation where I lost any data on a system with Gentoo installed.

Before I spend any time on each issue, I just wanted to know if there were known problems with the CPU or hardware.

What I really want to do is buy 2 more of the same for work and copy the installation in order to save time. But I can't put a system this unreliable at work.

The problems are so disparate that I can't begin to think of a solution. From most significant to least, they are: