Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Possible change of desktop language by accident
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
A.S. Pushkin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Nov 2002
Posts: 307
Location: dx/dt, dy/dt, dz/dt, t

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 6:01 pm    Post subject: Possible change of desktop language by accident Reply with quote

I was tinkering with settings and I may have altered either keyboard layout
or language. When I try to login at sddm it fails, but a possible clue is that the login is from the right rather than the left.

If I open a console I am still able to login to my user. I'm running Plasma on that box. So I'm
unsure if it is the language or keyboard that is the issue. As the characters enter from the right side
I wonder if they language/keyboard was changed to Hebrew or Arabic or if that would even be the case.
Just the same, I would like to switch back to the default, which is English on this computer.
I assume that some config file should make that work, but searching for one has not given me the
results I want.

TIA
_________________
ASPushkin

"In a time of universal deceit - telling the truth is a revolutionary act." -- George Orwell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1755
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using systemd or OpenRC? When you write that you were tinkering with settings, do you mean tinkering in Plasma or with the locale commands via the console? What exactly did you tinker with?

If you can login to the console, what do the following two commands return?:
Code:
$ locale
$ locale -a

Also have a look at the contents of the file ~/.config/plasma-localerc in case it specifies a different locale, and change it if necessary.
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 OpenRC elogind nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 OpenRC elogind xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
A.S. Pushkin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Nov 2002
Posts: 307
Location: dx/dt, dy/dt, dz/dt, t

PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2018 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I normally run openRC on Gentoo, and that box is also openRC but openSUSE.
Sorry, by tinker I mean try to edit config files.

#locale
LANG=EN_us.utf-8
LC_CTYPE="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_NUMERIC="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_TIME="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_COLLATE="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_MONETARY="en_US.UTF-8"
LS_MESSAGES="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_PAPER="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_NAME="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_ADDRESS="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_TELEPHONE="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_MEASUREMENT="en_US.UTF-8"
LS_IDENTIFICATION="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_ALL="en_US.UTF-8"[/size]

and #locale -a yields too many to list here.

plasma-localerc
[Formats]
Lang-en_US.UTF-8

[Translation]
LANGUAGE=

I have been looking at all the Plasma config files, but may not look at enough?

Thank you!
_________________
ASPushkin

"In a time of universal deceit - telling the truth is a revolutionary act." -- George Orwell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1755
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2018 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A.S. Pushkin wrote:
I normally run openRC on Gentoo, and that box is also openRC but openSUSE.

If you are posting about a problem in openSUSE, shouldn't this thread be in the Unsupported Software Forum?

Doesn't openSUSE use systemd these days? Did you modify the openSUSE installation to use OpenRC?

I don't use openSUSE, so I'm not sure if it has any differences or peculiarities vis-à-vis locale or Plasma, but your file ~/.config/plasma-localerc does not assign the language variable, so the first thing I would try would be to assign the LANGUAGE variable in the file:

Code:
[Formats]
LANG=en_US.UTF-8

[Translations]
LANGUAGE=en_US

Also, the following line in the output for locale that you posted is wrong:
Code:
LANG=EN_us.utf-8

It should be:
Code:
LANG=en_US.UTF-8

I think you need to set the locale properly. The commands to do that are listed in the Gentoo Wiki's localization guide:

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Localization/Guide
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 OpenRC elogind nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 OpenRC elogind xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum