Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
# Generated by net-scripts for interface lo - but static ip!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ccgllc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jul 2018
Posts: 8
Location: NE Missouri

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:51 pm    Post subject: # Generated by net-scripts for interface lo - but static ip! Reply with quote

Hi all -

Have a weird thing happening on a fairly newly installed box (about 30 days ago, lite usage).

Every time I reboot, my resolv.conf is being re-written. I understand this is normal behavior if I was running a dhcp client, but I'm not!

Code:
avalon ~ # cat /etc/conf.d/net
dns_domain_lo="slan.carpenter-farms.us"
config_eth0="172.16.4.15 netmask 255.255.252.0"
routes_eth0="default via 172.16.4.1"


Code:
avalon /etc/init.d # ls
agetty            hostname           mysql-s6            root
apache2           hwclock            mysql-supervise     rsyncd
binfmt            iptables           net-online          runsvdir
bootmisc          keymaps            net.eth0            s6-svscan
busybox-ntpd      killprocs          net.lo              savecache
busybox-watchdog  kmod-static-nodes  netmount            sshd
cgroups           local              nullmailer          swap
consolefont       localmount         numlock             swclock
cronie            loopback           opentmpfiles-dev    sysctl
devfs             lvm                opentmpfiles-setup  sysfs
device-mapper     lvm-monitoring     osclock             sysklogd
dmesg             lvmetad            procfs              termencoding
dmeventd          modules            pydoc-2.7           udev
fsck              mount-ro           pydoc-3.6           udev-settle
functions.sh      mtab               redis               udev-trigger
git-daemon        mysql              redis-sentinel      urandom


Code:
avalon /etc/runlevels/default # ls
apache2  local  mysql  net.eth0  netmount  redis  rsyncd  sshd  sysklogd


Note the system boots just fine and assigns the static address.

I know I'm getting old, but what am I missing? Been using Gentoo since at least the 2.2 kernel, first time I've seen this.

System is about 35 days out of sync, fixing that now.
_________________
Linux since 0.96 kernel on a 4 floppy slackware distribution
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6935
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah I think openrc will muck with your resolv.conf on startup, because you can specify your dns servers in /etc/conf.d/net by setting
Code:
dns_servers_YOURINTERFACE="8.8.8.8"

Is there something you wish not to be removed? Perhaps we can find a way to make openrc generate the right resolv.conf each reboot.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ccgllc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jul 2018
Posts: 8
Location: NE Missouri

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
Yeah I think openrc will muck with your resolv.conf on startup, because you can specify your dns servers in /etc/conf.d/net by setting
Code:
dns_servers_YOURINTERFACE="8.8.8.8"

Is there something you wish not to be removed? Perhaps we can find a way to make openrc generate the right resolv.conf each reboot.


Since the box is statically linked, I'd prefer if it didn't remove anything, which is the way it worked for years.

Otherwise, I'll need a way to set not just the dns_servers, but other resolve.conf records such as "search". End result will hopefully look like:

Code:

domain slan.carpenter-farms.us
search lan.carpenter-farms.us carpenter-farms.us
nameserver 172.16.4.2
nameserver 8.8.8.8
nameserver 8.8.4.4


I have dozens of gentoo based servers (and dozens more created over the years), this is the only one I'm seeing this behavior with.

Thanks!
_________________
Linux since 0.96 kernel on a 4 floppy slackware distribution
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6935
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Something like this should do, though you may need to add interface name...
Code:
dns_servers="172.16.4.2 8.8.8.8 8.8.4.4"
dns_search="lan.carpenter-farms.us carpenter-farms.us"
dns_domain="slan.carpenter-farms.us"

_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ccgllc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jul 2018
Posts: 8
Location: NE Missouri

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This worked, but honestly seems completely redundant with just leaving the original file alone and letting DHCPD modify it if its running. I'm struggling to think of anything else that modifies configuration files in /etc at boot time.

Code:
dns_domain_lo="slan.carpenter-farms.us"
dns_servers_lo="172.16.4.2 8.8.8.8 8.8.4.4"
dns_search_lo="lan.carpenter-farms.us carpenter-farms.us"
config_eth0="172.16.4.15 netmask 255.255.252.0"
routes_eth0="default via 172.16.4.1"


In any case, thanks for your help!
_________________
Linux since 0.96 kernel on a 4 floppy slackware distribution
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6935
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 11:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, have to go with the flow or fight it, but if you choose the latter, you're on your own... Some people start using workarounds (/etc/resolve.conf.head, /etc/resolv.conf.tail) to get around it, and yet others esoteric methods to prevent it (immutable flag.)

I wouldn't call it totally "redundant" but rather keeping all configuration in one spot. Advantages and disadvantages to everything as usual.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13033

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to the documentation, you caused this by defining DNS parameters for interface lo. If you remove all DNS related parameters from /etc/conf.d/net, it should cease rewriting /etc/resolv.conf.
net.example.bz2:
# System
# For configuring system specifics such as domain, dns, ntp and nis servers
# It's rare that you would need todo this, but you can anyway.

# If you omit the _eth0 suffix, then it applies to all interfaces unless
# overridden by the interface suffix.
#dns_domain_eth0="your.domain"
#dns_servers_eth0="192.168.0.2 192.168.0.3"
#dns_search_eth0="this.domain that.domain"
#dns_options_eth0="timeout:1 rotate"
#dns_sortlist_eth0="130.155.160.0/255.255.240.0 130.155.0.0"
# See the man page for resolv.conf for details about the options and sortlist
# directives

# NOTE: Setting any of these will stamp on the files in question. So if you
# don't specify dns_servers but you do specify dns_domain then no nameservers
# will be listed in /etc/resolv.conf even if there were any there to start
# with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ccgllc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jul 2018
Posts: 8
Location: NE Missouri

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fair enough, just find it odd that this is behaving this way on only one of my dozen Gentoo systems.

Creating the dns_domain_lo record is part of the Gentoo AMD Handbook, which I always follow:

Code:
root #nano -w /etc/conf.d/net
# Set the dns_domain_lo variable to the selected domain name
dns_domain_lo="homenetwork"


If this is standard behavior, I'd expect the DNS server setting should be added to the handbook.

Regarding keeping all configurations in one place... that is what /etc is for. We don't configure NTP in /etc/conf.d, we don't configure Rsync in /etc/conf.d, we don't configure Bind in /etc/conf.d, we don't configure fstab in /etc/conf.d...
_________________
Linux since 0.96 kernel on a 4 floppy slackware distribution
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6935
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

However this is all network related... It is frustrating that you configure the IP address and the networking still doesn't work because no resolutions go through. Come to think of it, the default route is typically set up with a different command, and in the olden days usually a different file... and now openrc tries to consolidate that.

Dang,.. I've forgotten what file default routes used to be stored in. Now I only remember how to actually override it by command line...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ccgllc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jul 2018
Posts: 8
Location: NE Missouri

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
However this is all network related... It is frustrating that you configure the IP address and the networking still doesn't work because no resolutions go through. Come to think of it, the default route is typically set up with a different command, and in the olden days usually a different file... and now openrc tries to consolidate that.

Dang,.. I've forgotten what file default routes used to be stored in. Now I only remember how to actually override it by command line...


That has been in /etc/conf.d/net for several years now.
_________________
Linux since 0.96 kernel on a 4 floppy slackware distribution
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6935
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But ask about other distributions...it's not consistent. They have historically been placed in different files. OpenRC got a better solution IMHO.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13033

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 1:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ccgllc wrote:
Fair enough, just find it odd that this is behaving this way on only one of my dozen Gentoo systems.
Are all those systems statically addressed? If dhcp is also in use on those other systems, it would replace the forced entries with information from the DHCP server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum