Updating wm8753 codec
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Circuits
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 8:23 pm    Post subject: Updating wm8753 codec Reply with quote

I am new to these forums but by chance I stumbled across this thread: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-842411-start-50.html while searching for solutions to my problem. Let it be known that I am more of a software guy than a hardware guy but as fate would have it my first hardware experience is updating an EOL codec with one that is still in production. Essentially, I am working on a legacy kernel (2.6.35.14) with legacy systems and I am rather new to Linux in general so it has been a double struggle for me to get this far. Specifically, one of our legacy products audio codec is no longer sold but the product itself is still being sold. So the hardware boys decided to replace the EOL codec () with the codec and its up to me to get it working.

After some time an effort (never configured a Linux kernel before) I have figured out how to get my wm8750 configured s/t the kernel see's it. I have also started messing around with the old machine or "glue" driver for the EOL codec in an attempt to make it work for the new codec. I think I have it but apparently not?? After making changes to the machine driver and building the kernel I tried booting up the system and I logged the process. I am getting the following error in my log:

Hardware is initialized using a guess method
alsactl: set_control:1255: failed to obtain info for control #2 (No such file or directory)
alsactl: set_control:1255: failed to obtain info for control #6 (No such file or directory)
alsactl: set_control:1255: failed to obtain info for control #7 (No such file or directory)

it goes on attempting this set_control quite a few more times.