Building the new sway 1.0 alpha from source
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
AnukWolf
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 1:51 pm    Post subject: Building the new sway 1.0 alpha from source Reply with quote

Hey everyone!

First of all, I'm really really new to Gentoo, so pardon my missing experience :D
Coming from Arch to Gentoo to find a more thought-out, well made distro and I really like it so far.

On Arch, I had the newest 1.0 alpha 6 version of sway installed via AUR.
It worked really well and I'd like to replicate this setup on Gentoo as well, if possible.

I already informed myself a bit about ebuilds and how they're written, and to me it seems like,
since the newest sway-9999 in Gentoo reps isn't exactly pointing to the much newer v1.0-alpha6 source,
I'll have to write my own ebuilds for that.

For now, I also looked into what packages I can source straight from the stable/testing repositories, and which ones are still missing.
I'm running a Gentoo 17.0 amd64 install straight from the handbook, if that's of any interest.

swaywm/sway dependencies:

• dev-util/meson
  • dev-libs/wayland
  • dev-libs/libinput >= 1.6.0
  • x11-libs/pango
  • x11-libs/cairo
  • x11-libs/gdk-pixbuf *
  • sys-libs/pam **
  • sys-apps/dbus >= 1.10 ***
  • app-text/scdoc (requires ~amd64)
  • sys-libs/libcap

Not found:
  • wlroots
  • xwayland
  • pcre
  • json-c >= 0.13 (only found 0.12)

swaywm/wlroots dependencies:

• dev-util/meson
  • dev-libs/wayland
  • dev-libs/wayland-protocols
  • x11-libs/libdrm
  • dev-libs/libinput
  • x11-libs/libxkbcommon
  • sys-fs/udev
  • x11-libs/pixman
  • sys-apps/systemd or sys-auth/elogind (optional, for logind support)
  • sys-libs/libcap (optional, for capability support)

Not found/not sure:
  • EGL
  • GLESv2 (apparently EGL and GLESv2 are built into mesa?)
  • GBM (also mesa?)