Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
what's more important when it comes to compiling (hardware)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mightysilentsaint
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2018 6:27 am    Post subject: what's more important when it comes to compiling (hardware) Reply with quote

i've been using linux environments as my daily driver for the last 6 years starting with ubuntu when i was 14, moved to mint and used mint for 2 years then moved to arch and been using it ever since until i moved to gentoo 3 months ago.

i currently am using a g3258 overclocked to 4.2ghz core and 4ghz uncore, it has 2 cores and no ht/smt. it scores 4600 single and 7700 multi core on geekbench. it takes me 14 hours to completely install/compile my gentoo system, the entirety of it with every bit of software i need. i don't use firefox/chromium or libreoffice so it doesn't take a lot of time compared to the ones where said programs get compiled.

fx-6300 has 3 modules and each module contains 2 cores with every core having their individual l1 cache but l2 and l3 cache is shared. as bulldozer/vishera has really low ipc, it scores less than a 6-core chip on benchmarks, has really low single core score but has 6 threads. it scores around 2200 single and 7-8k multi-threaded on geekbench4, similar to my g3258 at 4.2/4ghz.

my question starts here, will it be beneficial to my compiling time if i were to change my setup to an fx-6300? it has 6 threads (4 threads more) but scores similar to my dual core chip. is thread count really important compared to overall multi-threaded performance? i don't have any multitasking problems with my dual core system as linux/unix-like environments aren't hard on system resources unlike windows, i rarely use more than 2.5 gigs of ddr3 so ram is not the issue here.