Hello Gentoo forum
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
death-magnet
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2022 2:23 pm    Post subject: Hello Gentoo forum Reply with quote

New Gentoo user here. I say new, been tinkering with it a few weeks. Been using gnu/linux off and on since the mid 90s. Yes, I'm old.

I registered here to ask a question but figured out the answer before I could actually post it.

I really like the forum here and the wiki. Both are excellent sources of information. Thanks to the community for making this an excellent resource.

I am not much of a contributor of programming stuff, but I do expect I'll end up as one of the helpers around here. I usually do. I was a teacher before and I'm good at explaining stuff. For now though I'm in learning mode.

For the past I'm not really sure how long actually I've been using debian based distros. A bit of hopping around here and there, with my /home on a separate partition it's rather simple to do.

What pushed me over the edge to Gentoo was an experience installing some...package. I don't remember what it was but it wanted to pull in 40+ additional packages most of which were related to cups and various printer drivers and other printer things.

I don't own a printer.

Why should a program want printer stuff when I don't have a printer, don't want a printer, and won't ever need to print anything? Just wasted space for crap I'll never use.

Between that, and my computer getting up there in years and mainstream support for its hardware is falling off bit by bit, I figured Gentoo might be the thing I've been looking for.

I want to build a gnu/linux system my way. With the stuff that I need and nothing I don't. Gentoo for the most part has let me do that. Except webkit. For some reason even running -webkit and -gnome, MATE still pulled it in. :roll: