Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
SDDM/X11 won't start until network is up or timeouts
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
frli8848
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2018 6:11 am    Post subject: SDDM/X11 won't start until network is up or timeouts Reply with quote

Hi All,

After updating gentoo and KDE a couple of weeks ago SDDM won't start until the network is up or timeouts. This means it takes several minutes too boot (my two laptops) when I have no ethernet connected. I'm running:

Plasma 5.13.5
Frameworks 5.50.0
Qt 5.11.1
Kernel 4.18.7

Is there a setting where I can make X start immediately (without waiting for an IP)?

/Fredrik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bec
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 216
Location: Cali - Colombia

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try putting services elogind, xdm in the boot runlevel.

consolekit instead of elogind if you are using systemd!
_________________
abe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mega_flow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jun 2016
Posts: 30
Location: Belgium, Maasmechelen

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Fredrik
like u i got a slowdown when booting after upgrading plasma.
when shifting tty and typing on the keyboard . sddm seems to start faster
After a look to dmesg i saw this line . To slow down the boot
Code:
random: crng init done


A Google search told me this 2 apps "rng-tools" and "haveged". To make crng init faster
rng-tools work but give error on starting the app. haveged work fine for me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ralphred
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Dec 2013
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the 3rd time I've seen this on the forums now.
All seems related to this commit.

If you have /dev/hwrng then installing rng-tools with /etc/init.d/rngd in your boot runlevel and /etc/conf.d/rngd set as
Code:
DEVICE=/dev/hwrng

If you get read errors on boot then set
Code:
NO_TPM=1
NO_DRNG=1
If you only get 1 read error then you'll have to experiment to see which it is.

If you have no /dev/hwrng then you can set DEVICE=/dev/urandom for a really nasty hack to get round it, or try the OP's last post in this thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1636
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bec wrote:
consolekit instead of elogind if you are using systemd!

bec, do I understand you correctly? If you are telling the OP he must use consolekit if he is using systemd, that is incorrect. If an installation is using systemd, consolekit must not be installed (and neither must elogind, as you correctly stated). systemd-logind caters for all that:

freedesktop.org wrote:
systemd's logind service obsoletes ConsoleKit which was previously widely used on Linux distributions.

https://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Software/systemd/writing-display-managers/
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 OpenRC elogind nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 OpenRC elogind xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bec
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 216
Location: Cali - Colombia

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fitzcarraldo wrote:
bec wrote:
consolekit instead of elogind if you are using systemd!

bec, do I understand you correctly? If you are telling the OP he must use consolekit if he is using systemd, that is incorrect. If an installation is using systemd, consolekit must not be installed (and neither must elogind, as you correctly stated). systemd-logind caters for all that:

freedesktop.org wrote:
systemd's logind service obsoletes ConsoleKit which was previously widely used on Linux distributions.

https://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Software/systemd/writing-display-managers/


No consolekit when using systemd as Fitzcarraldo corrects me!
_________________
abe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cbxd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mega_flow wrote:
Hi Fredrik
like u i got a slowdown when booting after upgrading plasma.
when shifting tty and typing on the keyboard . sddm seems to start faster
After a look to dmesg i saw this line . To slow down the boot
Code:
random: crng init done


A Google search told me this 2 apps "rng-tools" and "haveged". To make crng init faster
rng-tools work but give error on starting the app. haveged work fine for me


Hi,
That's exactly what my issue was: xdm would take a long time until starting eventually. Hitting a key in another tty would speed up xdm start. I have just reinstalled Gentoo.
In my case, I only needed to install haveged and add it to boot with:
Code:
rc-update add haveged boot


Now xdm and sddm start right away as expected.

Thanks a lot.

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frli8848
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2018 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cbxd wrote:
mega_flow wrote:
Hi Fredrik
like u i got a slowdown when booting after upgrading plasma.
when shifting tty and typing on the keyboard . sddm seems to start faster
After a look to dmesg i saw this line . To slow down the boot
Code:
random: crng init done


A Google search told me this 2 apps "rng-tools" and "haveged". To make crng init faster
rng-tools work but give error on starting the app. haveged work fine for me


Hi,
That's exactly what my issue was: xdm would take a long time until starting eventually. Hitting a key in another tty would speed up xdm start. I have just reinstalled Gentoo.
In my case, I only needed to install haveged and add it to boot with:
Code:
rc-update add haveged boot


Now xdm and sddm start right away as expected.

Thanks a lot.

Chris


Installing haveged solved it for me too! Thanks!

I had this problem on two 2013 MacBooks (an Air and a Pro), that is, unless I had an Apple thunderbolt ethernet dongle connected or an Apple Thunderbolt Display?! Connecting a USB ethernet dongle did not help.

/Fredrik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum