Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Get static IPV6 address when your ISP doesn't provide them?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
1clue
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 2511

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 8:43 pm    Post subject: Get static IPV6 address when your ISP doesn't provide them? Reply with quote

Hi,

My ISP has IPV6 support but they don't support a static address on IPV6. My actual allocated address moves periodically, so it's not just a theoretical problem.

I'd like to have a static IPV6 address as a VPN endpoint. The dynamic DNS servers often leave me with a mismatch for an hour or so after the IP switches, and while it's rare it happens, and when it does I can't do my job.

I was thinking about maybe shooting for something from Hurricane Electric, and then tunnel there. But I don't see a 6to6 tunnel howto anywhere.

I'd like to know if I'm missing something?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guitou
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 389
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2018 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello.
Maybe you could check your dynamic DNS service settings for TTL: default must be 3600 (s / 1H). Setting this to 300 for example would reduce mismatch time to max 5 minutes in case of IP switch.

++
Gi)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1clue
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 2511

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2018 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll check it out.

I'm curious though, that with everything IPV6 supposedly automatic that there might be something I don't know about? The DDNS thing is just an example of awkwardness in IPV6. From the client end it's simple and straightforward, but auto-configuration of any aspect of a server gets trouble.

While this is off topic, existing services like firewall rules could possibly follow auto-configuration if they used MAC addresses as one possible qualifier in rules. That clearly doesn't fit well with multiple IPs per NIC but I think a generic case could be made for a dual-stack device with a single NIC and auto-configuration and a desire for the same rules in all addresses, which I think covers 90%+ of all cases. Only wiring a web server, DNS, etc that way might get crazy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2018 2:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You must be missing something.
As soon as you are allocated a new address, register it with dynamic DNS.
The *old* address should not have expired yet but is probably deprecated for new connections (this is fine btw).

If you use dhcpcd, you can script dhcpcd.exit-hook to register dynamic DNS for each reason ROUTERADVERT.

Good luck!
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1clue
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 2511

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2018 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's an interesting idea. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum