Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Kicad no libraries
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
andrewwalker27
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 660

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2018 2:06 pm    Post subject: Kicad no libraries Reply with quote

I've decided to abandon Eagle due to Aoutodesk's takeover and thought I'd try to get to grips with Kicad. As version 5 is now out, and it looks a bit better that older versions,I tried the tutorial but I'm stuck at the first hurdle!
I've created a new project and opened the schema and a requester popped up about a symbol library table so I picked the default 'copy default global symbol library table' as recommended but nothing appears in the library when I go to add a component.
I've installed the kicad-meta-5.0.0 so it all should be there and the libraries seem to exist in /usr/share/kicad/library but nothing appears. I've checked the path and the following exists

KICAD_SYMBOL_DIR /usr/share/kicad/library

So it should work.
When I go to 'manage symbol libraries/global libraries/' it shows /home/fred/.config/sym-lib-table, I'm assuming this is my user config file, can I edit this to point to the correct place?
Is there a more simple fix? The kicad forums are full of these problems but no definitive answer as most of them refer to version 4, does anyone have any solutions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54244
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2018 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

andrewwalker27,

kicad has been modularised.
Code:
$ eix kicad
* app-doc/kicad-doc
     Available versions:  4.0.7 (~)4.0.7-r1 (~)5.0.0 {html +pdf L10N="ca de en es fr id it ja nl pl"}
     Homepage:            http://www.kicad-pcb.org/
     Description:         Electronic Schematic and PCB design tools manuals

* sci-electronics/kicad
     Available versions:  4.0.7 (~)5.0.0 {debug doc examples github i18n libressl minimal +ngspice +oce +python L10N="bg ca cs de el es fi fr hu it ja ko nl pl pt ru sk sl sv zh-CN" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7"}
     Homepage:            http://www.kicad-pcb.org
     Description:         Electronic Schematic and PCB design tools

* sci-electronics/kicad-footprints
     Available versions:  (~)5.0.0
     Homepage:            https://kicad.github.io/footprints/
     Description:         Electronic Schematic and PCB design tools footprint libraries

* sci-electronics/kicad-i18n
     Available versions:  (~)5.0.0
     Homepage:            https://github.com/KiCad/kicad-i18n
     Description:         Electronic Schematic and PCB design tools GUI translations.

* sci-electronics/kicad-meta
     Available versions:  (~)5.0.0 {doc nls}
     Homepage:            http://www.kicad-pcb.org
     Description:         Electronic Schematic and PCB design tools (meta package)

* sci-electronics/kicad-packages3d
     Available versions:  (~)5.0.0
     Homepage:            https://kicad.github.io/packages3d/
     Description:         Electronic Schematic and PCB design tools 3D package libraries

* sci-electronics/kicad-symbols
     Available versions:  (~)5.0.0
     Homepage:            https://kicad.github.io/symbols/
     Description:         Electronic Schematic and PCB design tools symbol libraries

* sci-electronics/kicad-templates
     Available versions:  (~)5.0.0
     Homepage:            https://github.com/kicad/kicad-templates
     Description:         Electronic Schematic and PCB design tools project templates

Found 8 matches

Do you have all the bits you need?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrewwalker27
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 660

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, all were pulled in by the kicad-meta package.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 6051
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just checked my kicad setup. I have a locally cloned instance of the git libraries to keep them up to date.

KICAD_SYMBOLS_DIR = home/.../kicad_sources/kicad-symbols
KISYS3DMOD = home/.../kicad_sources/kicad-packages3D


I just installed the meta and pointed back to

KICAD_SYMBOLS_DIR /usr/share/kicad/library/
KICAD_TEMPLATE_DIR /usr/share/kicad/template
KISYS3DMOD /usr/share/kicad/modules/packages3d/
KISYSMOD /usr/share/kicad/modules

I had to remove and re-add within PCBnew for the 3d pretty files but apart from that, all appers fine.

can you see any symbols?

from within Eeschema under symbols library, does it list the libraries?
_________________
Quote:
Removed by Chiitoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrewwalker27
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 660

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems that sym-lib-table doesn't get populated for some reason, all I have in /home/user/.config/kicad/sym-lib-table is one line
Code:
(sym_lib_table
)

despite selecting the option to copy the default libraries. I've got another Gentoo box that it seemed to work correctly on so I'll just copy the file over and hope that works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrewwalker27
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 660

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Damn, fixed that problem, now no footprints! Looks like a failure of everything to do with libraries. Is there any way to rerun the script which copies the libraries? I'd like to run it through a console to see why it's failing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 6051
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

why not just delete the .config/kicad directory and let kicad repopulate aspects of it
Then you can go into kicad + eeschema + pcbnew and add the relevant directories/files
_________________
Quote:
Removed by Chiitoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrewwalker27
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 660

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2018 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That was the first thing I tried with exactly the same result, no libraries or footprints!
I've solved it by copying /usr/share/kicad/template/fp-lib-table and /usr/share/kicad/template/sym-lib-table by hand to my home directory ~/.config/kicad/ and it's now ok. No idea why it didn't do this itself though!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 2062
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

andrewwalker27 wrote:
That was the first thing I tried with exactly the same result, no libraries or footprints!
I've solved it by copying /usr/share/kicad/template/fp-lib-table and /usr/share/kicad/template/sym-lib-table by hand to my home directory ~/.config/kicad/ and it's now ok. No idea why it didn't do this itself though!


Thanks for this.
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum