Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ncurses apps in gtk2 lxterminal
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PCmaniaK
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 5:31 pm    Post subject: ncurses apps in gtk2 lxterminal Reply with quote

My LXDE lxterminal-0.3.1 built with USE=gtk2 (default) displays incorrect ncurses pseudo-graphics. Borders drawing is broken. alsamixer and menuconfig look funny, htop is ok (no borders at all) and that's all ncurses apps I have. USE=gtk3 solves the problem.

Is it me only or a bug in lxterminal?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linear
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Greetings,

Well, from what I see, it looks like the USE="gtk2" flag has been dropped from lxterminal:

Code:
tech8 ~ $ emerge -pv lxterminal

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] lxde-base/lxterminal-0.3.1::gentoo  USE="-gtk3" 0 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB

 * IMPORTANT: 1 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news read to view new items.

tech8 ~ $


HTH. Let us know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PCmaniaK
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Absolutely right. Thank you for pointing out. My initial post should read:
"My LXDE lxterminal-0.3.1 built with gtk2 (default) displays incorrect ncurses pseudo-graphics."
Sorry for confusion
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Leio
Developer
Developer


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 480
Location: Estonia

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a known problem with gtk2 vte SLOT - https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=542087
A PR added gtk3 support with that reasoning as well - https://github.com/gentoo/gentoo/pull/1323

gtk2 is used if USE=-gtk3, contrary to the policies of gtk+ maintainers.
_________________
GNOME team lead; GStreamer; MIPS/ARM64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum