Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
32/64 bits: what to choose for old laptop?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6862
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I took a chunk out of my SSD's life trying to compile I believe it was webkit or qt. I only had 3 processes going on this dual core (-j3) with 2GB RAM, and it was swapping quite a bit though it was kind of hard to notice since it swaps fairly quickly.

The SSD is now probably getting close to a decade old, and I just hit... 1% lifetime usage (it's now about 30 erase cycles on the MLC). Portage_tmpdir is on the SSD as well. That last huge batch update I did on this SSD took around ~2 erase cycles to complete, and the swapping was a good chunk of it... and having to restart broken merges kills...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
josephg
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jan 2016
Posts: 777
Location: usually offline

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that's why i have -gk in make.conf on my netbook
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6552
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2018 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My solution to this problem is building in NFS chroot. Puts minimal load to the hardware, except the NIC. No 32 bit here.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
josephg
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jan 2016
Posts: 777
Location: usually offline

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2018 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that's interesting.. i wonder if you can cross compile arm in nfs chroot from intel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6862
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2018 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually build memory use isn't the problem, the fact that build memory use is high, all other operations on that computer like running Firefox, etc., is also high, and performance will suffer likewise.

However if you still do not completely use up all your RAM, then maybe things are okay. I just felt that amd64 2GB machine even when not compiling seemed to use up all RAM well before my x86 machine did with 2GB RAM.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
josephg
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jan 2016
Posts: 777
Location: usually offline

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2018 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

one of the reasons i still continue with 32bit on all my systems
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1clue
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 2402

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IMO Gentoo is not happy in 2 GiB no matter what. I think that anything under 4 and you want to have a compiler farm with bigger hardware somewhere on your network.

I have successfully installed Gentoo on a Raspberry Pi B+ without the compiler farm, but when I was done I pretty much trashed it as it would be a full-time job just to do updates on it.
_________________
You can't fix yourself by breaking someone else.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6862
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried chrooting into my nfs mounted Atom from my i7...

When I tried running 'emerge' I got greeted with:
Code:
/tmp # chroot /mnt0
/ # emerge
Illegal instruction (core dumped)
/ # exit

No idea where it dumped core...

I still sort of update a 1GB P-m, it's still tolerable but swaps quite a bit. Less than 1GB I don't even try.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tribute58
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Oct 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm running Gentoo with 64bit kernel + userspace on an Acer Aspire One D255 (Atom N550 1.5GHz dualcore + HT with max 2GB Ram). And it works!

The only problematic package, in case of ram, is chromium. It didn't respect -jn and ran with at least 8 threads, if I remember correctly. Maybe one can override it... I didn't dig into this as I use firefox, which compiles just fine.

My make.conf uses march=native -O2 pipe and -j2! Running updates over night is not a problem as long as you don't try to experiment with LTO.

The only bin package I'm using is LibreOffice, but thats a question of CPU performance...

I don't think -Os helps, neither compiling nor running programs, but I never checked that. Of course, it reduces the instruction memory footprint, but has no influence on data, so the overall gain will be negligible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6862
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My Atom 32 bit with 2GB RAM is still chugging away at updates. It was compiling rust when I looked at it last night, and is STILL compiling rust this morning...
Code:
atom /tmp # uname -a
Linux atom 4.9.95-gentoo #1 SMP Mon Jun 18 21:51:25 MDT 2018 i686 Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU N270 @ 1.60GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
atom /tmp # qlop -c
 * dev-lang/rust-1.29.1
     started: Sat Oct 13 20:34:01 2018
     elapsed: 12 hours, 53 minutes, 11 seconds

CPU limited not RAM limited I think, though I don't quite get how rustc allocates memory. It appears to be multithreaded but once I caught it pretty much using all RAM but didn't touch swap.

I did notice rustc use more than 2 threads on my quad core machines, so it must have some internal thread usage limitation. The current rustc execution has a resident size of 1.2GB, though I saw 1.5GB last night.

I switched over to swapping onto a USB HDD just in case, but current swap usage is 0.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cord
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Apr 2007
Posts: 291

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How long dev-qt/qtwebkit compilation took?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6862
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have qtwebkit or webkit-gtk installed on this machine, plus sometimes I have distcc working and sometimes not, so hard to tell which merges were done under what circumstances.

Also not sure why I have a few entries with really short merge times, but this one is probably accurate:

rust: Sat Oct 13 20:27:49 2018: 57930 seconds

Gcc is bad too, this is 7.3:
gcc: Sat Oct 13 09:19:24 2018: 27702 seconds

32-bit -- so far, neither package swaps while building using MAKEOPTS=-j2 (since this Atom is a dual thread machine.) on 2GB.

The 64-bit setup seems more swappy with the same amount of RAM. Alas overall speed is faster for the 64-bit because that's a Core2 Duo which is many times faster than the dual thread single core Atom.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
n05ph3r42
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Jul 2016
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cord:
As for hardware RAM limitations - i suggest to try other RAM, better of same manufacturer, same as soldered on your mb. Mostly this "limitations" is only in specifications.

Also you can try https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Distcc to speedup compilation, if you have other machines on your network.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tribute58
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Oct 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
The 64-bit setup seems more swappy with the same amount of RAM.


You're right, measuring absolute numbers, but the difference is negligible. I started with a 32 bit System, but soon made the step to 64 bit, because the extra Ram usage is much less than often communicated. Using a lightweight DE and activating only necessary services, plugins, ... is important.

cord wrote:
How long dev-qt/qtwebkit compilation took?


You can't compare that to your system. eccerr0rs system has one physical core, mine has two (as yours has), but both have much less IPC than your C2D. So if swapping doesn't occur, you're compile times will be seriously faster than ours.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6862
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BTW, portage/"emerge" uses ~500MB of RAM on an amd64 box I'm updating right now (2GB RAM) ... a quarter of its RAM is used by portage for emerge!

I suspect I'm not comparing apples with apples, but a 32-bit install I'm maintaining, emerge used up about 252MB of RAM. The difference: the 32-bit install (1GB RAM...) has an xfce4 setup, other 64-bit has full GNOME setup too; both have firefox-60 and its dependencies.

Anyone see similar memory use? No wonder the 2GB amd64 machine is running fairly crappy when doing updates.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum