Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
wlo1 does not exist
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
acidunit
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2018
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2018 6:14 pm    Post subject: wlo1 does not exist Reply with quote

I ran "ip addr" and it returned lo, enp0s25, and sit0@NONE. Unless sit0 is a wireless network, how do I help Gentoo detect wlo1?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6957
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2018 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interfaces without IP addresses will not show up with your command.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acidunit
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2018
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2018 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Interfaces without IP addresses will not show up with your command.


ifconfig returns the same thing (without sit0@none). Does ifconfig show all interfaces? If not, which command does?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6957
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2018 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For your information, both commands have man pages.

Code:
ip a

ifconfig -a

_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acidunit
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2018
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2018 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
For your information, both commands have man pages.

Code:
ip a

ifconfig -a


Both still don't return wlo1 or any other wireless network name.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6957
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2018 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then you look at your dmesg, there may be firmware required and missing. Or maybe you missed the driver altogether in your kernel config.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acidunit
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2018
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2018 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Then you look at your dmesg, there may be firmware required and missing. Or maybe you missed the driver altogether in your kernel config.


Thank you so much! The problem ended up being missing drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5588

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2018 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Interfaces without IP addresses will not show up with your command.

That's wrong:
Code:
 ~ $ unshare -rn ip a
1: lo: <LOOPBACK> mtu 65536 qdisc noop state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00

You're thinking of ifconfig.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum