Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] qdbus missing in qt5?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dr.nil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jul 2007
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 12:53 am    Post subject: [solved] qdbus missing in qt5? Reply with quote

After a recent qt5 update I can't run qdbus any more:
Code:

cassiopeia% qdbus
qdbus: could not find a Qt installation of ''


What I found out so far: /usr/bin/qdbus is provided by qtchooser but the real qdbus binary seems to come from either /usr/lib64/qt[45]/bin/qdbus. I recently uninstalled all traces of qt4 and there is no /usr/lib64/qt5/bin/qdbus.

Am I missing something obvious here? I consider installing dev-qt/qtdbus-4.x as a workaround for the moment only. Once the qtdbus 4.x package is removed from the tree where will qtdbus come from?


Last edited by dr.nil on Tue Jun 19, 2018 10:25 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21352
Location: here

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 5:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dr.nil wrote:
I recently uninstalled all traces of qt4 and there is no /usr/lib64/qt5/bin/qdbus.

Code:
$ equery b  /usr/lib64/qt5/bin/qdbus
 * Searching for /usr/lib64/qt5/bin/qdbus ...
dev-qt/qdbus-5.9.6 (/usr/lib64/qt5/bin/qdbus)

qdbus:5 is installed in your system?
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr.nil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jul 2007
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:

qdbus:5 is installed in your system?


Ah that explains my confusion. In qt4, the qdbus binary was installed by dev-qt/qtdbus. I have the qt5 variant of dev-qt/qtdbus but could not find the qdbus binary. I wasn't aware that it is provided by a separate ebuild now.

emerged it and everything works fine again :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum