Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
(solved) QT applications no longer have a file menu
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 5:59 am    Post subject: (solved) QT applications no longer have a file menu Reply with quote

I am running KDE plasma and sometime after an emerge world and a reboot all my qt applications no longer have a file menu, gtk applications are fine though.

anyone have suggestions on how to fix this?


Last edited by <3 on Mon Jul 30, 2018 9:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6582
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 7:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it back with Ctrl+M?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
Is it back with Ctrl+M?

no
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BadMoogle
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it just the File menu or the entire menu bar? I had an issue where I had a global menu widget that was off screen so all my applications were missing the menu bar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cruzki123
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2008
Posts: 247

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem but just with those applications loaded at start-up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BadMoogle wrote:
Is it just the File menu or the entire menu bar? I had an issue where I had a global menu widget that was off screen so all my applications were missing the menu bar.


it's the entire menu bar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

so, nothing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6582
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well here's the thing: it is a config issue that was fixed in 5.12.0, but unfortunately on a small amount of systems leads to this problem (some rare condition must have been matched). You'll see that on a testuser your menu bars will appear just fine. Unfortunately I can't find a fix for existing user .config, although I know this is possible.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so my only hope until this issue is fixed is to install an alternative DE like XFCE?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6582
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Erm... that's not at all what I said above, right?

(the issue that causes your problem was fixed already, but the problem itself can only be fixed by manual configuration change or reset)
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
Erm... that's not at all what I said above, right?

(the issue that causes your problem was fixed already, but the problem itself can only be fixed by manual configuration change or reset)


ok, so I misunderstood.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not sure what happened or when this changed but I now notice that my menu bar is back but now it's on a fixed bar at the top of my screen that won't go away, it this a bug or a new plasma design concept?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 4:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not sure WTF is going on, KDE has been acting weird these last few months, I don't know why but the KDE Panel bar all of a sudden stopped working a few months ago so I had to use latte-dock as a replacement, now my file menu is gone but suddenly my panel is working again. WTF is going on?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 1:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

still no one has a solution? =(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cruzki123
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2008
Posts: 247

PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

<3 wrote:
I am not sure what happened or when this changed but I now notice that my menu bar is back but now it's on a fixed bar at the top of my screen that won't go away, it this a bug or a new plasma design concept?


This is an option of the menu bar. Have you changed that lately?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 2:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cruzki123 wrote:
<3 wrote:
I am not sure what happened or when this changed but I now notice that my menu bar is back but now it's on a fixed bar at the top of my screen that won't go away, it this a bug or a new plasma design concept?


This is an option of the menu bar. Have you changed that lately?


I don't even know how to change options of the menubar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

weird, so some applications now have a file menu like kate but others don't like kolourpaint I really don't know wtf is going on.

Last edited by <3 on Mon Jul 30, 2018 9:32 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

after waiting months without anyone responding to this post I grew tired of not having a menubar in some of my KDE applications. I finally found a solution: https://www.reddit.com/r/kde/comments/5tptbk/kmail_file_edit_view_menu_missing/

/u/Saabzero from reddit wrote:
I had this issue too recently and solved it by editing ~/.config/kontactrc In there is a section called [MainWindowkontact_kmailplugin]. "In that Section I found "MenuBar=Disabled" I changed it to "MenuBar=Enabled" (without the quotes) and now my menu bar is back in kmail within Kontact." (See https://lists.debian.org/debian-kde/2014/07/msg00049.html) That worked for me


similar config files can be found for other KDE applications under ~/.config/<app name> search for the "MenuBar=" entry and set to "Enabled". I don't know who or what changed this to disabled but manually changing this back worked for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2377
Location: イタリアのロディで

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2018 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

maybe nothing, but have you got qt5ct installed?
_________________
Il numero di post non fa di me un esperto! Anzi!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 3607
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2018 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

<3 wrote:
after waiting months without anyone responding to this post ... I finally found a solution: https://www.reddit.com/r/kde/comments/5tptbk/kmail_file_edit_view_menu_missing/
OT but I'm curious: Why didn't you found that answer earlier?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 1:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bandreabis wrote:
maybe nothing, but have you got qt5ct installed?


no, but should I have it installed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 1:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

toralf wrote:
<3 wrote:
after waiting months without anyone responding to this post ... I finally found a solution: https://www.reddit.com/r/kde/comments/5tptbk/kmail_file_edit_view_menu_missing/
OT but I'm curious: Why didn't you found that answer earlier?

I don't know, I searched for it earlier but nothing came up. I have another KDE/plasma issue that I have been dealing with since at least January but I have not been able to solve that either
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2377
Location: イタリアのロディで

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

<3 wrote:
bandreabis wrote:
maybe nothing, but have you got qt5ct installed?


no, but should I have it installed?


No, you shouldn't. Only problems.
_________________
Il numero di post non fa di me un esperto! Anzi!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

something keeps setting that menubar=disabled while using kolourpaint. It is really annoying.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum