Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Bonding, speed benefit ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
aypro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Feb 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2018 9:53 pm    Post subject: Bonding, speed benefit ? Reply with quote

I just upgraded to a 10Gbit fiber connection but i don't have a 10Gbit network adapter, and after looking at the prices i don't think i will be getting one of those.
My question is, will i be able to get a speed upgrade bonding the two 1Gbit network adapters on my motherboard ? both connected to the same router on 2 different 1Gbit ethernet ports.

I read a little about bonding and configured systemd-networkd like this:

Code:
/e/s/network ❯❯❯ cat 10-bond1.netdev
[NetDev]
Name=bond1
Kind=bond

[Bond]
Mode=balance-alb
PrimarySlave=enp11s0
LACPTransmitRate=fast

Code:
/e/s/network ❯❯❯ cat 10-bond1.network
[Match]
Name=bond1

[Network]
Address=192.168.1.100/24
Gateway=192.168.1.1
DNS=192.168.1.1

Code:
/e/s/network ❯❯❯ cat 50-static.network
[Match]
Name=enp11s0

[Network]
Bond=bond1

Code:
/e/s/network ❯❯❯ cat 60-static2.network
[Match]
Name=enp0s31f6

[Network]
Bond=bond1

Code:
/e/s/network ❯❯❯ networkctl -a
IDX LINK             TYPE               OPERATIONAL SETUP     
  1 lo               loopback           carrier     unmanaged
  2 enp0s31f6        ether              carrier     configuring
  3 enp11s0          ether              carrier     configuring
  4 bond1            bond               routable    configured

4 links listed.

Code:
/e/s/network ❯❯❯ ifconfig -a
bond1: flags=5187<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MASTER,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.1.100  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.1.255
        inet6 fe80::4870:82ff:fe83:55d  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 4a:70:82:83:05:5d  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 4425140  bytes 6043015126 (5.6 GiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 622  frame 0
        TX packets 4249105  bytes 5140182599 (4.7 GiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 29 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

enp0s31f6: flags=6211<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SLAVE,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 30:5a:3a:e0:74:fd  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 2919  bytes 214739 (209.7 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 1847353  bytes 2390523523 (2.2 GiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
        device interrupt 16  memory 0xdfb00000-dfb20000 

enp11s0: flags=6211<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SLAVE,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 4a:70:82:83:05:5d  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 4426441  bytes 6043991577 (5.6 GiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 622  frame 0
        TX packets 2407431  bytes 2755191323 (2.5 GiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

Is this worth the hassle, or is the only option to get a 10Gbit network adapter ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joanandk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Feb 2017
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2018 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
both connected to the same router on 2 different 1Gbit ethernet ports.


You do not say if your route is capable of link aggregation. If your router does not support link aggregation, your bonding might worsen your data throughput. If your router does support link aggregation and is configured, then you should benefit from a little more speed than 1Gbps, but not as high as 2Gbps.

BR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aypro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Feb 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2018 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

joanandk wrote:

You do not say if your route is capable of link aggregation.

The router was provided by my ISP, and i can't find the technical specs or the manufacturer anywhere. Is there a way i can check if it does support link aggregation ? It does have a 10Gbit port though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43799
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2018 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aypro,

Link aggregation needs to be configured. Log into your router and see if its an option.
You will need to designate the ports that are to be aggregated.

Between your PC and the router is only a part of the problem. One way or another, the higher bandwidth needs to be available along the entire route to some other host.

Are you sure you nave a working 10G port?
The hole in the case is often provided but with no electronics inside.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aypro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Feb 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The modem/router interface is very basic, i'm assuming it's an early version since it is a new offering, i don't have any option for link aggregation, not even firewall or port forwarding settings.

Yes it has a 10Gbit port as advertised on the manual and on the port, i can connect to it with my 1Gbit network adapter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum