Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Cannot start Plasma (Wayland) session from SDDM
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Niluna
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 5:04 pm    Post subject: [Solved] Cannot start Plasma (Wayland) session from SDDM Reply with quote

Dear All,

I try to start Plasma session with Wayland from SDDM, but black screen appeared for a few seconds, and return to SDDM.
~/.local/share/sddm/wayland-session.log shows following message:
Code:
startplasmacompositor: Starting up...
No backend specified through command line argument, trying auto resolution
FATAL ERROR: backend failed to initialize, exiting now
startplasmacompositor: Shutting down...
startplasmacompositor: Done.

Following instruction in this page, I tested "nested setup" by invoking these commands in X server session:
Code:
export $(dbus-launch)
kwin_wayland --xwayland
kwrite --platform wayland

and "on the TTY" test by following commands from tty:
Code:
export $(dbus-launch)
export QT_QPA_PLATFORM=wayland
kwin_wayland --xwayland --exit-with-session=kwrite


Both tests are ok, application is started. And invoking "dbus-run-session /usr/bin/startplasmacompositor", Wayland session is started successfully.
But from SDDM, cannot start the session with above error message.

About my gentoo box:
Graphic card is AMD's APU integrated card (Stoney Ridge, Radeon R5).
Driver is amdgpu.
Installed software versions:
x11-misc/sddm-0.17.0-r3
dev-libs/wayland-1.14.0
x11-base/xorg-server-1.19.5-r2
kde-frameworks/plasma-5.43.0
media-libs/mesa-17.3.9 (VIDEO_CARDS=radeonsi)

wayland USE flag is enabled in /etc/portage/make.conf and all package has been built with this flag.

What's wrong in my environment?
If information is insufficient, please tell me!

Thank you in advance. :)


Last edited by Niluna on Thu Jun 07, 2018 4:57 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21345
Location: here

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You use OpenRC? If yes, you use elogind or consolekit?
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE wrote:
For Wayland support, a logind implementation is required. Gentoo provides elogind as an alternative to systemd.

_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Niluna
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for reply!
Oh, I'm using OpenRC (0.34.11) and ConsoleKit (1.2.0). Is this cause?
Although this code change in upstream, I still cannot use Wayland with ConsoleKit?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21345
Location: here

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Niluna wrote:
Thank you for reply!
Oh, I'm using OpenRC (0.34.11) and ConsoleKit (1.2.0). Is this cause?
Although this code change in upstream, I still cannot use Wayland with ConsoleKit?

I've no experience with wayland but based on the wiki elogind seems mandatory.
Anyway I've plasma with elogind and work without any problem
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Niluna
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
I've no experience with wayland but based on the wiki elogind seems mandatory.
Anyway I've plasma with elogind and work without any problem

If so, I cannot migrate to Wayland for now because I made some configuration changes to ConsoleKit :(
Thanks for your advise, anyway!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Niluna
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2018 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found that, by replacing
Code:
Exec=dbus-run-session /usr/bin/startplasmacompositor
with
Code:
Exec=ck-launch-session dbus-launch --exit-with-session /usr/bin/startplasmacompositor
in /usr/share/wayland-sessions/plasmawayland.desktop, I can start Plasma (Wayland) session.
While I encountered some strange behavoir in Wayland, I can login to Wayland session with SDDM and ConsoleKit. So, I think this topic is solved.

Thank you again for your reply giving me notice for ConsoleKit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2410
Location: イタリアのロディで

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

same problem with consolekit
changed to elogind but no luck
modified plasmawayland.desktop but none
_________________
Il numero di post non fa di me un esperto! Anzi!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2410
Location: イタリアのロディで

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ck-launch-session not found

Why?
_________________
Il numero di post non fa di me un esperto! Anzi!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum