Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
GPG Can't Find Pinentry
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Evilguru
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Aug 2005
Posts: 390
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2019 2:23 pm    Post subject: GPG Can't Find Pinentry Reply with quote

Hello,

I run a ~AMD64 system with the default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/plasma (stable) profile. Recently, after an update, I am having trouble getting gpg to work. Specifically from a Konsole window on a local session,
Code:

$ echo "test" | gpg --clearsign
gpg: using "XXX" as default secret key for signing
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA512

test
gpg: signing failed: No pinentry
gpg: [stdin]: clear-sign failed: No pinentry

However, pinentry is installed with
Code:

# eselect pinentry list
Available pinentry binary implementations:
[1]   pinentry-qt *
[2]   pinentry-qt4
[3]   pinentry-curses
[4]   pinentry-tty

and the gpg-agent is running. How can I go about debugging this issue? It appears as if the pinentry error stuff is actually coming from the gpg-agent process and then being relayed by gpg. Killing the agent has no effect; it simply respawns next time I run gpg and gives the same error.

Regards, Freddie.


Last edited by Evilguru on Thu Oct 31, 2019 2:30 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10587
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2019 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have encountered a situation where the available "eselect pinentry" selections didn't always exist, although current code appears to only display those that do. Check to see if your selected binary actually exists on disk:
Code:
equery files pinentry | grep ^/usr/bin
Also check that your chosen pinentry binary actually works. If you run it, you should see an "OK Pleased to meet you" prompt.

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6920

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2019 12:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may have eselected a pinentry binary you don't have installed. QT4 hasn't existed for a long time, yet it's still visible there (on mine too). The tty one should always work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10587
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2019 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was pretty sure that at some point the "eselect pinentry" code displayed unavailable options (that's what I remember running aground on) but now at least it tests for existence before displaying the option. (This is implemented in app-eselect/eselect-lib-bin-symlink, which I haven't emerged since 2017 so my issue may have been more complex.)

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6920

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 12:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On closer inspection, I've decided this warrants a bug report. qt4 is only showing there because it's installed as a symlink to qt for some reason (it should really be the opposite, a qt5 binary and a qt symlink).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum