Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
removing both kde and gnome on an old laptop
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nickel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 189
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 9:55 am    Post subject: removing both kde and gnome on an old laptop Reply with quote

Hi everyone,

i had an old Acer Inspiron (7 years old, i7 2nd generation, 8gb DDR2 Ram, 250 Gb SSD + 750 Gb)

I did use GNOME 2 for quite some time. Then i tried GNOME 3 for a couple months, but didn't like it. So, i decided to switch to KDE: first 4 and then plasma. I=t semed nice, but wasn't happy with it.

I bought a RPI 3. I was hoping to replace my Laptop with it. Turns out, i couldn't. It was too slow and the memory was gone too fast, even though i tried and keep the resources consumption at minimum.

That's when i started using i3 and i love it!

I want to get rid KDE. But i'm not sure how.
Do i have to uninstal Qt too? I use networkkmanager.
Which profile should i use? I use systemd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 19630
Location: here

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Usually you should remove parent package and the use depclean for removing unused dependencies
Code:
# emerge -C gnome-base/gnome
# emerge -C kde-plasma/plasma-meta
# emerge --depclean --ask

If some dependencies are putted in the world file you should remove even these
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nickel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 189
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thx. I'll try that.
But what about my profile:
Code:

Available profile symlink targets:
  [1]   default/linux/amd64/13.0
  [2]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/selinux
  [3]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop
  [4]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome
  [5]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome/systemd
  [6]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/plasma
  [7]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/plasma/systemd
  [8]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/developer
  [9]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/no-multilib
  [10]  default/linux/amd64/13.0/systemd
  [11]  default/linux/amd64/13.0/x32
  [12]  default/linux/amd64/17.0
  [13]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/selinux
  [14]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/hardened
  [15]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/hardened/selinux
  [16]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop
  [17]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/gnome
  [18]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/gnome/systemd
  [19]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/plasma
  [20]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/plasma/systemd *
  [21]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/developer
  [22]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/no-multilib
  [23]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/no-multilib/hardened
  [24]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/no-multilib/hardened/selinux
  [25]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/systemd
  [26]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/x32
  [27]  default/linux/amd64/17.1
  [28]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/selinux
  [29]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/hardened
  [30]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/desktop
  [31]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/desktop/gnome
  [32]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/desktop/gnome/systemd
  [33]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/desktop/plasma
  [34]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/desktop/plasma/systemd
  [35]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/developer
  [36]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/no-multilib
  [37]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/no-multilib/hardened
  [38]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/no-multilib/hardened/selinux
  [39]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/systemd
  [40]  hardened/linux/amd64
  [41]  hardened/linux/amd64/selinux
  [42]  hardened/linux/amd64/no-multilib
  [43]  hardened/linux/amd64/no-multilib/selinux
  [44]  hardened/linux/amd64/x32
  [45]  default/linux/musl/amd64
  [46]  hardened/linux/musl/amd64
  [47]  default/linux/musl/amd64/x32
  [48]  hardened/linux/musl/amd64/x32
  [49]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/musl
  [50]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/musl/hardened
  [51]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/musl/hardened/selinux
  [52]  default/linux/uclibc/amd64
  [53]  hardened/linux/uclibc/amd64
  [54]  pentoo:pentoo/default/linux/amd64
  [55]  pentoo:pentoo/default/linux/amd64/binary
  [56]  pentoo:pentoo/default/linux/amd64/bleeding_edge
  [57]  pentoo:pentoo/hardened/linux/amd64
  [58]  pentoo:pentoo/hardened/linux/amd64/binary
  [59]  pentoo:pentoo/hardened/linux/amd64/bleeding_edge

i want to keep using systemd or should i drop it? perhaps openRC is now better?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 19630
Location: here

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want systemd you can combine default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop and default/linux/amd64/17.0/systemd profiles
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nickel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 189
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
If you want systemd you can combine default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop and default/linux/amd64/17.0/systemd profiles

how do i doi that?

i just saw the link in "combine them", SORRY :oops:
thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Juippisi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 282
Location: /home

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 6:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Switch your profile to pure desktop one,

check all USE flags in /etc/portage/* (make.conf, package.use)

check and clean your portage world file (/var/lib/portage/world)

that should help you clean it :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nickel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 189
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thx
i switched to profile 30
and did emerge -aC gnome plasma-meta and emerge -.ac as suggested but i got this:
Code:

* Have you forgotten to do a complete update prior to depclean? The
 * most comprehensive command for this purpose is as follows:
 *
 *   emerge --update --newuse --deep --with-bdeps=y @world


i'll do that, but first i'll start with system
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6503
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bad idea. Notice the news item: 2017-12-26 Experimental amd64 17.1 profiles up for testing

Emphasis on *experimental*.

That aside, a profile switch will always necessitate a world update with -N. This one requires much more.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nickel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 189
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
Bad idea. Notice the news item: 2017-12-26 Experimental amd64 17.1 profiles up for testing

Emphasis on *experimental*.

That aside, a profile switch will always necessitate a world update with -N. This one requires much more.

After i tried to emerge ncurses, it failed. Something about the profile.
I googled it and found that.
So, i switched to profile 16 (17.0 -> amd64/desktop)

Right now, i've got some problems:
everytime i run emerge -uDNav system, i've got a lot of errors:
-x11-proto packages (i figured it out, why. For some reason, xorg-proto isn't installed. So, now the new one set to emerge is blocking all the x11-proto packges)
It is safe to unemerge this category -> emerge -aC $(qlist -IC x11-proto) ?
Worse case, i screw up X, right?
- systemd: can i just set systemd in make.conf? -> euse -E systemd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nickel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 189
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2018 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've read here (German), that there's been a change for Xorg header files from Xorg and gentoo developers, in order to increase its speed and performance.
The new package x11-base/xorg-proto will replace eventually all the x11-proto packages.

Well, what can i said? :oops:
I haven't updated my system in almost a year, with exceptions of chromium, thunderbird and firefox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum