Xmonad and Citrix Receiver
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
doc1623
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 2:45 pm    Post subject: Xmonad and Citrix Receiver Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm hoping I can get someone familiar with one or both of these. I use xmonad as my window manager and I have to have Citrix Receiver for work. I'm on Gentoo. I know I can tame this beast; I'm just not sure how.

What I want is to use the vdi in half the screen. So I can continue to switch between the vdi and my gentoo box. I have a wide monitor.

I use Xmonad but I'm no expert. I normally just leave things full screen and mod tab to go through my windows. When Citrix is conneced to my work vdi I can't do that. It seems to capture all keystrokes. I think the key is going to lie in creating a hook in my xmonad config but I don't know that well.

I've tried using Mod space and then Mod enter to move the vdi window to the main but it doesn't work. I know I can learn Xmonad inside out and then I could do it but I just don't have time. I'm back to work tomorrow. Let me know if you know how to deal with this or have a great tutorial link. In the meantime, I'll be trying to figure out Xmonad hooks!

Thanks for any help!
Hu

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Based on your description, I think this is a Citrix problem, not an Xmonad problem. X11 permits applications to grab the keyboard and/or mouse, at which point all input from that device goes to the grabber. While the grab is active, your window manager will not get a chance to process the key first. As far as your window manager can see, you never pressed the key at all.