Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Sound Card Problem need help [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sleepingsun
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 458
Location: Bosnia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 11:36 am    Post subject: Sound Card Problem need help [SOLVED] Reply with quote

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller

lspci -v
Code:
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller
        Subsystem: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd GA-EP45-UD3R Motherboard
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 29
        Memory at efff8000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
        Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
        Capabilities: [60] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
        Capabilities: [70] Express Root Complex Integrated Endpoint, MSI 00
        Capabilities: [100] Virtual Channel
        Capabilities: [130] Root Complex Link
        Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel


head -1 /proc/asound/card*/codec*
Code:
==> /proc/asound/card0/codec#2 <==
Codec: Realtek ALC892

==> /proc/asound/card1/codec#0 <==
Codec: Nvidia GPU 0b HDMI/DP

==> /proc/asound/card1/codec#1 <==
Codec: Nvidia GPU 0b HDMI/DP

==> /proc/asound/card1/codec#2 <==
Codec: Nvidia GPU 0b HDMI/DP

==> /proc/asound/card1/codec#3 <==
Codec: Nvidia Generic


grep SND_HDA /usr/src/linux/.config
Code:
CONFIG_SND_HDA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP_MODE=1
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132_DSP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_DSP_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=64



dmesg | grep snd_hda
Code:
[    3.264139] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Disabling MSI
[    3.321946] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D2: autoconfig for ALC892: line_outs=1 (0x14/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0) type:line
[    3.594508] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D2:    speaker_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    3.594510] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D2:    hp_outs=1 (0x1b/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    3.594514] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D2:    mono: mono_out=0x0
[    3.594515] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D2:    dig-out=0x11/0x1e
[    3.594516] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D2:    inputs:
[    3.594525] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D2:      Front Mic=0x19
[    3.594526] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D2:      Rear Mic=0x18
[    3.594528] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D2:      Line=0x1a
[    4.021025] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Too many HDMI devices
[    4.029085] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Consider building the kernel with CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS=y
[    4.087031] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Too many HDMI devices
[    4.095376] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Consider building the kernel with CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS=y
[    4.120045] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: control 3:0:0:ELD:0 is already present
[    4.137330] snd_hda_codec_hdmi: probe of hdaudioC1D3 failed with error -16
[    4.178034] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Too many HDMI devices
[    4.186818] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Consider building the kernel with CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS=y
[    4.211045] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: control 3:0:0:ELD:0 is already present
[    4.228023] snd_hda_codec_hdmi: probe of hdaudioC1D3 failed with error -16
[    4.232008] snd_hda_codec_generic hdaudioC1D3: autoconfig for Generic: line_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0) type:line
[    4.232010] snd_hda_codec_generic hdaudioC1D3:    speaker_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    4.232011] snd_hda_codec_generic hdaudioC1D3:    hp_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    4.232013] snd_hda_codec_generic hdaudioC1D3:    mono: mono_out=0x0
[    4.232014] snd_hda_codec_generic hdaudioC1D3:    dig-out=0x5/0x0
[    4.232015] snd_hda_codec_generic hdaudioC1D3:    inputs:
[    4.260005] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Too many HDMI devices
[    4.260006] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Consider building the kernel with CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS=y


_________________
Gentoo is Rocks


Last edited by sleepingsun on Mon Apr 23, 2018 8:45 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 11:43 am    Post subject: Re: Sound Card Problem need help Reply with quote

sleepingsun wrote:
Code:
[    4.260005] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Too many HDMI devices
[    4.260006] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Consider building the kernel with CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS=y

sleepingsun ... can't see from your grep of .config but did you do as it suggests and enable CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS?

HTH & best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sleepingsun
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 458
Location: Bosnia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes i see it but i dont have hdmi
Recompile few times and every time same error massages ...
_________________
Gentoo is Rocks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sleepingsun wrote:
yes i see it but i dont have hdmi

It looks somehow hard to believe :)
Code:
==> /proc/asound/card1/codec#0 <==
Codec: Nvidia GPU 0b HDMI/DP
...
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=m

do like khayyam said, if you mean "i have no use of hmdi devices for sound", then limit cards to only the one you use.
it's done by changing snd cards_limit in /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54244
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sleepingsun,

You have at least two sound cards.
Code:
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller
and another nVidia HDMI sound card that you didn't show in lspci.

Code:
==> /proc/asound/card0/codec#2 <==
==> /proc/asound/card1/codec#0 <==

There may be more.

Show us all your
Code:
lspci
output, the -v is not required.
Tell us what you want to do.

After you reboot into your new kernel look at the output of
Code:
uname -a

The date/time shown is the build date/time of the running kernel.
Are you running the kernel you think you are?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sleepingsun
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 458
Location: Bosnia

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lspci
Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset DRAM Controller (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port (rev 03)
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4
00:1a.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5
00:1a.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6
00:1a.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) PCI Express Root Port 1
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) PCI Express Root Port 5
00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) PCI Express Root Port 6
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1
00:1d.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2
00:1d.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3
00:1d.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 90)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801JIB (ICH10) LPC Interface Controller
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) SATA AHCI Controller
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) SMBus Controller
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GT218 [GeForce 310] (rev a2)
01:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation High Definition Audio Controller (rev a1)
03:00.0 IDE interface: JMicron Technology Corp. JMB368 IDE controller
04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 03)
05:04.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8169 PCI Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 10)



uname -a
Code:
Linux vesna 4.9.76-gentoo-r1 #10 SMP Sun Apr 22 11:29:15 CEST 2018 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

_________________
Gentoo is Rocks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54244
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sleepingsun,

You have two audio devices
Code:
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller
01:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation High Definition Audio Controller (rev a1)
both use the same driver.

The default audio device will be your analogue audio, as devices are enumerated in PCI bus order.

Your kernel was made today
Code:
Sun Apr 22 11:29:15 CEST 2018
so that all looks good.
Did you include CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS=y in your kernel and has that warning gone from dmesg?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sleepingsun
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 458
Location: Bosnia

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes i did that and dmesg error gone but also no device and no sound still working on this this moment i dont have idea what to do ...
_________________
Gentoo is Rocks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54244
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sleepingsun,

Do you want Analogue sound or HDMI sound?
You can have both but the first steps involve testing separately, so pick one.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sleepingsun
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 458
Location: Bosnia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2018 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Analog sound that hdmi is probably graphic card with DP ...

seems lot of changes on new gentoo ... with this configuration kernel works on 3.xx

From fresh install new one lot of trouble

grep SND_HDA /usr/src/linux/.config

Code:
CONFIG_SND_HDA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP_MODE=1
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132_DSP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_DSP_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=64

_________________
Gentoo is Rocks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54244
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2018 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sleepingsun,

Open a terminal window on run
Code:
alsamixer -c0

You should see something like
Code:
┌────────────────────────────── AlsaMixer v1.1.6 ──────────────────────────────┐
│ Card: HDA ATI SB                                     F1:  Help               │
│ Chip: VIA VT1708S                                    F2:  System information │
│ View: F3:[Playback] F4: Capture  F5: All             F6:  Select sound card  │
│ Item: Master [dB gain: -4.50]                        Esc: Exit               │
│                                                                              │
│     ┌──┐              ┌──┐     ┌──┐     ┌──┐     ┌──┐     ┌──┐     ┌──┐      │
│     │  │              │  │     │  │     │  │     │  │     │  │     │  │      │
│     │  │              │  │     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │  │      │
│     │▒▒│              │  │     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │  │      →
│     │▒▒│              │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│      →
│     │▒▒│              │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│      →
│     │▒▒│              │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│      →
│     │▒▒│              │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│      →
│     │▒▒│              │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│      →
│     │▒▒│              │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│      →
│     │▒▒│              │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│      │
│     │▒▒│              │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│      │
│     ├──┤     ┌──┐     └──┘     ├──┤     ├──┤     └──┘     ├──┤     ├──┤      │
│     │OO│     │OO│              │OO│     │MM│              │OO│     │OO│      │
│     └──┘     └──┘              └──┘     └──┘              └──┘     └──┘      │
│      83              75<>75   94<>94    0<>0     0<>0    88<>88     73       │
│  < Master >Headphon   PCM     Front   Front Mi Front Mi Surround  Center     │
└──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┘
There is more to the right.

Set the Master, PCM, and Front sliders to about 75%
Set the Master, PCM, and Front mute switches to OO.
Set all the other switches to MM.

If alsamixer -c0 only shows a single mute switch, your HDMI output has become the default and we need to swap your soundcards over when the module loads.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sleepingsun
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 458
Location: Bosnia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2018 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ty friend i reinstall alsa lib and done like you post and soundcard working !
_________________
Gentoo is Rocks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum