Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kmail - kontact crashing with sandbox error
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
msst
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 11:51 am    Post subject: kmail - kontact crashing with sandbox error Reply with quote

Since a few days kmail-17.12.3 and also kontact crash with the following:

FATAL:sandbox_linux.cc(180)] Check failed: sandbox::Credentials::MoveToNewUserNS()

qt-5.9.4 and kde-frameworks-5.44

Any idea where to look for the problem? Googling the error only finds chromium work-arounds with some no-sandbox options that kmail does not know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21357
Location: here

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You updated recently qt? What backend you use for akonadi?
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13509

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As a guess based solely on the name of the function in the error message, does your kernel support user namespaces? Check with zgrep USER_NS /proc/config.gz.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
msst
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not aware of any recent qt update. It says qt-5.9.4 is out side Feb 2018.

Quote:
Check with zgrep USER_NS /proc/config.gz.


I dont have /proc/config*

But the kernel config has user namespace enabled:
Code:
grep "USER_NS" /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_USER_NS=y


Code:
[%General]
Driver=QSQLITE


so sqlite database in use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21357
Location: here

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure if is same problem, but when I update qt I need to recompile akonadi if not crash (see bug)
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
msst
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

akonadictl status shows that akonadi is running.

Also the problem seems to be limited to kmail and kontact. kaddressbook and korganizer can be launched separately without these problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
msst
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is the strace of the crash:

Code:
access("/proc/self/setgroups", F_OK)    = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_SETMASK, ~[RTMIN RT_1], [], 8) = 0
clone(child_stack=0x7ffd6107a410, flags=CLONE_NEWUSER|CLONE_NEWPID|CLONE_NEWNET|SIGCHLD) = 12150
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_SETMASK, [], ~[KILL STOP RTMIN RT_1], 8) = 0
close(38)                               = 0
recvmsg(37, {msg_name=NULL, msg_namelen=0, msg_iov=[{iov_base="ZYGOTE_BOOT\0", iov_len=13}], msg_iovlen=1, msg_control=[{cmsg_len=28, cmsg_level=SOL_SOCKET, cmsg_type=SCM_CREDENTIALS, cmsg_
data={pid=12150, uid=1000, gid=100}}], msg_controllen=32, msg_flags=0}, 0) = 12
recvmsg(37, [1:1:0416/222234.499716:FATAL:sandbox_linux.cc(180)] Check failed: sandbox::Credentials::MoveToNewUserNS().
#0 0x7f8ae9b7e1ce <unknown>
#1 0x7f8ae9b90862 <unknown>
#2 0x7f8ae988ad30 <unknown>
#3 0x7f8ae93d19e0 <unknown>
#4 0x7f8ae9b5d057 <unknown>
#5 0x7f8ae9b5d787 <unknown>
#6 0x7f8ae9b56b49 <unknown>
#7 0x7f8ae925b9d9 QtWebEngine::processMain()
#8 0x55a4c44c59f3 <unknown>
#9 0x7f8ae81354fa __libc_start_main
#10 0x55a4c44c5a4a <unknown>

Received signal 6
#0 0x7f8ae9b7e622 <unknown>
#1 0x7f8ae814a000 <unknown>
#2 0x7f8ae8149f40 gsignal
#3 0x7f8ae814bb60 abort
#4 0x7f8ae9b7ddf5 <unknown>
#5 0x7f8ae9b90b75 <unknown>
#6 0x7f8ae988ad30 <unknown>
#7 0x7f8ae93d19e0 <unknown>
#8 0x7f8ae9b5d057 <unknown>
#9 0x7f8ae9b5d787 <unknown>
#10 0x7f8ae9b56b49 <unknown>
#11 0x7f8ae925b9d9 QtWebEngine::processMain()
#12 0x55a4c44c59f3 <unknown>
#13 0x7f8ae81354fa __libc_start_main
#14 0x55a4c44c5a4a <unknown>
  r8: 0000000000000000  r9: 00007ffee12619f0 r10: 0000000000000008 r11: 0000000000000246
 r12: 00007ffee1261ec0 r13: 00007ffee1261e70 r14: 0000000000000000 r15: 00000000c589f701
  di: 0000000000000002  si: 00007ffee12619f0  bp: 00007ffee1261e60  bx: 0000000000000006
  dx: 0000000000000000  ax: 0000000000000000  cx: 00007f8ae8149f40  sp: 00007ffee12619f0
  ip: 00007f8ae8149f40 efl: 0000000000000246 cgf: 002b000000000033 erf: 0000000000000000
 trp: 0000000000000000 msk: 0000000000000000 cr2: 0000000000000000
[end of stack trace]
{msg_name=NULL, msg_namelen=0, msg_iov=[{iov_base="", iov_len=11}], msg_iovlen=1, msg_controllen=0, msg_flags=0}, 0) = 0
--- SIGCHLD {si_signo=SIGCHLD, si_code=CLD_EXITED, si_pid=12150, si_uid=1000, si_status=1, si_utime=25, si_stime=2} ---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21357
Location: here

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems a problem related to package qtwebengine? What version you installed?
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
msst
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

qtwebenginge-5.9.4 stable

Already recompiled to be sure, no change. I am now gonna disable user-namespace in the kernel to exclude that as a problem as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
msst
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been able to narrow down the error and bypass it. It is clearly connected to a faulty support of the user namespace kernel feature of kmail.

Workaround: Disable user namespace support in kernel, then all works again.
User namespace (USER_NS)
CONFIG_USER_NS: no
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jason.oliveira
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Mar 2016
Posts: 2
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2018 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

msst wrote:
I have been able to narrow down the error and bypass it. It is clearly connected to a faulty support of the user namespace kernel feature of kmail.

msst wrote:
so sqlite database in use.


From the Akonadi ebuild's post-build notes:
Code:
 * We strongly recommend you change your Akonadi database backend to either MySQL
 * or PostgreSQL in your user configuration.
 * In particular, kde-apps/kmail does not work properly with the sqlite backend.
 * You can select the storage backend in ~/.config/akonadi/akonadiserverrc.


That said, I'm having the same issue here, but with falkon.

fedeliallalinea wrote:
You updated recently qt? What backend you use for akonadi?

I've rebuilt akonadi (and qtsql) with either sqlite, mysql, or postgresql (one at a time) and none seem to affect the pastebin'd output.

fedeliallalinea wrote:
It seems a problem related to package qtwebengine? What version you installed?

dev-qt/qtwebengine-5.9.4

Adding user.max_user_namespaces = 0 to /etc/sysctl.conf was sufficient to make it go away. This very much doesn't seem like the correct solution for this problem, though. What am I sacrificing by doing this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
msst
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2018 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
* We strongly recommend you change your Akonadi database backend to either MySQL
* or PostgreSQL in your user configuration.
* In particular, kde-apps/kmail does not work properly with the sqlite backend.
* You can select the storage backend in ~/.config/akonadi/akonadiserverrc.


Yeah, I read this and ignore it because it is nonsense to run an sql server for akonadi alone. kmail works properly wuth sqlite backend and this bug does not seem to be connected to the akonadi backend.

Quote:
Adding user.max_user_namespaces = 0 to /etc/sysctl.conf was sufficient to make it go away. This very much doesn't seem like the correct solution for this problem, though. What am I sacrificing by doing this?


I am not fully understanding this user_namespace feature, but this sounds like you simply disable the use_namespaces in the config. Should be the same as disabling it in the kernel directly?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
palettentreter
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Feb 2006
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2018 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On my system, if I do
Code:
sysctl user.max_user_namespaces=0
, QtWebEngine still tries to spawn a new user NS. From strace:

Code:

[...]
[pid  2845] clone(child_stack=0x7ffecd03d480, flags=CLONE_NEWUSER|SIGCHLD) = -1 ENOSPC (No space left on device)
[pid  2845] getpid()                    = 2845
[pid  2845] gettid()                    = 2845
[pid  2845] openat(AT_FDCWD, "/proc/self/status", O_RDONLY) = 37
[pid  2845] read(37, "Name:\tkmail\nUmask:\t0022\nState:\tR"..., 1024) = 1024
[pid  2845] close(37)                   = 0
[pid  2845] write(2, "[2845:2845:0504/201903.338858:FA"..., 170[2845:2845:0504/201903.338858:FATAL:credentials.cc(137)] Check failed: error == EPERM || error == EUSERS || error == EINVAL || error == ENOSYS. : No space left on device
) = 170
[...]


It the proceeds to crash with SIGABRT, so that's probably an assertion that failed. Really don't see the point in crashing on ENOSPC, so it seems to me like that's actually a bug in QtWebEngine, as well as the original issue.

The whole problem is that the Chromium code is looking for usable sandboxing support in the OS, but the fallback logic is broken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atha
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the same issue since I updated qt two days ago. As far as I remember it recompiled on an emerge @world, but not a new version, only the "qt4" useflag was gone.

Since then Konqueror doesn't start anymore.

Code:
$ cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep "USER_NS"
CONFIG_USER_NS=y


Code:
$ konqueror
KonqFrame(0x55704064fa40) QObject(0x0)
[1:1:0512/000421.549704:FATAL:sandbox_linux.cc(180)] Check failed: sandbox::Credentials::MoveToNewUserNS().
#0 0x7fbf1f664fbe <unknown>
#1 0x7fbf1f6775b2 <unknown>
#2 0x7fbf1f373790 <unknown>
#3 0x7fbf1eeba510 <unknown>
#4 0x7fbf1f643ba7 <unknown>
#5 0x7fbf1f6442c7 <unknown>
#6 0x7fbf1f63d699 <unknown>
#7 0x7fbf1ed286c5 QtWebEngine::processMain()
#8 0x564b29f2ba0c <unknown>
#9 0x7fbf1db057f8 __libc_start_main
#10 0x564b29f2ba8a <unknown>

Received signal 6
#0 0x7fbf1f665412 <unknown>
#1 0x7fbf1db1b8e0 <unknown>
#2 0x7fbf1db1b80c gsignal
#3 0x7fbf1db1d747 abort
#4 0x7fbf1f664be5 <unknown>
#5 0x7fbf1f6778c5 <unknown>
#6 0x7fbf1f373790 <unknown>
#7 0x7fbf1eeba510 <unknown>
#8 0x7fbf1f643ba7 <unknown>
#9 0x7fbf1f6442c7 <unknown>
#10 0x7fbf1f63d699 <unknown>
#11 0x7fbf1ed286c5 QtWebEngine::processMain()
#12 0x564b29f2ba0c <unknown>
#13 0x7fbf1db057f8 __libc_start_main
#14 0x564b29f2ba8a <unknown>
  r8: 0000000000000000  r9: 00007ffc9bd6c470 r10: 0000000000000008 r11: 0000000000000246
 r12: 00007ffc9bd6c940 r13: 00007ffc9bd6c8f0 r14: 0000000000000000 r15: 000000009bd6ff01
  di: 0000000000000002  si: 00007ffc9bd6c470  bp: 00007ffc9bd6c8e0  bx: 0000000000000006
  dx: 0000000000000000  ax: 0000000000000000  cx: 00007fbf1db1b80c  sp: 00007ffc9bd6c470
  ip: 00007fbf1db1b80c efl: 0000000000000246 cgf: 002b000000000033 erf: 0000000000000000
 trp: 0000000000000000 msk: 0000000000000000 cr2: 0000000000000000
[end of stack trace]
[2909:2909:0512/000421.554759:FATAL:zygote_host_impl_linux.cc(196)] Check failed: ReceiveFixedMessage(fds[0], kZygoteHelloMessage, sizeof(kZygoteHelloMessage), &real_pid).
#0 0x7fdc7e797fbe <unknown>
#1 0x7fdc7e7aa5b2 <unknown>                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
#2 0x7fdc7e3b53cb <unknown>                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
#3 0x7fdc7e3b4486 <unknown>                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
#4 0x7fdc7e3b4a2e <unknown>                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
#5 0x7fdc7e061285 <unknown>                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
#6 0x7fdc7e064792 <unknown>                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
#7 0x7fdc7de9e68d <unknown>                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
#8 0x7fdc7dea0162 <unknown>                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
#9 0x7fdc7de887e9 <unknown>                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
#10 0x7fdc7de88cae QtWebEngineCore::WebContentsAdapter::WebContentsAdapter()                                                                                                                                                               
#11 0x7fdc83b029da <unknown>                                                                                                                                                                                                               
#12 0x7fdc83b03a3d QWebEnginePage::QWebEnginePage()                                                                                                                                                                                         
#13 0x7fdc83d6a1bb <unknown>                                                                                                                                                                                                               
#14 0x7fdc83d60f14 <unknown>                                                                                                                                                                                                               
#15 0x7fdc83d5175f WebEnginePart::WebEnginePart()                                                                                                                                                                                           
#16 0x7fdc83fa5c88 <unknown>                                                                                                                                                                                                               
#17 0x7fdcbebc61ac <unknown>                                                                                                                                                                                                               
#18 0x7fdcbeba94b9 <unknown>                                                                                                                                                                                                               
#19 0x7fdcbeb905e8 <unknown>                                                                                                                                                                                                               
#20 0x7fdcbeb91128 <unknown>                                                                                                                                                                                                               
#21 0x7fdcbeb999cf <unknown>
#22 0x7fdcbeba14fe <unknown>
#23 0x7fdcbebf02ba <unknown>
#24 0x7fdcbebf1032 <unknown>
#25 0x7fdcbec088dd <unknown>
#26 0x7fdcbec3012b <unknown>
#27 0x7fdcbec34f0d kdemain
#28 0x7fdcbe7a07f8 __libc_start_main
#29 0x55703d0ea83a <unknown>

Abgebrochen (Speicherabzug geschrieben)


Interestingly, after I've done the user.max_user_namespaces=0 thing, I still get the error, but differently:
Code:
$ LC_ALL="C" konqueror
KonqFrame(0x55c693e07d40) QObject(0x0)
[3454:3454:0512/000909.450857:FATAL:credentials.cc(137)] Check failed: error == EPERM || error == EUSERS || error == EINVAL || error == ENOSYS. : No space left on device
#0 0x7f467fed7fbe <unknown>
#1 0x7f467feea5b2 <unknown>
#2 0x7f467feeb92c <unknown>
#3 0x7f4680a57eac <unknown>
#4 0x7f4680a5840e <unknown>
#5 0x7f467faf4e57 <unknown>
#6 0x7f467f7a1278 <unknown>
#7 0x7f467f7a4792 <unknown>
#8 0x7f467f5de68d <unknown>
#9 0x7f467f5e0162 <unknown>
#10 0x7f467f5c87e9 <unknown>
#11 0x7f467f5c8cae QtWebEngineCore::WebContentsAdapter::WebContentsAdapter()
#12 0x7f46852429da <unknown>
#13 0x7f4685243a3d QWebEnginePage::QWebEnginePage()
#14 0x7f46854aa1bb <unknown>
#15 0x7f46854a0f14 <unknown>
#16 0x7f468549175f WebEnginePart::WebEnginePart()
#17 0x7f46856e5c88 <unknown>
#18 0x7f46bfe161ac <unknown>
#19 0x7f46bfdf94b9 <unknown>
#20 0x7f46bfde05e8 <unknown>
#21 0x7f46bfde1128 <unknown>
#22 0x7f46bfde99cf <unknown>
#23 0x7f46bfdf14fe <unknown>
#24 0x7f46bfe402ba <unknown>
#25 0x7f46bfe41032 <unknown>
#26 0x7f46bfe588dd <unknown>
#27 0x7f46bfe8012b <unknown>
#28 0x7f46bfe84f0d kdemain
#29 0x7f46bf9f07f8 __libc_start_main
#30 0x55c69187f83a <unknown>

Abgebrochen (Speicherabzug geschrieben)


I don't understand this error at all... I already recompiled QtWebEngine, but this didn't fix it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MattJD
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After a bit of investigating, I've been able to fix this by recompiling qtwebengine with the use flag system-ffmpeg unset. For anyone with a similar error, could you try that and let me know if it works?

I'll keep digging, see if I can find out the root cause.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atha
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting, I don't see the connection. But compiling dev-qt/qtwebengine-5.9.4 with USE="-system-ffmpeg" makes the failure (and the failure message) go away. Konqueror works again. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13509

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you then rebuild with USE=system-ffmpeg enabled again, do the crashes return? If so, that suggests that the bundled ffmpeg and the system ffmpeg are not interchangeable. They should be interchangeable, but if the bundled ffmpeg is not a clean copy from upstream, they might not be.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MattJD
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For me at least, it does appear that the system ffmpeg is causing issues. I'm trying to get a minimal set of use flags from ffmpeg that causes this issue. If I disable most of my useflags for ffmpeg, I can still use qtwebengine. So now it's just a matter of hunting down the wrong useflag.[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atha
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
# emerge -pv media-video/ffmpeg
[ebuild R ~] media-video/ffmpeg-3.4.2-r1:0/55.57.57::gentoo USE="X alsa amr amrenc bluray bs2b bzip2 cdio celt chromaprint chromium encode fdk fontconfig frei0r gme gmp gnutls gpl gsm hardcoded-tables iconv iec61883 jpeg2k kvazaar ladspa libass libcaca libdrm libilbc librtmp libsoxr libv4l lzma modplug mp3 network openal opencl opengl openh264 openssl opus pic postproc pulseaudio rubberband samba sdl snappy speex ssh svg theora threads truetype twolame v4l vaapi vdpau vorbis vpx wavpack webp x264 x265 xcb xvid zeromq zimg zlib zvbi (-altivec) (-appkit) -cpudetection -debug -doc -flite -fribidi -gcrypt -ieee1394 -jack (-mipsdspr1) (-mipsdspr2) (-mipsfpu) (-mmal) -nvenc -oss -static-libs {-test}" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" CPU_FLAGS_X86="aes avx avx2 fma3 mmx mmxext sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 -3dnow -3dnowext -fma4 -xop" FFTOOLS="aviocat cws2fws ffescape ffeval ffhash fourcc2pixfmt graph2dot ismindex pktdumper qt-faststart sidxindex trasher" 0 KiB

# emerge -pv dev-qt/qtwebengine
[ebuild R ] dev-qt/qtwebengine-5.9.4:5/5.9::gentoo USE="alsa pax_kernel pulseaudio system-icu widgets -bindist -debug -geolocation -system-ffmpeg {-test}" 0 KiB

# emerge -pv kde-apps/konqueror
[ebuild R ] kde-apps/konqueror-17.12.3:5::gentoo USE="X activities handbook tidy -debug -speech {-test}" 0 KiB

# cat /etc/portage/make.conf | grep -e CFLAGS -e LDFLAGS
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=znver1 -pipe -mindirect-branch=thunk -fstack-protector-strong -pie -fPIE -fstack-check=specific -mindirect-branch=thunk -fno-plt -mfunction-return=thunk"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-Ol -Wl,--as-needed -Wl,--sort-common -Wl,--hash-style=both -Wl,-z,relro -Wl,-znow -fstack-protector-strong -pie -fPIE -fstack-check=specific -mindirect-branch=thunk -fno-plt -mfunction-return=thunk"

# gcc --version | grep ^gcc
gcc (Gentoo 7.3.0-r1 p1.1) 7.3.0


Does this help?

If I recompile qtwebengine now with USE="system-ffmpeg" it will probably make konqueror crash again. The fix was ONLY to recompile qtwebengine with USE="-system-ffmpeg", ffmpeg and konqueror were not recompiled.

What I do not understand:
  • I don't remember that I installed a new version of ffmpeg when it first stopped working.
  • What I do remember is that the USE="qt4" flag was removed from various packages, forcing recompiles. This is when I first noticed the error.
  • The error I get has __libc_start_main in it. Could this be related to PIC, PIE and pax_kernel? (See my CFLAGS/LDFLAGS, thou I run the standard gentoo-sources kernel without the pax-patches).


And what would happen if I installed ffpmeg-4.0? I read that it has great new features (while dropping certain older compatibilities)...

So, this is what I will try: install ffmpeg 4.0 and recompile qtwebengine with USE="system-ffmpeg" and see what I get...

UPDATE:
Re-emerge-ing dev-qt/qtwebengine with USE="system-ffmpeg", and only that (i.e. still with media-video/ffmpeg-3.4.2-r1), brakes it again. Same error message as before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
msst
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to chip in:

My qtwebkit also has +system-ffmpeg

And ffmpeg-3.4.2-r1. This breaks it, unless I disable user_namespace, as I did for now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13509

PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps your forced rebuild switched you to a version of qtwebengine that requires the bundled version, and your prior install of qtwebengine was an older version that worked correctly with the system ffmpeg.

__libc_start_main is not relevant here.

Your testing seems to support the idea that system ffmpeg is not compatible with this version of qtwebengine. That needs to be fixed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MattJD
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Having done more testing with the qtwebengine/ffmpeg, the issue seems to be that ffmpeg is compiled with OpenCL, and (at least for me) my implementation of OpenCL comes from mesa/clover. When the library is loaded, clover immediately kicks off some background threads (probably for shader compiling, etc.). When web engine is started, it immediately tries to move itself to a new user namespace. However, the linux kernel restricts the creation of new user namespaces to processes that do not yet have threads, so the creation fails. Web engine then bails out as it was unable to create the necessary sandbox.

I'm not sure why this only started appearing now, but I haven't updated my system in a while so I had tons of updates to go through. In the meantime, compiling ffmpeg with USE=-opencl should fix things. As for the proper fix, either mesa needs to stop making background threads upon program start, or better yet qt webengine needs to be more accommodating when it can't create a new user namespace/only create one in a new process.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bearcatsandor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2011
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is this worth filing a bug over, with ffmpeg or mesa?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
progenyx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jun 2018
Posts: 3
Location: @world

PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 1:35 pm    Post subject: QtWebEngine acting up again! Reply with quote

It is also happening when using Intel's own OpenCL implementation.

In my case, I disabled system-ffmpeg on the offending package as a temporary measure until time permits me to take out user namespaces support from the kernel altogether.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
progenyx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jun 2018
Posts: 3
Location: @world

PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bearcatsandor wrote:
Is this worth filing a bug over, with ffmpeg or mesa?


Don't be so quick to judge -- the bad guy here is QtWebEngine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum