Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
issues with garbled text
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The_Document
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Feb 2018
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 7:51 am    Post subject: issues with garbled text Reply with quote

I start KDE use it a bit, then go to a real terminal via ALT + CTRL + 2 and its all garbled. I tried reset command but it just remain garbled. How to fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5592

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're an nvidia blob user, that's normal; there is no fix besides rebooting without starting X.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Document
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Feb 2018
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
If you're an nvidia blob user, that's normal; there is no fix besides rebooting without starting X.


Not using it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1631
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
If you're an nvidia blob user, that's normal; there is no fix besides rebooting without starting X.

I use nvidia-drivers on my Clevo W230SS laptop, and that does not happen; the text appears correctly.
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 OpenRC elogind nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 OpenRC elogind xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Document
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Feb 2018
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The text is garbled ONLY if I use kde for a while then switch to a terminal, the characters are not really garbled they are randomly rearranged.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5592

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 12:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well that's different. Are you running the console at a different resolution than X?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Document
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Feb 2018
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
Well that's different. Are you running the console at a different resolution than X?


Im not having issues with a terminal emulator, its the console WITHOUT x which has rearranged text.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5592

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Output of these?
Code:
dmesg | grep -iE 'drm|console'
cat /sys/class/graphics/fb0/modes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Document
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Feb 2018
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 1:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
Output of these?
Code:
dmesg | grep -iE 'drm|console'
cat /sys/class/graphics/fb0/modes


Code:
zakhar@laptop ~ $ dmesg | grep -iE 'drm|console'
[    0.000000] ACPI: SPCR: console: uart,io,0x3f8,115200
[    0.000000] Console: colour VGA+ 80x25
[    0.000000] console [tty0] enabled
[    0.972489] ata1.00: supports DRM functions and may not be fully accessible
[    0.975117] ata1.00: supports DRM functions and may not be fully accessible
[    3.268062] [drm] amdgpu kernel modesetting enabled.
[    3.275583] [drm] initializing kernel modesetting (CARRIZO 0x1002:0x9874 0x103C:0x81F9 0xC9).
[    3.275615] [drm] register mmio base: 0xF0500000
[    3.275616] [drm] register mmio size: 262144
[    3.275878] [drm] UVD is enabled in physical mode
[    3.275880] [drm] VCE enabled in physical mode
[    3.290604] [drm] BIOS signature incorrect 31 7
[    3.292249] [drm] vm size is 64 GB, 2 levels, block size is 10-bit, fragment size is 9-bit
[    3.292274] [drm] Detected VRAM RAM=512M, BAR=512M
[    3.292275] [drm] RAM width 128bits UNKNOWN
[    3.292458] [drm] amdgpu: 512M of VRAM memory ready
[    3.292460] [drm] amdgpu: 3072M of GTT memory ready.
[    3.292473] [drm] GART: num cpu pages 262144, num gpu pages 262144
[    3.293359] [drm] PCIE GART of 1024M enabled (table at 0x000000F400040000).
[    3.300167] [drm] Found UVD firmware Version: 1.87 Family ID: 11
[    3.300212] [drm] UVD ENC is disabled
[    3.301598] [drm] Found VCE firmware Version: 52.4 Binary ID: 3
[    3.306203] [drm] DM_PPLIB: values for Engine clock
[    3.306206] [drm] DM_PPLIB:   30000
[    3.306207] [drm] DM_PPLIB:   48000
[    3.306207] [drm] DM_PPLIB:   53334
[    3.306208] [drm] DM_PPLIB:   57600
[    3.306208] [drm] DM_PPLIB:   62609
[    3.306209] [drm] DM_PPLIB:   68572
[    3.306210] [drm] DM_PPLIB:   72000
[    3.306210] [drm] DM_PPLIB:   75790
[    3.306212] [drm] DM_PPLIB: Validation clocks:
[    3.306212] [drm] DM_PPLIB:    engine_max_clock: 75790
[    3.306213] [drm] DM_PPLIB:    memory_max_clock: 93300
[    3.306213] [drm] DM_PPLIB:    level           : 0
[    3.306215] [drm] DM_PPLIB: values for Display clock
[    3.306215] [drm] DM_PPLIB:   30000
[    3.306216] [drm] DM_PPLIB:   40000
[    3.306216] [drm] DM_PPLIB:   49656
[    3.306217] [drm] DM_PPLIB:   62609
[    3.306217] [drm] DM_PPLIB:   68572
[    3.306217] [drm] DM_PPLIB:   75790
[    3.306218] [drm] DM_PPLIB:   80000
[    3.306218] [drm] DM_PPLIB:   84706
[    3.306219] [drm] DM_PPLIB: Validation clocks:
[    3.306219] [drm] DM_PPLIB:    engine_max_clock: 75790
[    3.306220] [drm] DM_PPLIB:    memory_max_clock: 93300
[    3.306220] [drm] DM_PPLIB:    level           : 0
[    3.306221] [drm] DM_PPLIB: values for Memory clock
[    3.306221] [drm] DM_PPLIB:   66700
[    3.306222] [drm] DM_PPLIB:   93300
[    3.306222] [drm] DM_PPLIB: Validation clocks:
[    3.306223] [drm] DM_PPLIB:    engine_max_clock: 75790
[    3.306223] [drm] DM_PPLIB:    memory_max_clock: 93300
[    3.306223] [drm] DM_PPLIB:    level           : 0
[    3.632319] [drm:hwss_wait_for_blank_complete [amdgpu]] *ERROR* DC: failed to blank crtc!
[    3.632349] [drm] Display Core initialized with v3.1.27!
[    3.638051] [drm] SADs count is: -2, don't need to read it
[    3.638602] [drm] Supports vblank timestamp caching Rev 2 (21.10.2013).
[    3.638603] [drm] Driver supports precise vblank timestamp query.
[    4.667648] [drm] UVD initialized successfully.
[    4.868972] [drm] VCE initialized successfully.
[    4.875423] [drm] fb mappable at 0x2015BC000
[    4.875425] [drm] vram apper at 0x1FF000000
[    4.875426] [drm] size 4325376
[    4.875426] [drm] fb depth is 24
[    4.875427] [drm]    pitch is 5632
[    4.875530] fbcon: amdgpudrmfb (fb0) is primary device
[    4.926549] Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 170x48
[    4.942949] amdgpu 0000:00:01.0: fb0: amdgpudrmfb frame buffer device
[    4.947620] [drm] Initialized amdgpu 3.23.0 20150101 for 0000:00:01.0 on minor 0
zakhar@laptop ~ $ cat /sys/class/graphics/fb0/modes
U:1366x768p-0


1366x768p is also the resolution I run kde

Is this a novelty?

Code:
[    3.638051] [drm] SADs count is: -2, don't need to read it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum