Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Set keyboard on Wayland
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Fulgurance
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Feb 2017
Posts: 552

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 8:20 am    Post subject: Set keyboard on Wayland Reply with quote

Hello, i have little question. How is it possible to set keyboard map on Wayland ? I search but i don't found anything.

Is there same program as setxkbmap for Wayland ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr. T.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 477

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

See: https://wayland.freedesktop.org/libinput/doc/latest/faq.html#faq_configure_wayland
See also: Libinput for Waylang compositor.svg
See also: https://wayland.freedesktop.org/docs/html/images/wayland-architecture.png
See also: https://wayland.freedesktop.org/docs/html/ch03.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 997
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fulgurance,

that depends on the Wayland compositor you use. Which one do you use?

If you use Weston, for example, you could add the lines below to your weston.ini file:
Code:
[keyboard]
keymap_model=pc105
keymap_layout=de
keymap_variant=nodeadkeys
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fulgurance
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Feb 2017
Posts: 552

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't understand what is exactly compositor, but i would like to use sway (i3 for wayland).

And i have second question, is it possible to use lightdm to start wayland session ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr. T.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 477

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

uhm, I do not know. I believe the compositor controls the whole composition made by all Wayland clients like a conductor (music).

freedesktop.org wrote:
The Wayland architecture integrates the display server, window manager and compositor into one process. [...]


See also: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compositing_window_manager

A window manager may be launched from command line so LightDM may probably start it. Anyway, the administrator must perform some configuration (read "note") to enable the system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr. T.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 477

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sway documentation may be quickly consulted: https://github.com/swaywm/sway/wiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 997
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fulgurance,

I start(ed) sway like this (well, I last used Sway a couple of months ago, when I tested and compared all major Wayland compositors):

Code:
export $(dbus-launch)          # recommended, if sway was compiled with USE flag 'tray'
export XKB_DEFAULT_LAYOUT=de,us
export XKB_DEFAULT_VARIANT=nodeadkeys,

sway -dV >/tmp/sway-output 2>&1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fulgurance
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Feb 2017
Posts: 552

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay thanks, and how i configure status bar with sway, for example set date format or add item?

And i have other question. Wayland is now mature or it isn't ready to use ? Recommend or not ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fcl
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2016
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wayland is pretty minimal in its design. It leaves most of the heavy lifting to others, eg. Gnome, KDE or in this case Sway. Arguably Gnome Wayland has been quite usable for some time now although all the Wayland compositors have their own problems and insufficiencies (which are ever so slowly being resolved/fixed).

As for Sway, it is currently being ported to use wlroots instead of wlc as its backend Wayland compositor library. This will fix many of its longstanding problems, eg. display output rotation. See the latest 1.0 alpha release for info.

edit: to answer your question more clearly: it depends on your needs if Wayland is mature enough. If you need something like OBS Studio for desktop recording, then no. Wayland compositors aren't there yet. PipeWire seems to be "The New Thing(TM)" to fix it all (and be pushed to everything and everyone like PulseAudio and systemd) :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum