Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Dota 2 doesn't start with Vulkan
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bn1knb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 13
Location: Belarus

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 5:40 pm    Post subject: Dota 2 doesn't start with Vulkan Reply with quote

Hi there,

i got my Lenovo g505s and steam.
I went through the vulkan installation guide on wiki and set Dota to start up with it, but it just doesn't start at all.
Log file from starting steam to launch Dota 2 :
https://pastebin.com/X1NrYKkw
It's ok with gl setting.
Driver in use : radeon.
My make.conf file :
https://pastebin.com/gruiUax3

Dear guru, what kind of information do you need to solve this? :oops:

P.S.
I have some problems with swithcable graphics in my laptop...
About this :
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1077582-highlight-.html
_________________
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.

Arthur C. Clarke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
youand28
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2016
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello bn1knb,

Since you mentioned dota 2, did you download the dlc and set the "-vulkan" option in the boot settings in steam? Did you also get the vulkan-loader package?

Edit: Also check in the dota settings in game to see if it is shaded. For me, I had not downloaded the dlc so I took about a day to figure out why I had no vulkan support haha. Also have mesa built with the vulkan use flag if you have not I suppose.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bn1knb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 13
Location: Belarus

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello youand28,

thank you for your reply.

youand28 wrote:
did you download the dlc and set the "-vulkan" option in the boot settings in steam? Did you also get the vulkan-loader package?


Yes, i've installed it all (the lib and the dota 2 package) and set "-vulkan" :
Code:
*  media-libs/vulkan-loader
      Latest version available: 1.0.46.0
      Latest version installed: 1.0.46.0
      Size of files: 3,646 KiB
      Homepage:      https://github.com/KhronosGroup/Vulkan-LoaderAndValidationLayers
      Description:   Vulkan Installable Client Driver (ICD) Loader
      License:       Apache-2.0


Also tried to set it in dota, but after rebooting it i got the same.
_________________
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.

Arthur C. Clarke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
youand28
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2016
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bn1knb,

Try to see if it is for dota only. Test vulkan on other applications other than dota or steam in general. You can compile vulkan-loader with demos use flag and run vulkaninfo. You can also run the dolphin emulator if you want something free to test vulkan as well. Is mesa also compiled with vulkan flag? Sorry if you did already; I'm just verifying since you did not state it in the response.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
n05ph3r42
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Jul 2016
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2018 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I experienced same issue. Vulkan were working fine before some update, not sure - world or dota. Furthermore - after this update, dota starts with invisible window, until you remove vulkan.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum