Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
intel graphics - no screens found
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tkdestroyer2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Mar 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 3:10 am    Post subject: intel graphics - no screens found Reply with quote

I had started a thread on Reddit. However, I could not find success, and I realized this would be more appropriate a place for these types of issues anyhow.

As of writing this, these are my up to date logs: dmesg, Xorg.0.log

As you can probably tell already, I am exhausted of options. I have indeed browsed many a forum for an answer to this problem since the day I tried installing Gentoo on this system. So now, I come to you. Can you redeem my suffering? Tell me what you need from me and I will deliver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7048
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 3:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have an old /etc/X11/xorg.conf ? What changes did you make to the defaults in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/* ?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tkdestroyer2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Mar 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 3:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
Do you have an old /etc/X11/xorg.conf ? What changes did you make to the defaults in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/* ?

I do not have manual changes (they never do anything anyhow) to video settings in xorg configurations.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42559
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tkdestroyer2,

Somewhere you have some manual config options.
Code:
[    42.489] (II) intel(G0): Using Kernel Mode Setting driver: i915, version 1.6.0 20171023
[    42.490] (WW) Falling back to old probe method for modesetting
[    42.490] (EE) Screen 0 deleted because of no matching config section.
[    42.490] (II) UnloadModule: "modesetting"
[    42.490] (EE) Device(s) detected, but none match those in the config file.


They will be in
Code:
[    42.485] (==) Using config directory: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d"


You have a Section "Screen" that calls a non-existent section.

What does
Code:
cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/*
tell ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tkdestroyer2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Mar 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for replying.

NeddySeagoon wrote:
What does
Code:
cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/*
tell ?

Code:
$ cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/*
# Read and parsed by systemd-localed. It's probably wise not to edit this file
# manually too freely.
Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "system-keyboard"
        MatchIsKeyboard "on"
        Option "XkbLayout" "us"
        Option "XkbVariant" "dvorak"
   Option "XkbOptions" "caps:escape"
EndSection
Section "Files"
EndSection
Section "InputClass"
   Identifier   "system-keyboard"
   Option      "XkbLayout" "us"
   Option      "XkbVariant" "dvorak"
EndSection
Section "InputClass"
   Identifier   "My Mouse"
   Option      "AccelerationProfile" "-1"
   Option      "AccelerationScheme" "none"
   Option      "AccelSpeed" "-1"
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42559
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tkdestroyer2,

Well, that's harmless.
You don't have a /etc/X11/xorg.conf, which is OK. If you did it would be in the log here.
Code:
[    42.485] (==) Using config directory: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d"
[    42.486] (==) Using system config directory "/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d"


Have you edited /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/ ?
That's under portages control. What do you have there.
Code:
cat /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/*


By way of a get-you-going, try
Code:
 emerge -1 xf86-video-vesa

Thats not a fix, just a diagnostic.

Its odd that
Code:
[    42.488] (==) Matched intel as autoconfigured driver 0
[    42.488] (==) Matched ati as autoconfigured driver 1
[    42.488] (==) Matched modesetting as autoconfigured driver 2
[    42.488] (==) Matched fbdev as autoconfigured driver 3
[    42.488] (==) Matched vesa as autoconfigured driver 4

ati is for your second graphics card.

modesetting is included in Xorg and works with intel but it was not tried, so I suspect vesa won't work either.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tkdestroyer2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Mar 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Have you edited /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/ ?
That's under portages control. What do you have there.
Code:
cat /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/*

Code:
$ cat /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/*
# Collection of quirks and blacklist/whitelists for specific devices.


# Accelerometer device, posts data through ABS_X/ABS_Y, making X unusable
# http://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=22442
Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "ThinkPad HDAPS accelerometer blacklist"
        MatchProduct "ThinkPad HDAPS accelerometer data"
        Option "Ignore" "on"
EndSection

# https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=523914
# Mouse does not move in PV Xen guest
# Explicitly tell evdev to not ignore the absolute axes.
Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "Xen Virtual Pointer axis blacklist"
        MatchProduct "Xen Virtual Pointer"
        Option "IgnoreAbsoluteAxes" "off"
        Option "IgnoreRelativeAxes" "off"
EndSection

# https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=55867
# Bug 55867 - Doesn't know how to tag XI_TRACKBALL
Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "Tag trackballs as XI_TRACKBALL"
        MatchProduct "trackball"
        MatchDriver "evdev"
        Option "TypeName" "TRACKBALL"
EndSection

# https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=62831
# Bug 62831 - Mionix Naos 5000 mouse detected incorrectly
Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "Tag Mionix Naos 5000 mouse XI_MOUSE"
        MatchProduct "La-VIEW Technology Naos 5000 Mouse"
        MatchDriver "evdev"
        Option "TypeName" "MOUSE"
EndSection
# Match on all types of devices but tablet devices and joysticks
Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "libinput pointer catchall"
        MatchIsPointer "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Driver "libinput"
EndSection

Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "libinput keyboard catchall"
        MatchIsKeyboard "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Driver "libinput"
EndSection

Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "libinput touchpad catchall"
        MatchIsTouchpad "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Driver "libinput"
EndSection

Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "libinput touchscreen catchall"
        MatchIsTouchscreen "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Driver "libinput"
EndSection

Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "libinput tablet catchall"
        MatchIsTablet "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Driver "libinput"
EndSection

NeddySeagoon wrote:
By way of a get-you-going, try
Code:
 emerge -1 xf86-video-vesa

Thats not a fix, just a diagnostic.

After installing and restarting gdm: Xorg.0.log

edit: No, I did not manually edit any /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/ files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42559
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tkdestroyer2,

That cat /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/* looks harmless too.
From your log.

Code:
[  8797.038] (II) VESA(0): initializing int10
[  8797.038] (II) VESA(0): Primary V_BIOS segment is: 0xc000
[  8797.038] (II) VESA(0): VESA BIOS detected
[  8797.038] (II) VESA(0): VESA VBE Version 3.0
[  8797.038] (II) VESA(0): VESA VBE Total Mem: 49152 kB
[  8797.038] (II) VESA(0): VESA VBE OEM: AMD ATOMBIOS
so the vesa driver found your Radeon Card
Code:
[  8797.052] (II) VESA(0): h_active: 1920  h_sync: 2008  h_sync_end 2052 h_blank_end 2200 h_border: 0
[  8797.052] (II) VESA(0): v_active: 1080  v_sync: 1084  v_sync_end 1089 v_blanking: 1125 v_border: 0
[  8797.052] (II) VESA(0): Ranges: V min: 50 V max: 150 Hz, H min: 30 H max: 160 kHz, PixClock max 335 MHz
[  8797.052] (II) VESA(0): Monitor name: VG248
[  8797.052] (II) VESA(0): Serial No: F4LMQS112653
and found a 1920x1080 display attached there.

The intel driver got a lot further too.
It found a
Code:
[  8797.145] (II) intel(G0): Monitor name: VG248
[  8797.145] (II) intel(G0): Serial No: F4LMQS112653

From the serial numbers, thats the same display. This just has to end in tears.

It looks like you have two complete graphics systems
Code:
[  8797.036] (--) PCI: (0:0:2:0) 8086:0412:1458:d000 rev 6, Mem @ 0xf7800000/4194304, 0xd0000000/268435456, I/O @ 0x0000f000/64
[  8797.036] (--) PCI:*(0:1:0:0) 1002:67b1:1462:2015 rev 128, Mem @ 0xe0000000/268435456, 0xf0000000/8388608, 0xf7e00000/262144, I/O @ 0x0000e000/256, BIOS @ 0x????????/131072
conncected to the same display device.

I suspect there will be a way to switch between them. In Linux, Xorg will want a restart for that.
Can you disable the AMD/ATI/Radeon card in your BIOS, so only one graphics card appears?

What system you you have?
Manufacturer and model number, so I can download the manual.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tkdestroyer2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Mar 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
I suspect there will be a way to switch between them. In Linux, Xorg will want a restart for that.
Can you disable the AMD/ATI/Radeon card in your BIOS, so only one graphics card appears?

What system you you have?
Manufacturer and model number, so I can download the manual.

I am not sure that is possible in my BIOS. Here is the manual for it. Would it be enough to unplug the power to the card? Also, I have it already disabled (amdgpu & radeon) in the kernel configuration, if that changes things.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42559
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tkdestroyer2,

I was thinking you had a laptop with two built in graphics systems.
So both GPUs are actually connected to the same display by separate cables.

That just shows you, assume nothing.

The simple way is to remove the plug in graphics card completely.
Unplugging the separate power cable, on a well designed graphics card should make it go into a low power mode.
With a badly designed card it might damage the motherboard as it tries to draw excessive power from the PCIe connector.

The harder way, for me anyway, is to write a small file to put into /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/

Code:
/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/intel
will do.
Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Intel GPU"
    Driver     "intel"
    BusID      "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection


That will bind the Intel driver to the graphics card at
Code:
BusID      "PCI:0:2:0"
which is the bit I always get wrong.
It might be BusID "PCI:0:0:2"
You can write a similar section for your other GPU too. I'm not sure if that's required or not.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tkdestroyer2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Mar 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
The simple way is to remove the plug in graphics card completely.
Unplugging the separate power cable, on a well designed graphics card should make it go into a low power mode.
With a badly designed card it might damage the motherboard as it tries to draw excessive power from the PCIe connector.
This worked, so I moved on to making a configuration file.
NeddySeagoon wrote:
The harder way, for me anyway, is to write a small file to put into /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/

Code:
/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/intel
will do.
Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Intel GPU"
    Driver     "intel"
    BusID      "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection


That will bind the Intel driver to the graphics card at
Code:
BusID      "PCI:0:2:0"
which is the bit I always get wrong.
It might be BusID "PCI:0:0:2"
You can write a similar section for your other GPU too. I'm not sure if that's required or not.
Your suggestion ("PCI:0:2:0") worked like a charm. I can't believe I've been held back by a small config change! They all said xorg should work out of the box :cry: Though it's worth noting that I have tried forcing intel driver for xorg in the configuration before, but the BusID suggestion was what fixed it.

Thank you very much for helping me. Maybe I'll get around to adding some info to the wiki :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42559
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tkdestroyer2,

For a single graphics card, Xorg does work out of the box with no config, as you demonstrated.
With more than one graphics card, it needs to be told which driver to bind to which card.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum