Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Dolphin - wrong free space on USB disks
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Bloot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 92
Location: Barcelona

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 8:45 pm    Post subject: Dolphin - wrong free space on USB disks Reply with quote

Hello,

I have recently noticed that Dolphin file manager shows incorrect free space whenever I plug an usb disk on my notebook. It happens on every USB disk I connect and it always shows the exact same amount of free space, so It doesn't let me copy any file bigger than the free space showed. Cheking free space on terminal shows the correct values though, so I think this may be a KDE Plasma related problem.

https://i.imgur.com/Bq0EUZx.png

Anybody knows what's going on? I've searched for this problem but only found this message on gentoo user with no help at all https://archives.gentoo.org/gentoo-user/message/304d3dd508512c121f094c7742a87cc4

Thanks in advance :)
_________________
Portage 2.3.6 (python 3.4.5-final-0, default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/plasma, gcc-6.4.0, glibc-2.23-r4, 4.12.5-gentoo x86_64)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5324

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're seeing the free space for /run/media/debaser/, which lives in /run/ (a tmpfs). It's giving you the correct number for that directory because it's not part of the USB disk (one level down). I agree though, this looks like a bug. Does it do the same if you view the file properties for a folder within the disk?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bloot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 92
Location: Barcelona

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
You're seeing the free space for /run/media/debaser/, which lives in /run/ (a tmpfs). It's giving you the correct number for that directory because it's not part of the USB disk (one level down). I agree though, this looks like a bug. Does it do the same if you view the file properties for a folder within the disk?


Yes it happens the same on the entire usb disk. I don't remember this happened before, it must have been an updated package and I don't have a clue which one could it be, but it has to be kde-plasma related because I can see the correct free space on a terminal.
_________________
Portage 2.3.6 (python 3.4.5-final-0, default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/plasma, gcc-6.4.0, glibc-2.23-r4, 4.12.5-gentoo x86_64)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
osti
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2017
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

we just found the same problem:

dolphin only sees 1.6 GiB of available space on the disk (fuse-mounted as /run/something with udisks2); this corresponds to the available space on /run.

Solution was to remove the old /etc/mtab, and symlink it to /proc/mounts:

Code:
rm /etc/mtab
ln -s /proc/mounts /etc/mtab
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5324

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2018 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ouch, wonder what went wrong there. /etc/init.d/mtab is supposed to fix that automatically.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
osti
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2017
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On further investigation:
Quote:
/etc/init.d/mtab is supposed to fix that automatically.

Yes, it does so, on every boot.

Unfortunately, afterwards something replaces /etc/mtab by a file; udisks2-mounts (fuse) of USB storage is not added, afterwards.

This "something" might be dbus or polkit; probably an own script somewhere, or something else. We did not bother, my colleague put an mtab-similar script into local.d.

The system was never re-installed from scratch, only rolling updates over more than ten years (with rsync to new hardware). So probably somewhere in between he missed some emerge news entry, or manually "fixed" some problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Loacoon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 May 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think he missed or changed anything. It used to work for me and, I don't know when (probably on an update), my system started to show the same behavior.
I used your solution, it works. Though I didn't reboot yet to see if it stays that way...

EDIT : Rebooting recreated a fixed mtab file... Is there a more definitive fix?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guerro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Posts: 367
Location: Brescia

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same issue here.....
I'm trying to find solution while I'm waiting for definitive fix.
_________________
(.(*. .*).)
.. G u e r r o ..
(.(.* *.).)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i4dnf
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2005
Posts: 264
Location: Bucharest, Romania

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If any of you are using media-gfx/splashutils, it has a hardcoded behaviour to recreate /etc/mtab as a file.
Quick and dirty fix guide:
Code:

ebuild /usr/portage/media-gfx/splashutils/splashutils-1.5.4.4-r8.ebuild unpack

Then comment out line 498 in /var/tmp/portage/media-gfx/splashutils-1.5.4.4-r8/work/splashutils-1.5.4.4/src/libfbsplash.c,
Code:

nosave:
   /* Clear a stale mtab entry that might have been created by the initscripts. */
   //system("/bin/sed -i -e '\\#"FBSPLASH_CACHEDIR"# d' /etc/mtab");

   umount2(what, MNT_DETACH);


and finaly merge the package:
Code:

ebuild /usr/portage/media-gfx/splashutils/splashutils-1.5.4.4-r8.ebuild merge

Recreate the correct symlink and it should now survive a reboot.
_________________
"The only difference between me and a madman is that I am not MAD" (SALVATOR DALI)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guerro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Posts: 367
Location: Brescia

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great!!
Is there someone who could create a patch file to include in ebuild?
I'm not able to make it and I'd like to have a ebuild in my local portage with this fix.

I hope there's someone :)
_________________
(.(*. .*).)
.. G u e r r o ..
(.(.* *.).)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 20099
Location: here

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

guerro wrote:
Is there someone who could create a patch file to include in ebuild?

You find patch here for use with /etc/portage/patches
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guerro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Posts: 367
Location: Brescia

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
guerro wrote:
Is there someone who could create a patch file to include in ebuild?

You find patch here for use with /etc/portage/patches


Thanx

GRAZIE 1000 8)
_________________
(.(*. .*).)
.. G u e r r o ..
(.(.* *.).)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum