Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved]Virtualbox Gentoo, Start X No screens found and more
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Hironatashima
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Apr 2005
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you'll have to refresh my memory on how I can pull that info from the kernel without having to go to menuconfig <.< lol that stuff takes forever to recompile and all whenever I pull the drivers. I did load a vm driver into the kernel on top of the steps from the handbook from checking out the forums and stuff to find solutions before I was able to get Gnome3 running.

I do also have the guest package installed for guest drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hironatashima
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Apr 2005
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well I broke down and decided to hit up my genkernel --menuconfig all.

I have a question... I'm running virtualbox, so I know I need a good number of DRMs, framebuffer stuffs and whatnot....

But do I need:
Code:

    <*> DRM driver for VMware Virtual GPU                                             
         [*]   Enable framebuffer console under vmwgfx by default   


at all? I don't run VMware.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43755
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hironatashima,

No, thats not needed.

Code:
$ grep VBOX /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_DRM_VBOXVIDEO=m
Will tell whats configured in the kernel build location.

Code:
$ zgrep VBOX /proc/config.gz

Tells about the running kernel if you have
Code:
<*> Kernel .config support
set.

The kernel you build and the kernel your are running need not be the same kernel.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hironatashima
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Apr 2005
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

as it turns out, I don't get results from either of those queries. odd. I could have sworn that I set that module.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43755
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hironatashima,

I have execute only Gentoo access until the end of next week.
Its an Acer One with a 8G SSD.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hironatashima
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Apr 2005
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

Ok, sounds good. I'm going to continue to troubleshoot, in the meantime.

But to continue my troubleshooting, the grep and zgrep commands that you offered up there, I've not found that output from those locations, yet.out

However, when I grep out CONFIG_DRM_* here is my output:

Code:

CONFIG_DRM=y
# CONFIG_DRM_DP_AUX_CHARDEV is not set
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_HELPER=y
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_FB_HELPER=y
CONFIG_DRM_FBDEV_EMULATION=y
CONFIG_DRM_LOAD_EDID_FIRMWARE=y
CONFIG_DRM_TTM=m
CONFIG_DRM_I2C_CH7006=m
CONFIG_DRM_I2C_SIL164=m
# CONFIG_DRM_I2C_NXP_TDA998X is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_RADEON is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_AMDGPU is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_I915 is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_VGEM is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_VMWGFX is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_GMA500 is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_UDL is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_AST is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_MGAG200 is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_CIRRUS_QEMU is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_QXL is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_BOCHS is not set
CONFIG_DRM_VIRTIO_GPU=m
CONFIG_DRM_BRIDGE=y
# CONFIG_DRM_ANALOGIX_ANX78XX is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_LEGACY is not set


and when I ZGREP the config.gz:

Code:

CONFIG_DRM=y
# CONFIG_DRM_DP_AUX_CHARDEV is not set
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_HELPER=y
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_FB_HELPER=y
CONFIG_DRM_FBDEV_EMULATION=y
CONFIG_DRM_LOAD_EDID_FIRMWARE=y
CONFIG_DRM_TTM=y
CONFIG_DRM_I2C_CH7006=m
CONFIG_DRM_I2C_SIL164=m
# CONFIG_DRM_I2C_NXP_TDA998X is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_RADEON is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_AMDGPU is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_I915 is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_VGEM is not set
CONFIG_DRM_VMWGFX=y
CONFIG_DRM_VMWGFX_FBCON=y
# CONFIG_DRM_GMA500 is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_UDL is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_AST is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_MGAG200 is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_CIRRUS_QEMU is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_QXL is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_BOCHS is not set
CONFIG_DRM_VIRTIO_GPU=m
CONFIG_DRM_BRIDGE=y
# CONFIG_DRM_ANALOGIX_ANX78XX is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_LEGACY is not set
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43755
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hironatashima,

Two things I can think of
CONFIG_DRM_VBOXVIDEO is not in your kernel

Code:
The Linux kernel configuration item CONFIG_DRM_VBOXVIDEO:

    prompt: Virtual Box Graphics Card
    type: tristate
    depends on: CONFIG_DRM && CONFIG_X86 && CONFIG_PCI
    defined in drivers/staging/vboxvideo/Kconfig
    found in Linux kernels: 4.13–4.15, 4.16-rc+HEAD
    modules built: vboxvideo

so it was introduced in 4.13.
Notice that its in /staging/ and the staging menu is off by default.

Its in your kernel but its hidden because something it depends on is off.

Go into menuconfig and press the 'z' key. As long as there is no menu item with z as a shortcut this will toggle the display off all hidden items.
Press / to search and enter VBOXVIDEO, go to DRM_VBOXVIDEO, press the digit key next to the option in the search results.
Read the Depends on: boolean expression
Until the Depends on: boolean expression evaluates to true, the DRM_VBOXVIDEO option will not be selectable.

Apply the above process recursively to choose DRM_VBOXVIDEO then rebuild your kernel.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hironatashima
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Apr 2005
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It may bear to know that I built my kernel config using genkernel --menuconfig all.

And using that, I went in to try and search out the settings that you outlined, the search function turned up no settings at all, even using 'z' to unhide all the options and dependencies. As far as that, I'm at the end of my expertise (which really doesn't necessarily say much.)

ALSO, I was chasing down some other leads based upon the realization that Xorg runs slightly differently if you use systemd as opposed to initd. Xorg, instead of using the xorg.conf file (though it can still use it), usually utilizes the xorg.conf.d directory, using the exact same file scheme that systemd uses to initialize the linux system, breaking down the sections of the traditional xorg.conf file into files named 50-devices.conf, 10-evdev.conf, 50-monitor.conf, etc. I tried to build a config file just like you'd said when creating a stub xorg.conf file, with the same results as before.

My X window is throwing a notification up in the middle of my screen though saying along the lines of "VBoxClient: Failed to connect to the VirtualBox Kernel..." something or other. Not sure what that means, but if I could find where to look at those logs, I may get some more insite.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43755
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hironatashima,

xorg.conf as a single file and fragments in xorg.conf.d/ are the old way and new way.
Both work. Its not related to the choice between systemd and openrc.

What kernel version do you have?
Code:
uname -r
will tell.

If its not at least 4.13, install the current testing kernel.
You will need to run genkernel with the menuconfig option and choose DRM_VBOXVIDEO yourself, or at least, check that its selected.

Note that the DRM_VBOXVIDEO option was introduced in the 4.13 kernel.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hironatashima
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Apr 2005
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another thought to bear in mind is that if you define the Device in the "Device" section, it must match the same Device name in the "Screen" section.... so if you define the Screen section thus:

Code:

SECTION "Screen"
       Identifier    "Screen[0]"
           Device   "Card0"
           Monitor  "Monitor0"
END SECTION

Then, the Device section should look something like
Code:

Section "Device"
        ### Available Driver options are:-
        ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
        ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz",
        ### <percent>: "<f>%"
        ### [arg]: arg optional
   Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "vboxvideo"
#   BusID       "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection


So if I define a Device section, shouldn't I also define a screen section?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hironatashima
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Apr 2005
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and as it turns out

Code:

hirotux ~ # uname -r
4.9.76-gentoo-r1


how should I go about updating the kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43755
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hironatashima,

You will have an all stable system until you decide to change that.
The Gentoo Handbook describes mixing branches.

The kernel is probably the lowest risk package to move to testing.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hironatashima
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Apr 2005
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

So I'm reading on how to find how to emerge the different kernel versions and such. Could you clarify how to do this so I can run a genkernel to recompile and all that. I'm not quite seeing how to execute this for the kernel sources.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43755
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hironatashima,

Create the directory /etc/portage/package.accept_keywords/
Entries you make here are per package overrides for your ACCEPT_KEYWORDS that emerge --info will show.

Inside /etc/portage/package.accept_keywords/ make a file called kernel.
The file name is not important yet as you only have one. The contents of all the files are concatenated in lexical order before being parsed by portage. It can get messy it different settings for the same package appear in several files. That's for the future.

In the kernel file add a comment, to explain what and why and the <category>/<package> being unmasked.
Code:
# get testing kernel to keep VBox Guest happy
# needs > 4.13
kernel-sources/gentoo-soures


I don't have a portage tree, so check that lasj line.
Code:
man portage
goes into much more detail. You can use comparison operators and versions too.

Code:
emerge --sync
will update your copy of the repository
Code:
emerge gentoo-sources -av
should offer to pull in a 4.15 kernel.

Mount /boot, then eselect kernel to choose the new kernel for genkernel to operate on.
I don't use genkernel but the command is something like
genkernel -menuconfig all
In menuconfig, check the CONFIG_DRM_VBOXVIDEO setting and fix it if needed.
When you exit menuconfig, genkernel will do its thing.
Once that completes, update the boot loader configuration, just as you did when you installed.

Reboot to test. The boot menu should offer 4.15 and 4.9 kernels. Choose 4.15.
Does Xorg start now ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hironatashima
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Apr 2005
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wwill have to test this tonight once i get back. I am confident that this will work. I can't wait. This makes me wonder if you are also knowledgable with Gentoo Prefix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hironatashima
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Apr 2005
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 3:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, so I cannot seem to get the emerge to pull the latest ebuild. here's my kernel file that I put in the package.accept_keywords:

Code:

>=kernel-sources/gentoo-sources-4.15.11


Not sure if this is the idea. I can't seem to get the sources I want to emerge. I was looking up the possible ways. One says to add USE= experimental. Tried it. don't think it worked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43755
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hironatashima,

I did mention that I didn't have a portage tree to check the name. Its sys-kernel/gentoo-sources
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hironatashima
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Apr 2005
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Neddyseagoon,

I can't believe I missed that.

I have the link to the kernel handbook that I was following, and I still made that mistake and missed the correct naming of the ebuild. Such a rookie mistake, haha.

Just emerged the kernel that we are looking for, and ran my genkernel command. I've selected VBOXVIDEO's DRM, and even poked around the settings to see what was new. It's recompiling the kernel now. I will put up the updates once it finishes it's compiling.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hironatashima
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Apr 2005
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent! It looks like everything now checks out!

For verification, the pastebin is here: https://paste.pound-python.org/show/EDQI4ynL1e7hkg5qZe15/

I only see a few errors, but it looks like the errors are only default attempts at loading things, and then the system falls back to different settings.

Now that being said, I wonder, NeddySeagoon, if you know anything about Project: Android, as I'm tinkering with loading Gentoo on an old tablet I have lying around. But that is a different topic, and I think it'd be appropriate to discuss it via private messaging.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43755
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hironatashima,

The automatics pick vboxvideo as the best driver
Code:
[    22.901] (==) Matched vboxvideo as autoconfigured driver 0
[    22.901] (==) Matched modesetting as autoconfigured driver 1
[    22.901] (==) Matched fbdev as autoconfigured driver 2
[    22.901] (==) Matched vesa as autoconfigured driver 3

It loads
Code:
[    22.901] (II) LoadModule: "vboxvideo"
[    22.911] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/vboxvideo_drv.so
[    22.912] (II) Module vboxvideo: vendor="Oracle Corporation"

Oh dear
Code:
[    22.942] (EE) open /dev/dri/card0: No such file or directory
No direct rendering.
but the driver is being used now.
Code:
] (II) VBoxVideo(0): Using exact sizes for initial modes
[    23.630] (II) VBoxVideo(0): Output VGA-0 using initial mode 800x600 +0+0
[    23.632] (II) VBoxVideo(0): RandR 1.2 enabled, ignore the following RandR disabled message.
[    23.645] (==) VBoxVideo(0): DPMS enabled
[    23.645] (--) RandR disabled
[    23.646] (II) AIGLX: Screen 0 is not DRI2 capable
[    23.646] (EE) AIGLX: reverting to software rendering


/dev/dri/card0 is provided by the right DRM option for your Guests emulated chipset,
Its in the kernel with the rest of the CONFIG_DRM options. I would be guessing if I mentioned a name but its in the XFree86 4.x menu.

I've never used Project: Android. It would fit into Other Things Gentoo or if its ARM hardware, Gentoo on ARM.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hironatashima
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Apr 2005
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interestingly enough, Neddy, no, I don't have XFree86. I am using X11. so, perhaps there is a kernel option set for XFree86?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43755
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hironatashima,

XFree86 died as a result of an attempted licence change. Xorg was forked from its pre licence change state but not before it gave its name to a kernel menu.
You need
Code:
<*> Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support)  --->

The kernel help
Code:
  ┌─── Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support) ───┐
  │ CONFIG_DRM:                                                           │ 
  │                                                                       │ 
  │ Kernel-level support for the Direct Rendering Infrastructure (DRI)    │ 
  │ introduced in XFree86 4.0. If you say Y here, you need to select      │ 
  │ the module that's right for your graphics card from the list below.   │ 
  │ These modules provide support for synchronization, security, and      │ 
  │ DMA transfers. Please see <http://dri.sourceforge.net/> for more      │ 
  │ details.  You should also select and configure AGP                    │ 
  │ (/dev/agpgart) support if it is available for your platform.
is a bit misleading as
Code:
 If you say Y here, you need to select
  │ the module that's right for your graphics card from the list below.
most of those items have been moved out of this menu.

You may also need
Code:
<*> /dev/agpgart (AGP Support)  --->

and the
Code:
Intel 440LX/BX/GX, I8xx and E7x05 chipset support
option from that menu too.
I can't remember the emulated chipset that VBox provides.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hironatashima
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Apr 2005
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

All of those options are already included in my kernel build. I don't know what could be causing my /dev/dri/card0 error? Do I need to emerge direct rendering somehow? lol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22319
Location: here

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
  The following REQUIRED_USE flag constraints are unsatisfied:
    webgl? ( exactly-one-of ( gles2 opengl ) )

With webgl use flag you should choose or gles2 or opengl use flag not both at same time.
Disable one of two for this package
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hironatashima
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Apr 2005
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
Code:
  The following REQUIRED_USE flag constraints are unsatisfied:
    webgl? ( exactly-one-of ( gles2 opengl ) )

With webgl use flag you should choose or gles2 or opengl use flag not both at same time.
Disable one of two for this package


Fedeliallalinea,

Thanks for the advice! This discussion has ballooned beyond the dependency issues, which has been solved. We have now begun hashing out the issue with my direct rendering not loading correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum