Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Xfce4 Apps menu only works after logging in twice [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6259
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 10:05 pm    Post subject: Xfce4 Apps menu only works after logging in twice [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I just did a fresh install on a laptop and I see that the Applications menu doesn't work, except for logout/restart/shutdown. By doesn't work, I mean click on application, nothing happens. This is when I log in right after booting up. If I simply log out and then log back in, the menu works normally.

What bugged out?
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.


Last edited by audiodef on Mon Mar 05, 2018 2:56 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NorthFear
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:21 am    Post subject: Re: Xfce4 Applications menu only works after logging in twic Reply with quote

audiodef wrote:
I just did a fresh install on a laptop and I see that the Applications menu doesn't work, except for logout/restart/shutdown. By doesn't work, I mean click on application, nothing happens. This is when I log in right after booting up. If I simply log out and then log back in, the menu works normally.

What bugged out?
Have you fixed that one by any chance?
Got a similar issue. i965 driver. Autologin with SDDM. Applets are crashing on boot and everything segfaults afterwards. xdm restart fixes the issue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6259
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The issue is gone for me but I can't remember what fixed it. I probably did a complete reinstall and I don't have this problem any more. Both the installation where the menu issue occurred and the current installation are from stage 4's I compiled, so probably something went wrong in an earlier stage 4.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6259
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2018 2:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

An update to this: Ran into this issue again, solved by adding specific card to VIDEO_CARDS and doing emerge -uDN.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum