Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Wireless problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sprino
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2018
Posts: 8
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 4:23 pm    Post subject: Wireless problem Reply with quote

[Moderator note: this post, and only this post, was originally attached to the 5.5 year solved thread [SOLVED] WPA_GUI does not find wireless card with no title. As that thread is solved, long dead, and is not clearly relevant to this problem, I moved this post to a new thread and invented a temporary title for it.

OP: please adjust the title as you see fit. -Hu]


Hi,
i have the problem width the wifi connection.
The version of the kernel used is:

9.4.76-gentoo-r1

while the card used is:

RTL88211AE

for which I loaded all the modules in the kernel.

I tried to configure the wpa_supplicant.conf file but it did not lead to any results.
Place the content:

Code:

# The below line not be changed otherwise wpa_supplicant refuses to work
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
update_config=1

# Ensure that only root can read the WPA configuration
# ctrl_interface_group=0

# Let wpa_supplicant take care of scanning and AP selection
ap_scan=1

# Simple case: WPA-PSK, PSK as an ASCII passphrase, allow all valid ciphers
network=
{
  ssid="***"
  psk="***"
  # The higher the priority the sooner we are matched
  priority=5
}


There is no wpa_supplicant in var / run!
The content of the / usr / src / linux file is this:

Code:
config_enp3s0f1="dhcp"
routes_enp3s0f1="defaultw via 192.168.1.1"

modules_wlp2s0="wpa_supplicant"
config_wlp2s0="dhcp"


The ethernet connection works well and uses dhcpcd added to open-rc.
Given the result of the following command:

Code:
wpa_supplicant -i wlp2s0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf


Code:
Successfully initialized wpa_supplicant
wlp2s0: SME: Trying to authenticate with d4:6e:0e:91:db:65 (SSID='THUNDER_NET' freq=5240 MHz)
wlp2s0: Trying to associate with d4:6e:0e:91:db:65 (SSID='THUNDER_NET' freq=5240 MHz)
wlp2s0: Associated with d4:6e:0e:91:db:65
wlp2s0: CTRL-EVENT-SUBNET-STATUS-UPDATE status=0
wlp2s0: WPA: Key negotiation completed with d4:6e:0e:91:db:65 [PTK=CCMP GTK=TKIP]
wlp2s0: CTRL-EVENT-CONNECTED - Connection to d4:6e:0e:91:db:65 completed [id=0 id_str=]


Stay stuck like this ...

Given the result of the following command:
Code:
ifconfig/code]

Code:
enp3s0f1: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet   netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast
        inet6 fe80::dfda:fa99:8872:97c6  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether   txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 86622  bytes 87749459 (83.6 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 61457  bytes 7091986 (6.7 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 1108  bytes 93328 (91.1 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 1108  bytes 93328 (91.1 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

wlp2s0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet6 fe80::b2c0:90ff:fe68:7a87  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 3537  bytes 279855 (273.2 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 116  bytes 12555 (12.2 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0


Currently I have added both dhcpcd and wpa_supplicant to open-rc.
Given that the device responds to the commands ifconfig wlp2s0 up and down I can exclude kernel problems.
Why does wpa_gui not find my network card?
What do you advise me to do?

Thank you so much,
Rino.
_________________
Theory is when everything is known and nothing works. The practice is when everything works and nobody knows why. We have put together the theory and the practice: there is nothing that works ... and nobody knows why!
A.Einstein.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42564
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sprino,

Does /etc/init.d/net.wlp2s0 exist?
It should be a symlink to net.lo.

Do not add wpa_supplicant to the default runlevel.
The
Code:
modules_wlp2s0="wpa_supplicant"
entry in the net file tells openrc to start it.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sprino
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2018
Posts: 8
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,
in the /etc/init.d/ not present the net.wlp2s0 and i don't have create symbolic link.

I have solved the problem.
The cable network has been configured with dhcpd some indicate in this installation guide:

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Installation/System/it

This is the /etc/conf.d/net:

Code:
config_enp3s0f1="dhcp"
routes_enp3s0f1="default via 192.168.1.1"


Load in the openrc:

Code:

root #cd /etc/init.d
root #ln -s net.lo net.eth0
root #rc-update add net.eth0 default


For the wireless network i have download, compiled and loaded inthe kernel this package:

Code:
https://codeload.github.com/lwfinger/rtlwifi_new/zip/master


Code:
modprobe rtl8821ae


and i have crate this /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf file:

Code:
# The below line not be changed otherwise wpa_supplicant refuses to work
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
update_config=1

# Ensure that only root can read the WPA configuration
# ctrl_interface_group=0

# Let wpa_supplicant take care of scanning and AP selection
ap_scan=1

# Simple case: WPA-PSK, PSK as an ASCII passphrase, allow all valid ciphers
network={
  ssid="Net_Name"
  psk="password"
  # The higher the priority the sooner we are matched
  priority=5
}


and i have added wpa_supplicant in the openrc:

Quote:
rc-update add wpa_supplicant default


the network works well for now, I did not understand if this is the correct way but I have installed this system a few days ago,
[/code]maybe in the future I will do better, maybe thanks to your advice.

Thank you so much,
Rino.
_________________
Theory is when everything is known and nothing works. The practice is when everything works and nobody knows why. We have put together the theory and the practice: there is nothing that works ... and nobody knows why!
A.Einstein.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sprino
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2018
Posts: 8
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sprino wrote:
Hello,
in the /etc/init.d/ not present the net.wlp2s0 and i don't have create symbolic link.

I have solved the problem.
The cable network has been configured with dhcpd some indicate in this installation guide:

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Installation/System/it

This is the /etc/conf.d/net:

Code:
config_enp3s0f1="dhcp"
routes_enp3s0f1="default via 192.168.1.1"


Load in the openrc:

Code:

root #cd /etc/init.d
root #ln -s net.lo net.eth0
root #rc-update add net.eth0 default


For the wireless network i have download, compiled and loaded inthe kernel this package:

Code:
https://codeload.github.com/lwfinger/rtlwifi_new/zip/master


Code:
modprobe rtl8821ae


and i have crate this /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf file:

Code:
# The below line not be changed otherwise wpa_supplicant refuses to work
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
update_config=1

# Ensure that only root can read the WPA configuration
# ctrl_interface_group=0

# Let wpa_supplicant take care of scanning and AP selection
ap_scan=1

# Simple case: WPA-PSK, PSK as an ASCII passphrase, allow all valid ciphers
network={
  ssid="Net_Name"
  psk="password"
  # The higher the priority the sooner we are matched
  priority=5
}


and i have added wpa_supplicant in the openrc:

Code:
rc-update add wpa_supplicant default


If I remove and stop wpa_supplicant from openrc and launch wpa_supplicant ....... the pc does not connect to wifi.
The network works well for now, I did not understand if this is the correct way but I have installed this system a few days ago,
[/code]maybe in the future I will do better, maybe thanks to your advice.

Thank you so much,
Rino.

_________________
Theory is when everything is known and nothing works. The practice is when everything works and nobody knows why. We have put together the theory and the practice: there is nothing that works ... and nobody knows why!
A.Einstein.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sprino wrote:
and i have added wpa_supplicant in the openrc:

Quote:
rc-update add wpa_supplicant default


the network works well for now, I did not understand if this is the correct way ...

Did you take that advice from the Network management using DHCPCD wiki article?
If so, be sure to have all the other network managers deactivated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum