Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] i3wm - Windows transparencies
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Fulgurance
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Feb 2017
Posts: 599

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 3:44 pm    Post subject: [Solved] i3wm - Windows transparencies Reply with quote

Hello, i have question. I use i3wm (windows manager),i love this concept. But who know what i install to have all windows with transparency ?

Last edited by Fulgurance on Fri Feb 02, 2018 12:26 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22300
Location: here

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One solution seems to install x11-misc/compton

https://www.reddit.com/r/i3wm/comments/2yytvs/make_terminals_transparent/
https://www.reddit.com/r/i3wm/comments/4p0u2h/transparent_windows_in_i3_with_compton/
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fulgurance
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Feb 2017
Posts: 599

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, i go to test that. Thanks you :)

And is it possible to add clipboard support ? Because when i do copy on firefox and when i would like to past on xterm, that do anything ...

EDIT: i have put command compton on xinitrc file, but anything. I dont understand how use compton... When i put compton -d -c, i have glich and X stop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v_andal
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 523
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you really want to have true transparency? I mean, at the end I've just settled down for pseudo transparency in urxvt or Eterm, that works definitely much better than true transparency.

Anyway, regarding "compton" I can only say, that it expects option "-b" and not "-d". You can also try things out. Don't put it into startup scripts, just start terminal and execute "compton" on command-line to see which effects it brings. At least this is described on https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Compton

Clipboard is pretty much independent from window manager. Your problem seem to come from your usage of xterm. This application does not respect standard copy-paste behavior. Here https://www.starnet.com/xwin32kb/copying-and-pasting-in-xterm/ one can get an advice on how to start xterm, so that it works more like other applications.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fulgurance
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Feb 2017
Posts: 599

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's good, thanks !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soitgoes0745
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 May 2017
Posts: 28
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure what your workflow is but I will second the urxvt suggestion for a terminal emulator. Just run the transparency through that in your .Xdefaults file.

As far as a clipboard manager, I use xclip. I use i3-gaps and xclip will work from terminal to Firefox. You just have to do something like:
Code:

$ <whatever you want to pipe to clipboard> | xclip -sel clipboard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kajzer
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2014
Posts: 466

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was using Compton for a very long time, yesterday I had to throw it out because all of a sudden it started to make certain problems.
It took some time to figure out that Compton was actually the culprit.
Tried to mess with different config options but that didn't help.
My guess is that some latest updates are not friendly with Compton (I'm on amd64), which is btw seriously outdated, the fact that the last version is 0.1_beta2 is saying enough.
Main reason why I used Compton was tearing and having transparency in terminal.
What I've noticed since taking out Compton was that I don't even have tearing anymore and transparency in urxvt is easy to achieve.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum