Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Xfce "shutdown" doesn't shutdown cleanly
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
StevePER
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 50
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 1:23 pm    Post subject: Xfce "shutdown" doesn't shutdown cleanly Reply with quote

When I shutdown my laptop with the "shutdown" option from the Xfce menu, it doesn't shutdown cleanly. It doesn't show running processes being stopped, and on restart it complains that the root file system wasn't unmounted.

After X closes, it switches to tty1, the login prompt disappears, and it displays the following:
INIT: Switching to runlevel: 0
INIT: Sending processes the TERM signal

Then the power switches off.

Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7051
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does using the 'shutdown' command from an terminal within xfce fail as well?

Does shut down after logging out fail too?

This is system dependent, we don't know how your machine is set up. You probably have something opened by root, perhaps a driver or swap that the shutdown does not know how to cleanly rip up for shutdown. It looks like xfce is going through the right motions to switch to runlevel 0.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StevePER
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 50
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The shutdown command from an xfce terminal shuts down cleanly. X terminates and I can see it shutting down all the running services. So it seems like Xfce is not running the shutdown command but doing something else.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 5802

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have dbus and consolekit in the default runlevel? What groups is your user in? Do you have xfce4-power-manager installed? Not sure if these will help, but I figured it was worth a shot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StevePER
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 50
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dbus and consolekit are in the default runlevel.

My user is in wheel, video, users and portage.

xfce4-power-manager was not installed. I tried installing it, but it didn't make any difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum